We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny high quality restaurant that can't be beat.”
Review of Island Grille

Island Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Island Grille is a small restaurant on Atlantic Beach. We specialize in keeping our menu fresh and try to accommodate both those with a thirst for fresh seafood and those who would rather try a traditional dish with a new perspective. Although we would love to accommodate everyone who walks in our door reservations are recommended and the restaurant is LIVELY! You may be seated close to other guests, you may get visits from all of our staff throughout the night as they graze your table.. If you are looking for a great meal in a fun and fearless environment check us out on Monday or Tuesday during BOGO entree night. If you like things a little more laid back I recommend reservations any other day! But, I always recommend them!!! See you soon at The Island Grille! -Amiee Scott General Manager
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A tiny high quality restaurant that can't be beat.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in NC on a Tuesday decided to call for their hours and made a reservation (casual dress). We arrived at 4:40 and had to wait 5 minutes for The Island Grille to open. Once in the place filled up in several minutes! The hostess: greeted MANY customers by name. ( a great sign of a quality establishment). We ate the filet mignon it melted in our mouths. We also shared a seafood linguini dish, just as delicious. The buy one get one was on Monday and Tuesday, we returned the following Monday! Crab dip- best we found all week. Dessert a chocolate torte- wow. Only regret: we live in Ohio, We asked for and bought shirts to
remember our favorite restaurant on our NC vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timberlake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    98
    51
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Takeout Story”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

On Labor Day I called in a takeout order for a bowl of crab bisque and a crabcake. It was ready when they said it would be...walked right in, picked it up, spoke to a couple folks, and walked right out. About a block away there's a stop sign...I wasn't paying attention and had to hit the brakes hard. The bag with my takeout stuff tumbled into the floorboard. I got home and opened it up, fearing the worst. The bisque was in a styro cup...the lid was still tightly on and not a drop was spilled. That's because they virtually shrink wrap it in plastic wrap. They don't have to do that, but they do. I opened the box for the crabcake (the box was also "shrinkwrapped")...the lid was still on the aioli sauce, and although tossed about the sautéed spinach and crabcake were fine. I've said before the crabcake is held together with a prayer because it's almost all crab. And get this...they also put a sheet of foil inside the takeout styro box which helps keep the contents warm. They don't have to do that either, but they do. Great job, Island Grille...you inspired my first takeout review!

Rick Hardy
Wilson, NC

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hurricaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes ever!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were greeted warmly and sat immediately (OK. that part was luck; we were early and the place filled up quickly). Warm friendly service, great little beach atmosphere and simply the best crab cakes i've ever had. Lighter, less oily, rich flavor. Can't remember what the wife and kid had, but they seemed happy enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jberkley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yearly Tradition”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The is a cozy quaint little restaurant with fabulous food. If you can get there on Monday or Tuesday, they have a buy one/get one deal. Even with the special, expect to spend more than we usually spend for a night out but it is worth it. The food is always delicious and you are given an ample serving. The shrimp and scallops with Parmesan sauce over linguine is excellent. Plus, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. This unique restaurant is on our places to go every year when we visit Atlantic Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bstrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Atlantic Beach NC”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The food, wine and service is excellent - the wine list has been given the "Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator for the past few years. The atmoshere is lively especially on Monday and Tuesday nights when they offer a buy one get one - this means you can spend a little extra on the bottle of wine you always wanted to try - this is my first call when I'm here on vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grille also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing