We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouper bites are fresh, delicious and cheap!”
Review of Shark Shack

Shark Shack
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Fresh seafood and Tacos, wraps, blackened fish, fried oysters, crab cakes, grouper bites, shrimp burgers, angus burgers, grilled or blackened tuna, and daily fresh seafood specials, prepared by Chef Tom!
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Grouper bites are fresh, delicious and cheap!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

all our meals were delicious, they fries were hot and plentiful. The owners brought us out some free fried oysters to taste - YUM

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    44
    21
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After reading the reviews, we decided to try this but we were very disappointed. Had the grouper bites and fried scallops and it was just plain too greasy and everything tasted the same. Cole slaw had way too much mayo and fries were limp. Location is good; outside eating is casual, but the food just didn't make it at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jude48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I always go here for grouper”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Once I discovered the Shark Shack and grouper I can't get enough. Every time I visit the condo with my friends we go and usually more than one time during our stay. We do not have grouper in central PA. So by the time I return to NC it is the first place we eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52182Toni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family-Friendly outdoor dining with good, casual food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

After being cooped up in a car seat the whole ride to the beach, the last thing our toddler wants is to get in a high chair. When we arrive at Atlantic Beach with our tummies rumbling, we head over to Shark Shack. They have an enclosed outdoor area with corn hole and lots of toys for the little ones. The food is casual, without many health food options, but very good. We love their grouper bites with homemade remoulade and our son enjoys the grilled cheese. They also have burgers, hot dogs and chicken sandwiches for those who don't care for seafood. The service is very, very friendly and fast. They serve beer and I have heard that it is a fun place to come at night for corn hole and music. Skip the drive thru and go where the locals go for a quick bite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjayneedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would be good on a sunny day”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came here after my 1st choice of shrimp burger place had already closed for the day. I remember reading about this place on TA, so we decided to give it a whirl. Cute little "shack" right on the main road in AB. I got the shrimp burger and my friend had the BBQ sandwich. Total came to $24 with 2 sweet teas. A little pricey for a lunch place, but you do get a lot of food. The shrimp burger was interesting. I was hoping it would be like the "other" place (I had such good memories!), but it was just a bunch of fried shrimp piled on a kaiser roll. At least the shrimp were huge and tasty, but they kept falling off the bun! They had 3 different sauces, cocktail, tarter and a remoulade. I couldn't decide which one I liked best, so I reverted to my childhood favorite of mixing the cocktail and tarter together. :) The BBQ was also good, but my friend was dissapointed when it came with a "Kraft" style BBQ sauce instead of the eastern NC vinegar based sauce. I also thought the sweet tea tasted like the one out of the soda fountain, not fresh brewed (sorry to be so picky, but when you travel 2600 miles home, you want some fresh sweet tea!!)

The outdoor area was super cute. Basically like your grandparent's back yard. They had picnic tables with umbrellas, badmitton and cornhole. Unfortunately, it looked like it was going to rain, it was really breezy and cool, so we just ate and ran. I would of enjoyed hanging out for a couple of beers and a game of cornhole!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UNCTravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Shack also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shark Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing