We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied”

Dirty Dick's Crab House
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Brick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had lunch here today, food, service and atmosphere were fine. Starting with tasty hushpuppies, I tried the fried crab lasagna, it was EXCELLENT. Very healthy portion too, My wife thoroughly enjoyed her lunch as well. This was not our first time here, the meals have always been fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spend1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    121
    89
    53
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Burke, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Never had I eaten at one of these restaurants and never again will I. The hostess was unfriendly, the waitress seemed distracted, and the food was horrible. My daughter's crab soup smelled like a mildewed washcloth. When we told the waitress it was inedible she said "ok" and never offered an apology. Prices were high.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SueFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good if you are hungry”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After day at Cape Hatteras lighthouse--no food outlets-- we were starving so intrigued by the risque adverts arrived here early evening. Parked outside front door -we were quickly seated and accepted the waitress's fish recommendation of mahi mahi and tilefish. We were not disappointed. Reasonalby priced , it fulfilled our needs at the time but if you are out for a special or romantic meal then maybe not .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwideflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,666 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,329 helpful votes
“Know what to order”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We rarely eat at places like Dirty Dick's because we enjoy dining rather than just eating out. But it was Sunday and the choices were limited. Our expectations were low; however, we got the sweetest waitress and very pleasant hostess...a good start. My wife ordered the Seafood Pasta and the Rib eye steak/veggies. The corn dogs were nice to munch on while we waited for the meals to be delivered which did no take long and was served hot. Overall, we were very pleased with out meals and would return again but would be careful what we ordered; no big platters, and no fried foods. We went out to eat and that we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Dirty Dick's was okay. We were seated quickly and our waitress was very good. We all ordered water and received it quickly. I ordered shrimp skewers(11.99)which were decent sized shrimp with veggies. That was the best part of the meal. Under the two skewers was a plate of rice. It honestly reminded me of a bag of rice but the bags of rice (Knorr) taste much better. Husband ordered BBQ chicken(16.99)and got two sides which were cheesy corn grits and fried corn on the cob. He said the corn grits was the best part and then coen sucked. The piece of chicken was big-wing, leg, breast. It was basically a piece of chicken with BBQ sauce dumped all over it. Our child got chicken tenders(8.99)breaded in Cap'n Crunch cereal, corn on the cob and fries. She ate almost everything but the corn. She said it didn't taste good.
Overall, the food was mostly just average and some of it less than average. $16.99 for a piece of chicken! We've had BBQ chicken from fundraiser and it has much more taste than what my husband had at Dick's. We won't go back. Not because it was horrible but because it wasn't that enjoyable. On the plus side our waitress was kind and attentive. Oh, and the hush puppies were awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Dirty Dick's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing