We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has trouble with billing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has trouble with billing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

forgot occupancy tax, notifying via email it would be added to credit card. Rather than adding tax, billed for room again causing overpayment which I had to call and waste time straightening out after I noticed error on my bank statement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the issues with billing that you experienced and we assure you this is not something that happens regularly at our hotel. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again and please feel free to let us know what we can do to make your next stay better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    359
    244
    119
    59
See reviews for
458
387
49
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The newly remodeled Double Tree by Hilton is an exciting addition to the Atlantic Beach community. I like how they incorporate the beach decor, very classy. Staff was exceptional nice and accommodating. I always love the warm cookie upon arrival. I even had one another night as we arrived late from dinner. Meeting food was good, would recommend that the staff serve refills once seating instead of only clearing your dishes. I had to get up twice to refill tea glass and get some coffee with dessert. I ask staff for help and they obliged, but it would have been nicer had they performed the task without my getting up. I enjoyed the spa after a nice walk on the beach. Water temperature in the shower was inconsistent in our room, which we reported and they said they would work on it. Friendly staff throughout the establishment. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know about your stay. we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for the most past and we appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff is exceptional. Every member of the staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean. Service was great. Employees acted like they actually cared about the satisfaction of your experience. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We certainly hope you'll be back to visit during the beach season so you can experience everything we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was very pleased with my room, but it did require 3 repairs while I was there. (The cord kept falling out of the TV, the drapes were sized incorrectly for the room and wouldn't close completely, and [despite assurances from the staff the the clock couldn't be incorrect] the clock was about 45 minutes off.)

Hilton bought the hotel post-hurricane (and post-[so I heard]lousy repairs) from Sheraton, and you can see the revamping/repairs are still in progress. Except for Saturday night and Sunday morning's loud neighbors, my room was quiet and cozy, with a spectacular view. Weekends see a breakfast buffet, but weekdays you have to order from the kitchen. I wouldn't recommend the dining room for dinner, as the food is uninspired. (I watched the other 3 people in the restaurant declare their steaks inedible, while my chicken cordon bleu was merely meh.) I hear the restaurant across the street is fabulous, and certainly I found enough excellent restaurants elsewhere in the area, even in the off-season.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The beach is gorgeous, and there are both indoor and outdoor pools. If I hadn't bought a timeshare while I was there, I'd stay at the Doubletree again.

Room Tip: It never hurts to show your Hilton Honors card. They're free, and can get you unexpected perks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolStrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank for you staying with us and for taking the time to let us know what you thought! We appreciate all of your suggestions and feedback and assure you that they will be used to better our hotel. Congratulations on your timeshare purchase :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a lovely time!! The staff at this hotel is amazing, friendly, warm and welcoming! We loved the location! We ordered room service for breakfast, it arrived ON TIME, the server was extremely pleasant and the food was fantastic! We would definitely stay again and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're glad to hear that our hotel and staff were both accommodating during your recent stay. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in an Ocean Side room but not an Ocean Front room and I have to say.. even though we were not Ocean Front we had a spectacular view! Beds were comfortable and the cookies were delish! Would DEF stay in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank lacyayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your ocean view room and we hope you'll come see us again and have a chance to see the ocean front view as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, NC, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is consistently fantastic! Very clean, convenient and a terrific group of employees who really make a difference with their friendliness and knowledge about the area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for being so loyal to our hotel and please let us know what we can do to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clam Digger Inn
Clam Digger Inn
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#8 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing