We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
2 reviews
“We Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming. The room was clean; the beds were comfortable and pillow nice and fluffy--very comfortable; and our son enjoyed the delicious cookies. Additionally, we wanted Thai food for dinner and one of the staff members gave us recommendation for an amazing Thai restaurant nearby which we visited twice--lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 640cheryls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We're pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    373
    254
    128
    63
See reviews for
478
405
51
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Although I will agree with previous posters that this location is not up to the standards of most Doubletrees, I just think you have to remember it is a beach hotel. If you keep that in mind, I think it rates very well. We had a good view of the ocean and, although the balcony is small, we put our own camp chair there and it was fine. The room is not that exciting but it was perfectly adequate. It would certainly be helpful to have a small microwave in the room. The outdoor pool isn't heated (which would also be nice) so it was too cold to swim. The indoor pool isn't very warm either but we went in anyway. It has a large hot tub which is great but often overrun by kids. We also used the gym which was small but adequate. I loved the buffet breakfast every morning. Items were hot, plentiful and delicious. The woman refilling the buffet did a great job. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The beach is right out the back door and it is a nice stretch of beach. My only real complaint of the trip was the toilet paper holder. I know it is a minor thing - but it drove me crazy! It does not have anything to hold the roll there on one side. That meant it was constantly coming off and rolling all over the bathroom floor. And of course my kids couldn't seem to manage to put it back! I have no idea why they have such a set up since so much paper ends up being wasted. We definitely enjoyed Atlantic Beach and I would definitely not hesitate to return to the Doubletree.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel, we greatly appreciate any and all feedback. We apologize for the toilet paper holder and we have alerted maintenance to fix this. We're glad that everything else was up to your expectations and we hope you will visit us again during the summer months to experience the rest of our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

About 8 of us had problems with our rooms. I didn't have hot water in sink; some were just not clean; toilet running all night; another overflowed. However, management immediately fixed the problems and had flowers delivered and offered a free night for our trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the issues you and your group encountered but we're very happy to hear that the onsite staff was able to fix everything quickly and offer a resolution. We hope you'll visit us again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room looked clean, but when you pulled the duvet back on the bed there was a bunch of sand. It is as if the previous room tenant had laid a beach bag on the bed before leaving and housekeeping did not change the sheets just pulled the duvet back and straightened up the covers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay went. We're very sorry about the sand and we have made housekeeping aware of this issue. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you're in town and please feel free to reach out to the general manager, tom.bown@hilton.com, if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for the night on my way north. Very pleasant staff were able to accommodate my stay as a walk in. Set me up in room 706 with a side view of the beach with a king bed. Very nice room and although next to the ice and vending machines, was not disturbed during the night. No breakfast included but had a great night sleep before setting off for the rest of my journey.
Would return and recommend

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NRJ_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We're pleased to hear that our hotel proved to be a great stopping point during your trip and we hope you'll visit again when you can stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruceton Mills, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

When we arrived, I found potato chips, small rubber bands, and an old toothpick along with other same debris on the floor. The worst problem was the sliding door whistled so loud that we wouldn't have been able to sleep. I asked two different times and finally the young woman and man helped by bring up duct tape which stopped the noise. That should have been fixed prior to check-in. Staff was very friendly. The beds

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for bringing the issues you encountered to our attention. We greatly appreciate this so we can fix problems and prevent them from happening again. We hope you'll come to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

As most people that visit Atlantic Beach know, this is the best hotel in AB but, it was more than that for me. All the employees treated me really well. I was there for 9 days and got a great rate. I found a better rate through DoubleTree than the travel sites. The pier is short; not much for fishing but, great for hanging out. I personally got to see a school of dolphins swim by and the beach is great. I only ate in the restaurant twice but the service was great and the food was good. Pool is good for kids I noticed a lot of kids at the inside pool. Molly's is very popular. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank nomadvroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We're incredibly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
701 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
258 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
585 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing