We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Oceanfront Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Holly Springs, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Oceanfront Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at this property back in August for a one night getaway, i was pleased with the check in and out process, the hotel itself is a refurb from a Sheraton that was flooded when a Hurricane hit the east coast. Newport Group has attempted to turn this property back into the gem it once used to be. I was slightly dissappointed that the whirlpool did not work during our stay. I had a running toilet which they fixed promptly. I was a little irritated that we had a ocean "view" room that was a bad view from the porch, but it is what it is. We also were located by the stairwell, and people were constantly coming in and out slamming the door which kept us from resting well. I loved the fact that there were beach chairs and it was near the pier. Molly's was a great place to grab a drink and an app on the run.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled hotel. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your comments and concerns. We appreciate your honesty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    284
    189
    98
    45
See reviews for
371
299
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely welcoming. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of our rooms and the ocean view. The restaurant needs to improve the quality of their food, but there are other options nearby. We're so happy that pets are allowed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our pet friendly hotel and pleasant staff were both able to accommodate your recent stay. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful people and great service. Pool and pier really nice. Quiet all week and a little loud with a big party on Friday night but before 11PM all quiet again. Clean and comfortable room and location was perfect for our fishing beach trip. Close to shopping and great restaurants, but could just stay at hotel and every need was met.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We're glad to hear that we were able to make your fishing trip more enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Reasonable rates, comfortable room with lots of floor space (one king bed may have helped this). Lots of handrails in bathroom for safety, great smelling shampoo. Suggest you find a local restaurant for breakfast...great service, but food was not hot and restaurant was by no means full. Wonderful ocean view with afternoon sun. Blinds didn't close all the way, but was on the shady side in mornings so no problem. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank lrwilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We're glad to hear that your recent stay with us was up to your expectations. Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we have passed all of your concerns on to management to be handled. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great and I will return to this hotel again. The area surrounding the hotel is wonderful and nice and appealing to the eyes. I think that the hotel should serve contential breakfast to all visitors regardless of the cost of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate your suggestions and we will certainly keep these in mind for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The location was very good. We enjoyed the pier as we love to fish and walk out on it at night. The light in our bathroom would not come on fully. The maintenance man came to assess and repair it very speedily. My only complaint would be not having the recipe for the warm cookies! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Danford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our hotel was everything you had hoped and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

lack of sleep due to the loudness of the air condition unit. I didn't receive the room that I thought I had reserved. Instead I got a room that air conditioning unit was so loud I had to turn it off and open the door. When I opened the door I couldn't hear the ocean outside, all I heard was the air condition units running outside and the cars going by. Also, the hot tub was very cold and disappointing. This was not the hotel experience that I had expected after paying so much for my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We sincerely apologize that your hotel experience was not what you had hoped. We are in the process of replacing the loud air conditioner units. Thank you for letting us know about the hot tub as well, we will make sure maintenance addresses that issue. We hope you'll give us a second chance the next time you're in the area and let us prove ourselves to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clam Digger Inn
Clam Digger Inn
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing