We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large menu. Great food”

Something Different
Ranked #7 of 107 Restaurants in Asheboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Homemade items daily from scratch. Variety of Steaks, Seafood, Pasta, Salads. Tapas Menu
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large menu. Great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lots to choose from. All very good. Great service. Very convenient to the NC Zoo. Lots of parking. A+

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    29
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good menu, good service, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have eaten at Something Different many times. The food is consistently good and the service is usually good. My husband often orders the ribs which are the falling off the bones variety and is not smothered in tomato-y sauce. Very good. He has also had the chicken parmesan which he liked. I have had the crab cake which is excellent, the lobster ravioli which is done al dente, and the Greek dinner salad with shrimp. Their Greek food is exceptional; I wish I could buy a bottle of the Greek salad dressing. The bread that comes with the dinners is ordinary and could be improved. We have tried the chocolate desserts both of which are excellent. The owner/chef does wear a chef's uniform (criticized in another review). I imagine it is because he is the chef. He is personable and we always enjoy chatting with him as we leave the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elinorelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We eat here fairly often. It is always delicious, the owner Sinaan is extremely nice and the staff is very attentive. Something Different has also catered some of my church functions and it has always been perfect. Try the spanakopita for a starter, the gyro or grilled chicken kabob if your not that adventurous, and finish with baklava. Wonderful food and decor. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So Glad We Tried It!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were starving after a visit to the NC Zoo and we're so glad we stopped. The food was excellent. I loved having the option of a greek salad with my meal of stuffed shells, and the tiramisu was delicious. The wait staff was extremely attentive. The atmosphere and lighting were warm and inviting. I would definitely dine there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good food in a strip center. Fast service and good food for the price. The boaster ravioli was slightly under done but very tasty. The Portabella mushroom was good.

Many local pottery creations for sale add to the decor

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Something Different also viewed

 

Been to Something Different? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing