We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
60
16
6
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
16
6
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan off season air conditioner ab soap unit
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 100 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

We were in town to visit friends and wanted an affordable place to sleep and this fit the bill. The room was no smoking, but it smelled very strongly like smoke, so either someone before us broke the rule and smoked in the room, or someone was smoking in another room and it came through the ventilation - much of the odor was gone by the second night. It is also easy to faintly hear voices/music in neighboring rooms but not enough to bother us.

The room was clean and comfortable and the only reason I didn’t give a higher rating is because there was black mildew in the grout in the shower. Even for the low room rate, and understanding that there is no daily room cleaning, I feel like the shower should be squeaky clean.

I would stay again and next time I will just check the shower first.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Q4313FXtamarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018

Busy weekend was a place that had a fancy. Was small but clean. The people were nice.A the walk to the beach was fairly short. The beach was very clean. It is also close to restaurant s and stores. Will go again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ALTP1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017

I went to this hotel off season. The keys were ready for us when we checked in. Room was clean as well as the linen. There is 1 set of towels for the off season stay and only soap available. But nothing was missed.... TV in main room and none in the second room. This is a great place, will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Oct 18-22 This was our first visit since Sand Dollar is under new ownership. Still love this place! It was just as clean and comfortable as before. My husband and I have visited Atlantic Beach several times since 2010 and don't want to stay anywhere else. Enjoyed meeting the new owners and talking with them. Found them friendly and very helpful. Will definitely go back!

Martha Huffman
Purlear, NC

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thehuffmans2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

We found this room at the last minute cause everything else was sold out because of the Seafood Festival! "Same reason we was there", At first we didn't know what to expect being that it was called a "Motel" but soon as we got upstairs we was relieved to see a beautiful TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT with a Kitchen & Dining Room with a Kitchen Table fit for a Royal Family like US, Living Room, Sunroom, big Balcony FULLY DECORATED to lay out in the sun and view the OCEAN! But the BEST PART was the MASTER BEDROOM with a huge WALK-IN CLOSET, CALIFORNIA KING POSTUREPEDIC BED, with a GARDEN TUB with the WALK-IN SHOWER and the HIS && HERS VANITY SINK!Flat screen Tvs in every room and it had alot of different family board games like "Monopoly, Chest-&-Checkers, Twister and Uno "just to name a few but it was way more!
We really enjoyed our stay and everytime we go to atlantic beach we have a HOMEAWAY FROM HOME TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT at the SAND DOLLAR MOTEL♡♡♡
Hope This Was Helpful*,*)

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank paulette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews