We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The best Zoo there is!

The NC Zoo is one of the largest in the United States. Located right in the heart of the state... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
pstover712
,
Asheboro, North Carolina
via mobile
Nice Zoo, But Don't Expect A Quick Visit

We visited on a weekday morning hoping to avoid crowds. Alas, every school group in North Carolina... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
margaret r
Read all 1,458 reviews
  
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
917
365
97
37
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
365
97
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polar bear natural habitat feeding times day trip walking shoes wear comfortable shoes animal exhibits bison africa section animals seem great exhibits black beans north carolina elephants aviary junction enclosures
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The NC Zoo is one of the largest in the United States. Located right in the heart of the state, there is something for everyone. So many animals to see and so much info to read on each one. This place is a great day trip. My family had a season pass and it is always fun to see what the animals may be doing this time. The Polar bears are always putting on a show! After you visit once you will want to bring more folks back with you the next time.

Thank pstover712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We truly appreciate you and love your opinion! Please hurry back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on a weekday morning hoping to avoid crowds. Alas, every school group in North Carolina seemed to choose this day to visit. That being said, this is a very nice wildlife facility which is more a cross between a zoo and a wild animal park. Tickets easy to buy online which helps to streamline admission.
The facility is divided between North American and African zones and the website and the maps (you get one at the admission window) make it clear that visitors should allow between 2 1/2 and 3 hours to visit each zone.
This is a great place for walkers. The habitats are large enough to allow the animals quality of life and there are viewing scopes in the larger areas. There are walking trails to some of the more remote areas. Yes, there are warnings about snakes, but hey, you can expect to find snakes in a vacant lot. They tend to avoid people...
This was our first visit and we limited it to the North America zone. My 90 year old mother was able to walk through with little difficulty (the biggest risk was that of being run over by out of control kids). Happily, the tram at the junction provides a nice ride back to the parking lot.
The animals were very relaxed and obviously well cared for. The Polar bears seemed to find the patrons entertaining. The aviary was especially well laid out.
This place is worth visiting BUT you must plan ahead:
1) If you want to avoid crowds, visit on a weekday and e-mail ahead to see what days are likely to be less crowded.
2) Allow yourself plenty of time and DON'T expect to see everything in one day.
3) Leave the toddlers and babies at home: They won't have any fun, and neither will anyone else.
4) Wear WALKING shoes: Blisters are no one's friend.
5) Dress for the weather: Although there are plenty of areas to get out of the rain, there are also stretches in between where you can get caught in a shower. A hat will protect you from sun or rain.

Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family had a great time at the zoo! It’s a lot of walking so take advantage of the trolley. I’d suggest seeing your favorite animals first in North America and then in South America. Like if you know you have seen lemurs before then why stop? It’s a lot of walking so seeing the bigger animals like the polar bear, elephants, gorillas first is what I recommend. Pick everyone’s favorite animal and make two stops one going in and one going out. Take advantage of the trolleys and wear sneakers and comfy clothes. As for food it’s expensive but I would suggest buying the $7 drink with $1 refills throughout the park. Yes a family can share one or two of these drinks easily. We ended up eating Billy D’s chicken sandwiches. The waffle fries were awesome. The sandwich not so great but you get a sandwich and fries for close to $9. The customer service was awesome. There was a sweet young brown haired girl there that was so helpful and seemed to enjoy her job I always love it when I go somewhere and the workers are happy!

Thank Thefaircritic876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your review made us smile. Thank you so much for offering valuable advice to future guests and please hurry back! We love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I went to the zoo on opening day as a little 9 year old and was so excited and loved it! I went off to university and lived away for a while. Now I am back and using a wheelchair, but my husband pushes me and we BOTH love it now! Thanks for giving the animals so much of their natural habitat. The zoo is about making them comfortable, not about just letting me “see” everything.

Thank lbtdft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We love having you here! Your words of kindness and truth mean so very much to us! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Visiting the area I had a spare day and decided to visit the zoo as it had such good reviews. Really was not disappointed- it is a brilliant zoo, and for me it showcased many amazing animals that we don’t see in our zoos at home: polar and grizzly bears, alligator, wolves, cougar etc. I think it’s well presented, there are lots of facilities along the way, plenty for kids to get involved with and the animal enclosures are spacious and well thought out. The African plain And the wetlands are really unique! All in all a great day out - thank you!

Thank 'Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback and your day with us! We value you and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This is such a fun place for a family fun day and really in our back yard. The staff is always friendly and the animals are always out putting on a show.

Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

We love being an educational and fun window to the wildlife in North America and Africa! Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

So well done, including natural areas as well as exhibits. They are developing
Asia and Australia sections, too. Don't miss feeding the giraffes!

Thank CLTTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you so very much! Please hurry back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Once again I brought the grandchildren ages 6 and 9 years. They always have so much fun whether they play in the stream and mud kitchen, hike the park to see the animals, play in the playground, build forts, or whatever makes them happy for the day. Having a season pass allows us to enjoy the park at our own pace and take advantage of special events. NC Zoo is AWESOME!

Thank Julie_RN_Grammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

You are awesome for letting us know. We love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We went twice in 2018. My daughter loves the animals, especially the sand cats, cougars, and other cats. Its a good value. To me, the zoo is laid out well and a great long walk. If you dont like to walk, its not thr best zoo for you as it is spread out.its not a quick drive to Asheboro but worth it. Allow yourself 6-8 hours unless you hustle. We can see everything in 4 hours but we only stopped for her to get a slushee as it was hot. Luckily there iz alot of shade and some indoor areas with AC.

Thank Zachary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

We love having you here! Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

I've been to many zoos. This zoo is in the top 5. It is the World's largest zoo (area-wise). Animals aren't confined to small caged, or enclosures. This year they have a birds in flight show. Awesome! There are a lot of trails and nature walking. I try to go several times a year. The zoo is a definite must for everyone!

1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane R, Guest Relations Manager at North Carolina Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you so very much for reaching out to us! We value you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews