We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Caribbe Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribbe Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and our 4 year old daughter decided to take a spur of the moment trip to the beach. We got lucky and were able to book one night at the Caribbe Inn. It was so cute and the owners were so hospitable. Our 4 yr. old couldn't stop talking about the inviting nautical painting on the walls. I will tell you it was the CLEANEST room we have ever stayed in!!! The owners made a point to remember our daughter's name when talking to her. We all got a Tootsie pop on arrival!!! We will absolutely spread the word about this wonderful place. We will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDA_Pinetops_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 461 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

When I first found the Caribbe Inn online I thought it was just too good to be true. But this little motel is a jewel. The owner/operators Trish & Darrel Lawrence are two of the most gracious people you will ever meet. The room itself was decorated in a delightful nautical theme and very, very clean. The housekeeping services were just awesome. Everyone we met seemed to truly enjoy being a part of the team for the motel. It was my husband's birthday get-away and after leaving the hotel that morning at about 10:30 a.m. to enjoy the beach, we returned around 2:00 p.m. to find a wonderful surprise. There was a very nice birthday card and chocolates from the motel staff for my husband's birthday and it wasn't a stock birthday card either. This place is a perfect place to just get away for a day, a weekend or an entire vacation. Only 3 little short blocks to the public beach access and they even provide chairs for you to take along to the beach if you to borrow them. They are so nice and we will definitely return for any vacation time we spend in the Atlantic Beach area. The cleanliness, hospitality and charm of the motel is simply the best I have encountered. They treat you like family and how often do you find that these days? We love this place and if you stay there you will too!

Chris & Chloe Chiavacci

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redeeminggrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We pulled into this hotel after driving by another and we instantly knew we had to stay there. The staff was very friendly, and very courteous, but in a laid-back style. The paintings all around, and the overall look of the hotel were very unique. A very short walk to the beach, and even usable chairs by the hotel guests. Not very many people write little notes, thanking their guests, and this was the "icing" on the cake, so they say. Definitely a recommendation not only by a NC native, but a from a european visitor as well!!! It is the eight world wonder :))

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I spent our annual week-long vacation during July with Trish and Darrel at the Caribbe. They are the nicest people you'll ever meet and they make you feel right at home and part of their family. The rooms are so comfortable and cleanliness is their NUMBER ONE priority!! We are looking forward to our next visit!! I definitely recommend The Caribbe Inn for anyone visiting Atlantic Beach!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_NC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay that allowed pets and found this through Tripadvisor. We've been to Atlantic Beach, NC many times but somehow never knew about Caribbe Inn. The hotel is not new but everything was incredibly tidy. The owners take a lot of pride in their property upkeep and they were also very gracious and friendly. We rented #14, and efficiency on the end of the building. The small but complete kitchen was well supplied with utensils, including stainless steel pots that were not teflon coated, thank goodness! Being on the sound side, the prices are much lower than beach side, which was fine with us. We either walked a few blocks to beach or drove 2 minutes to the Ft. Macon State Park which has nice facilities, lifeguards, etc. This area offers a lot to do besides going to the beach, and this is a great place to base your travels!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank travelerDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here in July 2013. Trish and Darrel were very kind and even offered a card and candies to congratulate us on our recent wedding.
The rooms were very cute and clean, and the hotel was a great distance from the beach. We could easily walk there, but since it wasn't right on the beach, the rates were extremely affordable.
I would recommend the Caribbe to both families and couples. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am so glad that we chose the Caribbe Inn to stay for five days last week! Talking with Trish and Darrel made me feel that they truly cared about our stay in the area and were always helpful with our questions. Our room was clean, pleasant, brightly painted and very comfortable. The walk to the beach is just across the street, about two really short blocks away. Love the location~ close to restaurants, Fort Macon, the pier, and the bridge over to Morehead City and Beaufort. Loved the outside sitting/grill areas; the area by the boat slip and dock was very peaceful and sweet! Wanted to stay longer, but unfortunately they were booked. Darrel even called over to their sister hotel to see if there was space over there for us. So helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
270 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbe Inn

Address: 309 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique accommodations on Atlantic Beach," this fun filled inn features aquatic designed guest rooms with fish murals on the walls, ceiling fans, refrigerators, and microwaves. Amenities on site include ocean beach access, a waterfront barbecue area with grills, boat slips, a boat dock, and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribbe Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing