We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peppertree Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peppertree Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Tusculm TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Love this resort with all its security. When I stayed it was all decorated for Christmas just beautiful. Had a big jacuzzi in my room and nice large private deck to watch and listen to the waves. This was my second visit but first in winter and it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Any building with a view to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    51
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
97
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millerton, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've stayed here several times now. It is always clean and well maintained. Check in is a breeze check out just as easy. We like this resort because it has a nice indoor pool. Nice jacuzzi. We had a lovely room that overlooked the indoor pool. It is a bit of a walk to the beach with all your gear. You can move your auto over to a closer prking lot but we are fit and didn't mind walking. Another perk, you can have guests and they supply them with a prking pass. We have family nearby so this is such a nice allowance. The out door pools are open but not heated. This was our first visit in Oct. we didn't pack sun tan lotion be warned the blue skies almost burned our skin won't make that mistake again!

Room Tip: We were in a quiet spot near the indoor pool if you want a shorter walk to ocean ask to be in a clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnywoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed a very nice suite of rooms at Peppertree, well-maintained with a private balcony and close to an indoor pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. The resort is quite large and we were on the far corner from the beach access. When arriving we were told that it would be about a 3-minute walk to the beach, but timed it at more like 11 minutes. Even longer on the times when we were accompanied by my 80-something-year-old parents. On our lazier days we resorted to driving across the property to the beach access. Once there, we found a very clean and wide beach.

On the plus side the rooms were very nice and private, the kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed to cook, and the pools and Jacuzzi were nice. On the negative side along with the long trek to the beach was the scam that they called a "cooking class" which turned out to be a sales presentation for the most expensive cookware we have ever heard of. My wife and mother wasted hours of their first day at the resort trapped in this presentation, being too polite to leave in the middle.

One other negative was the dreadful Internet connectivity. When we were lucky enough to access the web, it only stayed on for a few minutes. Perhaps a blessing to be away from it when on vacation, but if you need it for any reason you'll be better off going to a nearby coffee shop where they have a better connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed one night...we could not check in before 4pm. After 4pm we checked in, the room was fine. There was 6 people in the room...we had one King bed and two twin beds, and I had the sofa sleeper. Sofa sleeper was not the most comfortable, but loved the room, and the view. We also read that there was no late checkout, and it was $45 for late checkout.

Also loved the multiple pools and the things to do. It was really convenient. However we were not aware that you had to pull your own linens and empty your trash, and do dishes prior to checking out. We didn't mind, but would have been nice to know before hand.

We would consider staying again for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beware! Not all units are created equal! We were looking forward to our trip based on the pictures and descriptions and reviews we found online. Our unit was horrible! NOTHING like the advertised rooms. 1) Unit was dirty: Black hairs on the bed sheets and pillowcases on both the bed and pullout. (We don't have any black hair in the family.) EWW! Significant amount of mildew and mold on very old shower doors. Food crumbs inside cabinets and even some candy on the floor by the cabinets. 2) Very run-down: Shower valve was broken, bathtub drain was clogged when open, but also broken when you tried to close it. Stove was broken... my husband ended up fixing that. Kitchen cabinets were really beat up and very old- I actually scraped my foot on one of them because of the jagged edges. 3) No place to hang towels... but we weren't allowed to even hang towels on the outside railings to dry. 4) Had an ocean view from the bedroom, but we had to keep the curtains closed because the walkways were right there and people could see right in, so that was a useless perk. NO privacy- not even a private balcony- had to keep our beach stuff in our car! 5) The icing on the cake was the very aggressive ROACH that decided to take up residence in the unit. We have traveled south many times, and always take precautions to avoid any bug issues. We have stayed at several resorts and are accustomed to seeing roaches outside, on occasion, but NEVER have had to deal with one IN our unit! GROSS! GROSS! GROSS! It looked like there were some nicer, newer units on the property, but ours was definitely not one of them! Other nuisances were- we were trying to grill our dinner outside, but the sprinklers came on every night around 8:00, so if you weren't done before then... wet dinner! I wanted to do laundry in the evenings after we were done at the beach, but every time I tried to get in, the building was locked... I wasn't about to spend my vacation days doing laundry, and wanted to do it after we were finished with dinner... No luck there either. The only positive- the beach was nice. Maybe we should have brought a tent. :(

Room Tip: Beware what building you are staying in... they are not all the same! We were in building 16. Old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MNLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas CIty
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Got a two bedroom with our two kids. It was the right place for us to stay!! Loved Atlantic Beach, the town of Beaufort and loved the Peppertree facilities (we stick to ourselves so this place was perfect). Well supplied to eat in and close to go out. Rainy day - no problem we went to the Aquarium. And to finish off the trip comments - Definitely take a picnic and go to Shackleford Island for the day - we have been to 15 diff beaches and have never found the kinds of shells like the ones we did at Shackleford

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

After reading all these wonderful reviews, I couldn't wait for my visit. How disappointing following an eleven hour drive, that we ended up in something that looked like a cheap motel. The room was dark and we had to keep a light on continuously, even with the curtains drawn. Unfortunately, this did not allow for much privacy, as the walk around balconies had people passing right past your windows. The carpet was filthy stained and dingy. I think it has been around for 30 years. You did not dare walk around barefoot. And the pull out sofa was not conducive to sleeping on. I was so embarassed that I invited guests, and the mattress on the sofa bed was so old and thin with the springs piercing their backs, they had to leave. The remainder of the furniture was old and dingy. I'm still here, and can't wait to get home. How dare the resort provide units that have not yet been renovated. I'm sure if I had one of the newer units, my review would be different.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank aquablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clam Digger Inn
Clam Digger Inn
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
6.8 mi away
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Destination
6.9 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#8 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppertree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Resort

Property: Peppertree Resort
Address: 715 Salter Path Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Peppertree Hotel Atlantic Beach
Peppertree Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing