We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and unfreindly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed there again. Now they donot clean your room only at check out. I went to the front desk and told them that the trash needs to be emptyed and the front desk guy said I can tell you where the dumpster is, in reply I said I do not work for you. They never came for the trash, also you have to go to the desk for towels. They say that if people are loud that you will be kick out, well thats not true we were woke up at 4 am every day by people beating on doors and yelling. If you pay for a service then you should get it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank upsetwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 111 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2006

My family (four of us including a 5-year-old) picked this place over Labor Day weekend, mainly because they were the only place not charging an outrageous price for rooms! The rooms themselves were neat and well-kept, with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, great counter/cabinet space, and a large sink (besides the bathroom sink). The particular room we stayed in (237) had a a twin daybed with a pullout trundle (which my 5 y.o. LOVED!); the two steps down into the "lower level" led to a very comfortable king-size bed, which then led to a balcony with sliding glass doors. Bathroom was clean, carpet was clean, decor was "beachy" - we had absoulutely no complaints! The pool is small but clean and nice if you want to get out of the salt water for a while. We were especially surprised to find such a great room as a walk-in on Labor Day weekend. Most staff were friendly, and helpful about giving directions.

This hotel is on the sound side (which means a perky fishy smell on the backside, but you get used to it...) and is SO close to the Atlantic Beach boardwalk (walking distance); they do not serve cont. breakfast but McDonalds, Food Lion, Dollar Tree and a great pizza & chinese place are within 1/4 mile. It's also about 2-3 miles from the newly renovated amazing NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores.

Note to disabled travelers: there is no elevator so ask for a 1st floor room unless you want to schlep your stuff up the stairs!

Overall this is a great, clean modest place to spend a weekend away without spending too much $$ and we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCPianoPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

It was better than expected. The staff was great. The room was clean & comfortable. VERY family friendly. We have stayed several places at Atlantic Beach, but now we have found our home away from home. Hope you enjoy it too!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ncrealtor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2005

My husband and I checked into this hotel for a family "get-a-way"
weekend. The bathroom was filthy-I found a dirty washcloth hanging in the shower and the bottom of the tub was so filthy we would not allow our toddler to bathe in it. Our room with a "view of the sound" overlooked trash that had been strewn about. We obviously did not stay. I will say the staff was very courteous and refunded all of our money. It is too bad the cleanliness was so poor-they were nice sized rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank AuntKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2004

We have stayed there twice now because we like the Atlantic Beach area, but I would caution everyone to check their room BEFORE checking in because the quality even from room to room varies enormously, like there is no regular ongoing maintenance/cleaning program. If you don't smoke and want to stay on the west side, you are out of luck, that's where they stick all the smokers ... and forget the complimentary breakfast unless you really, really like unruly mob scenes with dozens of children fighting for the few edibles. The first time was better than the second time, even though it was more crowded. I just can't see going back there again, there are much nicer places for a lot less money that are just as close to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Weary Travellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2003

This place was terrible! The room was filthy, garbage all over the balcony. The carpet was wet, I'm not sure why, and it looked as though the carpet had not been vacuumed in quite a while. I requested a crib for my baby months in advance and even called a week before our stay to confirm, when we arrived no crib available for us! We checked out and did not stay here.

27  Thank dotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach

Address: 602 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5310 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $97 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Suites at Atlantic Beach is the premier boutique property on the Crystal Coast. Featuring 90 custom design rooms; each designed with the owner's personality to provide you with a tranquil experience. Nine sound side boat slips and a floating launching area will give you the opportunity to bring your boat down to fully enjoy your visit. Wireless Internet, Guest Laundry facitilty, Swimming Pool, No Minimum requirements during the summer. AARP/Senior, Military, Corporate discounts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Suites Of Atlantic Beach Hotel Atlantic Beach
Palm Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing