We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
hillsborough, nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is a great place to stay! We have stayed for three years in a row and if anything it just gets better. Now they even have pet friendly rooms! Staff do everything possible to keep you happy. Rooms are incredibly clean. I almost feel guilty making my normal mess! Great value!! Great price!! I hope we can stay every year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevetarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    73
    13
    3
    11
See reviews for
96
97
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenly, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

First note: call for directions - google and mapquest take you five miles past the actual site!
If you've passed McDonald's on the left after turning onto Fort Macon Rd you've gone to far.
Positives: room was very nicely decorated, we had an efficiency room (201), very comfortable bed, Everything was clean. Small fridge in room and coffee maker. Noise was never a factor even with a small fire station nearby. It's close to town, great restaurants (recommend McGurdys!!), close to the beach! Pool was nice and clean too. Housekeeping was very nice, checkin was great- very knowledgeable of area.
Minor negatives: room 201 is a corner unit, right across from the pool with the drive and parking between the pool and unit. The drive turns into a narrow ally at the corner so if you are driving a large vehicle maneuvering parking and then having enough room to turn down the ally (the way out) would be tricky. Curtains don't block out the light very well at night (course I like a dark room to sleep) that said we slept very well.
We will definitely stay again - want to try one of the larger units that's not by the ally.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is one of the few places that allows pets on the beach. The rooms were nice,clean, and the room rate was very reasonable. It was a PERFECT place for myself, dog, and roommate from college to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stumbled upon the Inn accidently on a search of Atlantic Beach. Boy am I glad we did. We were able to get a room with a full kitchen so that we could make some of our own meals. Plus our growing boy is eatting us out of house and home so food on hand is good. LOL The beach is about 5 minutes away by foot. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were beyond my expectations. They were extremely clean and frankly they have the most comfortable bed I have ever had at a hotel. And the decor was wonderful, think caribbean colors. My son's favorite was the flamingos on the bedspread. We will be staying here again in the future and I highly recommend it to someone looking for a comfortable place to stay that is close to the beach. ENJOY!!!!

  • Liked — Location/full Kitchens
  • Disliked — absolutly nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FS0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern,NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Island Inn of Atlantic Beach on the weekend of July 12th. It was just what we were looking for. We wanted something close to the beach, but not on the beach. It is not located directly on the oceanfront, but the ocean is only a short 10 minute stroll away. The room we had was beautifully decorated in a tropical style. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Not only the room, but the office area and the outdoor swimming pool area were CLEAN! CLEAN! CLEAN! The staff and service was first class. They were very helpful and friendly.We were close to a ton of eating establishments which were only a walk or short drive away. It is not too pricey and was just what we wanted. They have a very good website with pictures of all the rooms and prices for each.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Island Inn. The owners and staff are great, very helpful. We dropped in on the spur of the moment and still got a great room. We visited in January so we enjoyed Atlantic Beach without hoards of tourists. The rooms are very nice, recently redone, very clean and attractive. We had such a good time, we stayed longer than we had planned. The area is very interesting with Fort Macon, the beach, historic Beaufort and etc. all nearby. Would definitely go again!

  • Liked — It's a toss up between friendly staff and beautiful, new, clean rooms.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank polishpotterygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
738 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#4 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#7 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn of Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn of Atlantic Beach

Property: Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Address: 215 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Inn of Atlantic Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Island Inn of Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Inn Of Atlantic Beach Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing