We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Windjammer Inn(Pine Knoll Shores)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seahawk Inn & Villas(Pine Knoll Shores)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Lodge(Pine Knoll Shores)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppertree Resort(Atlantic Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Suites(Atlantic Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollowell's Motel(Atlantic Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whaler Inn Beach Club(Pine Knoll Shores)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
504
423
284
150
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
504
423
284
150
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontdouble treecookiesoutdoor poolbeach barbreakfast buffetdoubletree by hiltonoff seasonhot tubbeach accessthe entire staffmini fridgemorehead citybalconypethurricaneaquarium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,005 - 1,010 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I was raised at this hotel, no matter what the name of it was. I have NEVER been treated so disrespectful in my life. I have never had security called on us for tv noise, or for a situation of someone being in our room, unasked or unannounced. I was accused of smoking and when security and Head of Housekeeping came up, that was taken off our bill, only to find that in June we were charged a $250.00 smoking fee, which we did not smoke in that room. If you give someone a gift for anniversary do it at check in, not bed time to insinuate things that can hurt a woman to the core whom just had surgery and call and tell someone you added a charge so their bank accounts do not get messed up and third, when someone wants to speak with you, Mr. Hernandez, be a man, and return their call. You ruined my renewal wedding of vows and ripped my heart apart. Thank You. Guess we are not classy enough for your establishment. We will see where this goes with BBB and NAACP.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
5  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Larry,

We want an opportunity to make this right. Please let us know who we need to reach out to, as well as any additional comments you might want to add, to rolando.hernandez3@hilton.com.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

the air conditioner in our room was so loud, we had trouble sleeping. i complained to the maintenance guy, and he said all rooms were like that.
The staff was friendly and tried to please, no complaints there.
they are pet friendly, folks like it for that reason

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

We do apologize for the air conditioners but we're glad to hear that everything else was just as you expected! Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Even though a lot of the reviews I read talked about the hotel being run down and old we stayed at this hotel and if you looked closely you could see some age, they have tried to do some updates. When we first arrived the customer service was outstanding, there was only two times we had anyone be "rude," the parking lot gets rented out for day beach guests so if you leave and return you will have to deal with the parking attendant, sometimes he can come across being rude. The other time we had an encounter with a security guard, the rooms are non smoking so you would think that you could smoke on the balcony with the door closed,,,nope, and you are yelled at up the side of the building and threatened with a $250 fine. The note card inside the room states that it is a non smoking room but does not say anything about not smoking outside. After being yelled at we noticed that some rooms do have a no smoking sticker on the door but ours did not.... I just think that the rules should be more clearly stated and the guards have a better way of dealing with it. The restaurants were a little pricy but overall good food and good service. The site says dogs are welcome under 50lbs, but we had huge dogs staying around us and some loud little constant barking dogs. Also dogs are not allowed in the hot tub.

Room Tip: even ocean front has a walk and rooms have thin walls
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank armywifeandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

We're pleased to hear that for the most part you were pleased with your recent stay. We're sorry to hear about the issues that you did encounter and we greatly appreciate you bringing them to our attention so they can be addressed. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We love staying at DoubleTree's. I will concede that this one is a bit dated and worn in places (bathroom and LOUD air conditioner), but I can easily overlook that with friendly, outstanding customer service . From check-in to check out, the staff did all they could to make our stay relaxing and memorable. My husband and I renewed our vows during our stay....2 days before our party we found ourselves unexpectedly looking for a restaurant to accommodate a party of 25. Robbi (who oversee's events at the DoubleTree), went to work and helped us put together a great location/party. We want to give a HUGE shout out to Roger (the manager at Prime 1079), who decorated and organized our party. The food, service, decorations were fabulous. Thank you~your special touch made our 25th so enjoyable. What a blessing. I honestly have no idea why more traveler's don't eat at Prime. They did a wonderful job-our steaks were delicious.

Okay, back to the hotel. When we booked the hotel, we did so by making a "advanced purchase" - this is a great way to save money. Our room was large and bed's were comfy. We loved the beach bar-siting out there at night having drinks and snacks, listening to the waves crashing with music in the background. Just perfect. If your not a night owl, then you can sit on your beach lounger all day, and they will bring you drinks and food-no need to get up. The pools were rather full during our stay-lot's of kids. The pier is nice-remember to bring your fishing poll (you will need a fishing license).

The gym is fairly small, just a few treadmills, a bike, and simple weight machine and a elliptical from what I remember. They offer a breakfast buffet at Prime for around $12 pp every morning, it was pretty good. You can also get fresh, hot coffee for free at the coffee station located at the entrance of Prime. We will absolutely book here again!!!

Room Tip: If your on the east side, get a room that is at least on the 6th floor. Otherwise you will be close to the dumpsters which can get really stinky during the heat of the day, making it difficult to enjoy your balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snorkelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

the night before our stay the hotel was fully booked...shantae and ms. smith did a great job welcoming us and getting us into our room as soon as possible and apologizing for any inconvenience.....beach was great....staff was great....only disappointment was that HOUSEKEEPING NEVER CAME TO OUR ROOM TO CLEAN IT...EVEN AFTER REQUESTING IT LATER IN THE DAY WHEN WE FOUND OUT THEY HAVE NOT COME

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We're glad to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews