We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a Walk Through History.”

Fort Macon State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Take a Walk Through History.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been going to Fort Macon since I was a young boy & I never tire of spending time within the walls. We've visited twice in the past few months. They opened a new visitor's center in recent years & there's a good film that shows continually throughout the day the covers the rich history of this State & National treasure & the beach makes for great fishing & recreation too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    156
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fort Macon Park is great”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There is nothing to complain about it is beautiful here. I always bring my family every year and will continue for the years to come.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“history, nice museum, trails and the beach!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As for the fort, the state has done well to keep this park up over the years, and it is free! Donations are gladly accepted though. There are occassional reenactments to see, and lots of places to roam. During the summer on some Friday evenings, they even have concerts in the fort itself, and you can bring your blankets. However, if you have a stroller, due to the nature of the construction of forts from the mid 19th century, you will find the grounds hard to navigate, especially after a hard rain. There are dangerous drop-offs for kids of all ages (adults too), so you have to watch them carefully. But this place is filled with history at every turn. The newly constructed museum does a great job of teaching what life was like during the civil war, and when you walk around the fort itself, that reinforces the feelings that soldiers must have felt here (without all the air-conditioning and bug spray that we have). Do the museum first, then the fort. You will appreciate it more. Enjoy the short, but sometimes hot, walk to the beach to cool off afterwards.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dinerdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Renovated state park”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Depicts NC coast involvement in war. War reenactments each week. Museum contains period artifacts. Gorgeous views of Shackaford Banks and the city of Beaufort from the beach. Great surf fishing. No swimming allowed. On-site restrooms and picnic areas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissDiva715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My whole family really enjoyed our visit to Fort Macon. We went on a Saturday and they were doing live reenactments. You get to walk around and go in to all of the little rooms and they explain what each part of the building was used for. They also have a little museum and information center that was very helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Macon State Park also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fort Macon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing