We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
Palm Suites(Atlantic Beach)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Motel(Atlantic Beach)
$141
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sand Dollar Motel(Atlantic Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach(Pine Knoll Shores)(Great Value!)
$240
$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores(Pine Knoll Shores)(Great Value!)
$249
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveler rating
517
429
289
150
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
517
429
289
150
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontdouble treecookiesoutdoor poolbeach barbreakfast buffetoff seasonhotel restauranthot tubbeach accessthe entire staffmini fridgehousekeeping staffmorehead citybalconypethurricane
Filter
Updating list...
1,422 - 1,427 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to say that this is a great improvement over the Sheraton. It has been completely refurbished and the rates are much more reasonable.

The highlights are the location and the friendliness of the staff. It's hard to beat being right on the beach! Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Rushanna, our server at breakfast, went well above what would normally be expected. She was excellent.

The rooms are decent sized, very clean and most have an ocean view. The bed was comfortable. WiFi was reliable and fairly fast.

There are a few negatives that stop me from rating them higher than three stars.
-- The changes to the elevators were only cosmetic. They are slow, creaky, crowded and not sufficient for the number of rooms.
--I don't believe that the glass doors to the beach/pool area were cleaned during our entire stay. They were covered in hand prints and smudges and were kinda nasty.
--They either don't have a no smoking policy in the pool area or if they do, they don't enforce it. Again, nasty.

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay. This is a good place for a beach weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We're glad that you chose to spend your vacation with us at the DoubleTree. We thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed everything and we hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the special treatment that we received while staying @ the Double Tree in Atlantic Beach. Staff went above our expectations & we'll look forward to future visits!! Location was perfect! The only minor complaint was our balcony was a little dirty, but nothing that we couldn't live with. Loved everything about our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We're glad to hear that our staff worked hard to make sure your anniversary stay was everything you had hoped for and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We tried to book this trip as the first booking we had done with TripAdvisor. some how the "booking" did not take from your website so we called the Double Tree direct, Our experience was a disappointment. The room AC sounded like a Harley motorcycle. TV would not work. Gave us a new room. Glasses in bath room unwashed (lipstick). Dinner and breakfast mediocre and very expensive. Steps to beach is dangerous condition. we were not happy campers.
TripAdvisors showered us with email ads. Please unsubscribe us.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the loud air conditioners and we assure you that this issue is being addressed. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed July 27, 2013

hotel was overpriced. rooms not ready at check-in. plumbing problems. rooms not cleaned after first night stay. key cards de-coded after one night. safety issues---uneven pavement on sidewalk and mold issues that would be terrible for allergy sufferers. had to call for extra towels since the rooms were never cleaned. afraid to try room service and restaurant because everything else sucked. hotel is not ready for guests until management is replaced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are incredibly disappointed to hear how unhappy you were with your recent stay. We are a newly opened hotel and will use all of your comments and suggestions to better our property. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Doubletree Atlantic Beach has everything you need as well as a great location. I stayed July 16th. The room was nice and clean, fast friendly check in, Not many Hotels have an indoor and outdoor pool, This one has BOTH! Every room has a great view of the ocean and even a balcony, I was on the 7th floor and could see all over the island. This hotel just opened and decorated so nicely. If you are looking a nice hotel on the beach, This is the one you should try. They even have a small pier, Excellent customer service!!

Room Tip: High floor allows you to see the view of the beach and all the island!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeH49487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We're glad that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated hotel and all of the amenities that we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews