We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proof that you can't go home!”
Review of Hollowell's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollowell's Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Since my grandparents were from Morehead we stayed each summer when we visited. I remember the original owners Russell and Betty. What sweeties they were.
When I decided to take my 12-year old on a "nostalgia tour" there was no question in my mind where we were going to stay. I had stayed here in 2006 and felt at home.
When I sent an e-mail in January to inquire about a reservation and rates for June, I didn't receive a response. In early March I was finally able to get through to make a reservation. We decided to get a kitchenette room so that we didn't have to go out for dinner. Now I didn't expect much when I booked the room. I knew that the rooms were pretty much the same as they've always been and I was OK with that. I wanted my daughter to see it as I did.
When we came in, we were met with a sticky floor in the kitchen area and they only supplied one kitchen washcloth and dish towel. No paper towel or anything so I was forced to use a bathroom washcloth. This wasn't a huge deal because things happen and it was easy to miss.

For me things went south when we got back at 3 p.m. on Sunday (we checked in early Saturday evening) and housekeeping had not come. The beds weren't made, the towels weren't replaced, nothing. The room was exactly as we'd left it. We had only wanted 2 new wash clothes. I thought the beds could have been made at the very minimum. The maid did come on Monday but with checking out early Tuesday, it didn't matter at that point.

There was a bedroom with 2 double beds. They were comfortable enough. I've slept on worse. The bedside lamp didn't work. The curtains weren't meant to close so you're on a first floor room that over looks the parking lot with sheer curtains and no blinds. The living room has blinds and valances.

As another reviewer said, the bathroom is straight out of the 50's and 60's. I'm a bigger person so the tiny shower was harder to navigate for me. This really wasn't a big deal to me given that in reality you spend very little time in the shower. The water was hot and the pressure was OK.

They do have Wi-Fi, but you have to ask for the password (it's not in the room anywhere.) and we found the service to be spotty at times. Again, not a big deal for me, but for a constantly plugged-in 12 year-old, it's huge.

It is centrally located and the beach is a short walk. Fort Macon is a quick car ride and the bridge to Morehead City isn't that far either.

For me, this will be my last visit and the next time I'm in town, I'll stay elsewhere. I prefer to remember it the way it was and NOT as it is now.

Room Tip: Bring extra beach towel for curtains if you get a kitchenette room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Armywife97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

I love this Hotel!! I have been going ever since i was a baby!! The owner treats you like family and loves the customers!! Mrs Hollowell (God rest her soul) has ran the hotel after her husband passed and handed it down to her children since she could not handle it anymore. I believe that she has since passed but the hotel has not fallen down from our expectations any! Always a great location to the 4 Corners diner and Wings as well. Hope to go back soon and many more times with my own family! Enjoy the stay!

Room Tip: All the A/C units work well, higher floor provide better views all the time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Want2conquertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

When my husband and I checked into our room, we felt we had gone back in time. The bathroom (including the shower) looked almost exactly like the ones in the home I grew up in in the 50's and 60's. It was kind of neat. I can't overemphasize how clean the room was. Although we didn't use it, the kitchenette was very well stocked with glassware, pots and pans, dishes, toaster, etc., and it too was spotless. It included a microwave, stove and oven, and a refrigerator with a small freezer that worked unbelievably well. This is not an upscale motel, but for the price and location, it was truly a bargain. Another bonus was that right next door was a '50s style diner. Good food and good prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hollowell's is at a great location -- right next to the Four Corners restaurant (a local well-known diner) and close by "The Circle", the center of town.

The motel is dated, but well-maintained and clean. For a less-than-luxurious accommodate, you get convenience and good value for your money. Our room had a king bed, phone, TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. I asked for a coffeemaker, and was brought a 12-cup maker that worked fine. The shower is small, but clean. The room itself is more spacious than other motel's I've stayed in that are older, similar to Hollowell's.

The staff itself is accommodating, particularly since we arrived late at night and needed a special set-up for getting in late.

If good value is what you want, with good location and friendly service, then this is great. If you want to be pampered with more luxurious surroundings and don't mind paying half again as much money, then you want to plan to go elsewhere. As for my wife and me, we'll be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLTKiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeduweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
225 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollowell's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollowell's Motel

Address: 108 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5412
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing