We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good value”
Review of Monkey Bar & Grill

Monkey Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been going to the Monkey Bar and Grill for several years now. The servers are all very pleasant and helpful. There are daily specials, which in the case of the meatloaf sells out fast.
They make great sandwiches, which is what I normally order. Try any of their burgers or a rueben. Skip the onion rings, they are just your standard over battered frozen variety. The prices are very reasonable. Many locals frequent this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFCUMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    30
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
270 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal in the 20 plus times I've eaten there”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My pals and I eat here when the Country Club of the Crystal Coast's restaurant is closed. They have terrific specials every day, two days of two for one suppers as well. It is has a long bar as you come in with a large room for meals adjacent. Never been there longer than 2 minutes before I get my beer, lots of choices it's a real bar!
Every thing is fresh, they make 3 popular dressings, have great bar food, it's ALWAYS hot, no heat lamps, waitresses call you honey, dear, sweetie, and mean it. Local folks, stuffed monkeys everywhere. Good sized portions, fast service, varied crowd, the mayor, construction guys, fishermen, cops, great people like most southerners are. I've never spent more than $10 for lunch, including a huge draft beer.
Today we had 8 golfers and two of their wives came in (who also had played that morning). Not fancy, just great food and good people. Bob Ross

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terri s, Owner at Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
thanks you so much for your great review!! it means the world to me. I want to comp you a meal next time you're in. i told Lois to look for you! Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is located in a shopping plaza on Atlantic Beach. It gets quite crowded in the summer with the tourist trade, but there are regular customers that go there year round. The food is typical bar food, good, but unimaginative. The service people are very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AuntieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
383 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Wide variety with daily specials”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had the Reuben at both visits and served with chips and a pickle was very good. My wife ate a hot dog and onion rings her first visit and Hamburger the second time with fries. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was quickly served. It's typical lounge-type food,but tasted quite good,and the prices were very reasonable for a lunch. Did not eat dinner so can't comment on full meal. will return next time in the area..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch was pretty decent”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ate here for lunch today. Was pretty good. Had Oriental salad. Very yummy. Husband had nachos. He said they were pretty good as well. Price was decent. Ambiance was great. I love all the monkey's around the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sstancel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Monkey Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing