We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 family vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanana Family Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2014 family vacation”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am 37 yrs old and finally went on a vacation with my husband, mom, and dad. They have stayed there before. This is a wonderful place to go and fish off their pier as long as you want to and not worry about your room. We stayed in May. My husband, 2 daughters, and I are going back in September. I plan on going back every year if it is possible.

Room Tip: I dont work out so I'm not sure if they have a fitness center. But if you walk on the beach, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrandinSteve710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    25
    23
    34
See reviews for
108
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff is great, the location is perfect, but the actual building itself needs a LOT of work. For $100 a night in a small, non-oceanfront room, I want to be able to actually wash my hair IN the shower, not having to lean over the side of the tub and use the faucet. (The shower head is approximately 5 ft up, and if you're short it's fine. I'm tall and it's NOT fine) And a microwave would be another nice addition. The grounds are kept very well, and the beach and pier are fabulous. I probably will not go back, as it doesn't offer everything that I'm looking for. An oceanfront room, a private balcony, and a shower that is totally functional.

Room Tip: I'd recommend, if you can afford it, to upgrade to the Down East Room or the One Bedroom Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We checked into room 111, the one bedroom suite, on a Saturday evening. It had been a long day and we went straight to the room...no walking to see the beach at all. My girls immediately took their shoes off and started running around the room and within 10 minutes the bottoms of their feet were black, and you could see stains on the carpet. I went with one of my girls to the front desk and showed them what had happened and asked that they make sure to have the room vacuumed really well the next day. (Not sure if this happened.) The bathroom was mildewed and the room had a funky odor. We put up with these things until Tuesday evening, not allowing our girls to go barefoot or sit on the floor at all, when I found a cockroach sitting in the little hallway between the living room and bedroom. Needless to say we checked out. They didn't offer to find us a different room or offer apologies. Having said this, I'm sad because the playground, pool, and fishing pier were awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlane4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We're sorry you had such a negative experience at our motel. We have our rooms treated regularly, but occasionally a critter will escape our efforts. We apologize you saw one. According to our records, you turned in your keys and notified us you just wanted to leave, at which point you were apologized to and, according to our records, we gave you a refund. Please give us a call if you still have not received your refund.
Thank you for your review. We will do our best to continue improving all of our rooms. We hope you will consider giving us another try at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic Beach hotels

Hanover Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My adult daughter and I spent two nights at Oceanana, had a great time. The beach, the pool, the breakfast, the employees all were wonderful. It has a retro feel and we loved it. The bathroom could have been a little nicer but overall, the room was clean, the a/c worked great and the beds were comfortable which is the most important thing. We loved walking on the fishing pier in the evening, loved how close we were to great restaurants and shopping, and especially the private beach and the courtesy of the employees who carried our lounge chairs and umbrellas to the beach for us. I would love to come back with the rest of my family. It is a family friendly resort and I am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edeangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a room they call it suite - reserved for 177$ a night for 2 nights at this motel..! Room 133 - not what we expected for this price:(.We stayed at his motel before but i guess we had the standard rooms upstairs before that were clean and in better shape. So we declined the room, turned around, tried to find another hotel but all booked so going back home. Really disappointed, and we Are Not coming back to this motel again.oh no free fishing either the website advertisement is a lie

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurica1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Laurica1028, we are so embarrassed you experienced this complete oversight on our part and we apologize profusely. Many of our rooms have recently undergone renovations and updates, but we missed the room you were booked into; the fault lies with us. The very evening you left, we closed the room for maintenance. We have already ordered replacement furniture, carpet treatment, and painting among other tasks to improve the suite. We refuse to open the room until it is in satisfactory shape.
As for the website advertising free fishing passes, it states: "Resort guests are provided with complimentary fishing passes before Memorial Day weekend and after Labor Day weekend. Complimentary passes are not provided during the summer season." However, you complaint shows that one statement on only one part of our website is not enough to keep our guests informed. From now on, we will be posting a similar statement to each of the room descriptions to better clarify when we offer free pier fishing.
We thank you for your complaint and once again apologize for your experience. Please give us another chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes by booking another stay and letting us take care of the bill for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great private beach and pier. Property is kept up immaculately. Very considerate staff who can't help you enough. Safe, old school, free coffee and ice. Will definitely stay again. It was my husband's birthday and a set of balloons, a bandana, and a card signed by the staff was in terms room when we arrived!

Room Tip: Standard suite great for two. Kitchenette has the basics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family and I grew up going to the Oceanana and we have loved it ever since they opened! My mom grew up going there as did I and so are my kids! The rooms aren't fancy by any means but if you rent a suite you can easily sleep 5-6 in there comfortably. If you are looking for a fun family oriented vacation this place has it all, not just the beach, which does have lifeguards, but they also have a pool, a fishing pier, bikes for the kids to ride in a certain area along with a large play ground and play area. If you decide you don't want to eat out, they have charcoal grills you can use at no extra charge and every morning they have a free continental breakfast for all! You will love it here and it may even become your most favorite place to visit in the Southern Outer Banks!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask the front desk to reserve a suite for you near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, Elizabeth! We're glad to hear you have such happy memories with us. We do not have lifeguards on our beach, the employees you saw are our Beach Services staff. Beach Services provides beach chairs and umbrellas to all of our guests, as well as take care of daily maintenance in the beach, pool, and playground areas. Rest assured, they keep a sharp eye out for any potential hazards around the property and will warn you if the surf is too rough to play in. The suites you mentioned (1st floor, close to the beach) are now called our Premier Suites and are currently being renovated, as you can see on our Facebook page. We’ll have new pictures of the Premier Suites up soon.
We look forward to seeing our regulars every year, and we hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
259 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanana Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Property: Oceanana Family Motel
Address: 700 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5424
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing