We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross food at a high price”
Review of Captain AJ's - CLOSED

Captain AJ's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
SW Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gross food at a high price”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Yeah, an all you can eat seafood buffet sounds good, but really, If you think about it......how good could it really be? The food was disgusting and way over priced. It's like an old worn out 1970s buffet with bad shrimp. Do not go at all!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieannr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain AJ's is the same place as Skipper's Cove”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was bad when it was Skipper's Cover and it's still bad under a new name. It's not even different owners, just a different name.

I can't speak for their breafast buffet which I hear is pretty good. But their dinner buffet is terrible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TurtleWatcher_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Service - Food not Good”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had the dinner buffet $16.99. The shrimp were overcooked and mushy, not the best selection. I think the other food we tried had been sitting out too long. Vegetables taste like they were from a can. Fried crab cakes and stuffed crabs, dry and salty. Needless to say, we both got sick that night from the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Breakfast So Worth The Price”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We drove by this restaurant on Saturday evening which almost looks vacant whenever we are passing by and it advertised buffet breakfast for $6.99. So we decided to try it today and we were pleased with the assortment for the price. We asked to see what was being offered before we took our seat and they had fresh made eggs, sausage patties, bacon, seasoned home fries, pancakes. french toast, grits and other side items. We truly enjoyed our breakfast for the price after paying $20.+ dollars on Saturday at a nearby restaurant on the corner that is always very crowded and the food was not even worth the $6.99 that Captain AJ's offered. The breakfast at Captain AJ's was more tastier and better for the price. Coffee for 2 people was $3.50 and it was hot and it was in a large cup.

I would definitely recommend this under-rated restaurant to anyone that is looking for freshly made breakfast for this very low price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBH487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible food for way too much $”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

When the waitress told us the price of the buffet we almost walked out. But then we thought it must be really good for that price. It was awful to say the least. We could hardly eat it. I don't think anything on the buffet was "home made." Everything was canned or boxed. We'll never eat there again and will warn everyone we know who is going to visit that area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain AJ's also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing