We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Place at the Beach III
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We come to APATB every year in August before school starts. Family and friends are always delighted to join us. New management company is doing a great job and keeping current on maintenance that was overdue, even added elevators and a 9 hole mini golf course. So much to do, steps to the beach, indoor and outdoor pool with waterslide, hot tubs, grills (gas & charcoal), sports court - and this is all on the property. Atlantic Beach is very low key, not very commercial but has nearby grocery stores, a movie theater, bike rentals, etc. All the things you need. Amos Mosquitos is always a must for dinner one night and it's just down the street from APATB! Our unit is one of the few 3 bedroom ones - full kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 queen rooms and 1 2-twin bed room, 3 bathrooms. Perfect! Family friendly, you will see some of the same faces here year after year since some units are timeshares.

Room Tip: One and a half bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units are available. The lower #'d units...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rbec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for A Place at the Beach III
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 207 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I used to go here in the 1980s with our daughter and rediscovered it two years ago when looking for a place our grandchildren would enjoy.
They love it so much that we're booking our third trip there for next summer.
The pool and water slide are fantastic, the beach is beautiful and uncrowded and the town offers enough in dining and recreation to keep all of us happy

Room Tip: Look for a room which fronts the pool and is close to the elevators
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nananance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have been coming to this timeshare for 24 years. My father purchased our unit when the place first opened. Now my kids and I vist my Dad for our special week together. We love walking to the beach and spend countless hours on the waterslide. We also enjoy tennis on the 2 courts and fun pickup games of basketball with fellow vacationers. We were THRILLED to enjoy the wonderful 9 hole miniature golf course and outdoor ping-pong (NEW THIS YEAR!!!) An exciting activity for 3 generations of our family to enjoy together. The place was far cleaner this year than in years past. It smelled wonderfully fresh when we entered the unit. The sofa bed in 383 could use a new mattress. It was so uncomfortable we slept on our aerobed. The security is SO friendly, waving to you as you enter and depar the complex. We were so sad to cut our vacation short by 3 days due to Hurricane Irene. Hopefully we'll get a full week next year! Keep up the improvements! We are grateful for your efforts to make our stay special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Atlantic Beach, NC is a low key area and not very commercialized, therefore not busy all the time. I enjoyed A Place at the Beach III because the condo we had was great for a couple, although it was advertised as could accomodate four people and I think three would have been a crowd. Otherwise the staff were friendly and the lady who checked us in was very informative and explained everything in the welcome packet. The condo was clean and comfortable. Located on the same side as the beach and just a short walk down the connecting boardwalk to get onto beach. Very relaxing because I went in May so not main tourist time but still peaceful during the days and evening because didn't seem to be a very busy area. Close to grocery stores, movies, Amos Mosquitos restaurant and civil war site.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RyanM0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Loved our trip to A Place at the Beach III! We really liked Atlantic Beach and how low-key it was. Not as commercialized as some of the other beach vacation spots. The grounds were beautiful! Loved both pools and the beach. The waterslide was tons of fun for the whole family! Great views on the beach of both the sunset and sunrise. Grocery stores only about 8 min away. Propane grills were great! Perfect chance to meet others staying in the complex. Loved that the indoor pool was right next to them so that the kids could swim while we cooked. Loved the new put put course and the tennis courts. Staff was very nice and there were always security guards walking around. You needed to wear tags every where so that they knew that you were a guest of the resort. We would most definitely stay here again!!
We only ate out twice...McCurdy's was AMAZING! Great sunset views from their back deck! The seafood buffet was ok (not bad, just nothing special)...a little disappointed that it did not include crab legs...
We visited Fort Macon - Our son loved it. Great place to tour; Maritime Museum in Beufort - our daughter loved the Blackbeard exhibit. Both places were free too! Also took the kids to the Aquarium in Pine Knolls (just south of Atlantic Beach) and really enjoyed that as well. They have some nature trails that we started to walk but got attacked by mosquitos.

Room Tip: We used vrbo.com to book our condo
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying at a Place on the Beach. The complex is easily located and within a couple of miles of restaraunts, a grocery, and surf shops. The staff was very courteous. There is an elevator for easily hauling luggage and beach paraphanalia. The condos are positioned to each have a view of the Atlantic from the balcony and the front door is located in a central breezeway that is well-lit at any time. The condo was comfortable and afforded the needed amenities for a great stay. There is a gorgeous, large pool in the center of a complex with a slide, a heated indoor pool, hot tub, and a great boardwalk with showers that leads down to the beach. The complex does require you to carry a small recreation tag to use these, but I appreciated this as it keeps people from using the complex who are not staying there and there are extra tags for guests.
Overall, I loved staying here and we will be returning to APATB!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ellysianfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I bought a timeshare at APATBIII for a 1 1/2 bedroom unit during week 22 sight-unseen. We were very anxious on the way down as to what kind of situation we would find based on the reviews I read AFTER I had made the purchase. Upon arrival, we were so thrilled to find our nice, clean, newly-renovated unit on the ocean side, right next to the pool. The room is so convenient to all the amenities they have to offer. And we love Atlantic Beach. What a great experience for my husband and I to have together by ourselves at this time of the year for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank beffie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
754 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#8 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place at the Beach III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place at the Beach III

Address: 1904 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5608
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $64 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place at the Beach III 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place at the Beach III is managed by VRI (Vacation Resorts International) which is a management company based in California. A little information about the property: The resort has 279 units of which 98 are timeshare units and have recently been renovated. We have a putt putt course on site, ping pong, tennis,basketball, shuffle board, corn hole, lawn bowling, ladder golf, disk golf, new playground, private beach access,board walk to the beach, Indoor pool, Outdoor pool with a water slide. We have an outdoor hot tub and an indoor hot tub. During peak season we have an on-site store, pig picking, pizza night, taco night, and painting. On Site Security will ensure you have a safe and fun family vacation. We hope you visit our property and enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your A Place at the Beach III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Place At The Beach Iii Hotel Atlantic Beach
Place Beach Iii
a Place At The Beach Iii Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing