We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal that can serve an Army”

Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Amos Mosquito’s Restaurant & Bar – or more affectionately known by locals as “Skeeter’s”. Established in 1999, Amos Mosquito’s offers a family friendly environment with a menu of fresh seafood and a wide variety of creative entrees. While in our first location on the Morehead City Waterfront, and here in our present location on Atlantic Beach overlooking beautiful Bogue Sound, we’ve had one primary goal in mind – to create the most unique, fun, and high quality dining experience that can be found in Eastern North Carolina. We have a seasoned staff of chefs, servers, and hosts who are passionate about making customers happy. Although we specialize in local seafood and offer at least two varieties of fresh fish every night, our menu also features chicken, pork and Sterling Silver beef.We make all our salad dressings, sauces and desserts in house and have a great children’s menu loaded with fun games and mosquito facts.Thursday nights are sushi nights at Amos Mosquito’s. We offer a full menu of fresh, made to order sushi in addition to our regular menu.Amos has a full bar and a wonderful, reasonably priced wine list.Reservations are not accepted, but you may call us to place an order for take out.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal that can serve an Army”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The resturant area was clean as was the bar. Seems this is a hangout, judging by the bar.

The service was attentive, but I would not say personable. Just doing my job mame!

The portions are way to big for 1 person, as eveidenced by the number of Doggie bags leaving. Top me this is not a good thing. You are paying for something that is wastful. We would have ahd no way to heat our leftovers.

Smokers in the waiting area.. Not good for anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    256
    85
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food, outstanding service,(thanks to our waitress Buttercup). Excellent atmosphere, if your on the coast do yourself a favor, come to Amos Mosquito....

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climax
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amos fun”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love Amos Mosquitos restaurant , every time we went there for dinner , the people are soo friendly. the food is good. I never had a bad meal there. It's a fun place to dine with a beautiful view of the sound at sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best food at the beach”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant with excellent service and great food. Last year (2012) they added a porch that offers closed windows and heat during the winter. The owner is usually there and likes to chat up the customers. Waitstaff is very friendly and efficient. But best of all is the food - you won't get a better meal anywhere else in the area. Just be prepared to wait for a table, though, there is usually a line formed before they even open at 5pm (they do not take reservations).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David18748947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Toast of the Coast Promotion Delivered Great Eats”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

While attending the NC Seafood Festival, we asked a few locals we came across a good place to eat. Three different people recommended Amos Mosquito's. We knew there'd be a wait on a Saturday night. Got a drink from the bar and sat down to wait. Great Mojito. Nice people. Took first available seating in the bar, which was fine. Knowledgeable server - Junior. Special Restaurant Week promo of Toast of the Coast which meant 3 courses for $25. And they were all great. Soup, shrimp & grits & chocolate torte for me; salad, crab cakes & chocolate torte for my Husband. No missteps in anything. Even left with three t-shirts (name makes for nice T-shirts). Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing