We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the bite”

Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Amos Mosquito’s Restaurant & Bar – or more affectionately known by locals as “Skeeter’s”. Established in 1999, Amos Mosquito’s offers a family friendly environment with a menu of fresh seafood and a wide variety of creative entrees. While in our first location on the Morehead City Waterfront, and here in our present location on Atlantic Beach overlooking beautiful Bogue Sound, we’ve had one primary goal in mind – to create the most unique, fun, and high quality dining experience that can be found in Eastern North Carolina. We have a seasoned staff of chefs, servers, and hosts who are passionate about making customers happy. Although we specialize in local seafood and offer at least two varieties of fresh fish every night, our menu also features chicken, pork and Sterling Silver beef.We make all our salad dressings, sauces and desserts in house and have a great children’s menu loaded with fun games and mosquito facts.Thursday nights are sushi nights at Amos Mosquito’s. We offer a full menu of fresh, made to order sushi in addition to our regular menu.Amos has a full bar and a wonderful, reasonably priced wine list.Reservations are not accepted, but you may call us to place an order for take out.
Walkertown, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad for the bite”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Interesting restaurant. Good food. Good atmosphere. Three diners in our party. One had the Triggerfish special--very good. Second diner had jerk chicken--good but not excellent. Third diner in the party had Scalloped Scallops which came with asparagus and mashed potatoes . All three elements were very tasty. The scallop dish had to much "loose" liquid in the dish. Needed to be a creamier sauce, but the taste was very good. Service was good and the manager came around to check on each table. Always a nice touch. Would definitely revisit to try other elements on the menu. The accuracy and speed of the service was flawless.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    252
    85
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice local establishment”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped here on our way into Atlantis Lodge. We ordered takeout and the staff was very nice and even brought our meal out to the car as we were traveling with our dog. Would recommend this restaurant .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLinc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but adequate”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The bread they brought out was pretty tasty, but the soup was way overpriced for what they brought out in a 'bowl,' maybe a saucer would be a little more on the mark. They charge a mandatory $3 for splitting an entree which made me mad because I don't like mandatory. That said, they split the entree portion in half and double up on sides. We had a panko crusted snapper (which appeared to be missing the panko), on black beans and white rice. The fish was very nice, very fresh, but the rice and beans were pretty bland. The fifteen minute wait and the final bill weren't really worth it, as it was pretty much chain food (Applebees, Chilis, TGIF etc). Competant but uninspired.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AusDing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funny Name Great Food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The name, location & initial external view may be a little strange but persist and you will be rewarded with the best food at the beach. The wait staff are fun, friendly & competent. The kids love the smore's for dessert and the place is family friendly. Check the times for opening as they vary off season. They only serve dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & View”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice table with view of the salt water marsh and intercoastal waterway. Service was good, food was very tasty, and prices were reasonable. Best restaurant experience thus far in Atlantic Beach .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeFear0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing