We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best around by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mad Crabber

The Mad Crabber
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best around by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The mad crabber is simple and great. It has great fresh seafood and some excellent microbrew beer.It's decorated like a G rated hooters (plain wood picnic tables, friendly wait staff,etc) and serves up great food fast. We get the seafood meal for 2, which is a sampler of all great shellfish from the sea. As a bonus, their hushpuppies are amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    93
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good seafood served in a lively atmosphere. They were out of crab when we visited but other dishes were good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePracticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An annual favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sure, there are lots of other restaurants on the Outer Banks, including restaurants with much better views, but year after year, this is a favorite. Despite the restaurant name, my favorite is the steamed shrimp. And if they have peanut butter pie, forget your diet and order a piece. Trust me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 11doglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Crab dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We promised my daughter, turning 9, that we'd take her out for crabs for her birthday dinner. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor, and chose the Mad Crabber over Dirty Dicks. We were seated at a high table for 4, as it was a Friday night and the restaurant was busy. What was good about the high table, is that the chairs have backs on them, unlike sitting at the picnic tables. The restaurant was busy, but the waiter was timely and good. He came regularly to check on us, ask if we needed additional butter, etc.
We were disappointed that there were no Blue Crabs, but we ordered steamed shrimp, king crabs and dungenus crabs, which were really good.
The restaurant is a bit noisy, but it's a crab house and we were not there for a quiet atmosphere. Good family restaurant, good for kids. they had crayons on the table for the kids to draw on the paper and hung kids art everywhere on the walls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jljmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got popcorn shrimp, the kids shared chicken tenders. All were fantastic! Service was great, too. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meseck1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Crabber also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Mad Crabber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing