We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Alfredo Sauce EVER!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ianucci's Pizzaria and Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ianucci's Pizzaria and Italian Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 68 Restaurants in Arden
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Alfredo Sauce EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I love Ianucci's for simple, delicious Italian fare. Their alfredo sauce is absolutely gourmet, not thick and loaded with too much flour for thickening. Almost like a superb zabligione. Order it on the side and pour it over any pasta dish dressed with their marinara sauce. To die for. Great Greek salad. They also offer a good inexpensive red wine from Montipulciano. My only complaint would be the lack of a waiting area. Patrons leaving check out at the same small desk where people who are entering need to leave their name on the waiting list. Otherwise, excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaltandWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville, north carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I think that Ianucci's is, by a good margin, the best pizza place in Asheville. It certainly beats the chain restaurants, and I like its traditional atmosphere and food better than some of the more trendy spots. It is a straightforward pizza place, with a good product, and good service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have eaten at Ianucci's several times now and been very pleased with the food and the service. I had their manacotti and was happy with it. Bread/rolls served with the meal are VERY good - heavily coated with sesame seeds and soft and fresh. We like the "feeling" of the place and will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountaingirl282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing after reading reviews on here. Bland food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went here based on the rave reviews here on trip advisor, so had great expectations. The venue was nice, though cold - other people in there still had their winter coats on the night we went. Wish I had mine on! The server was very nice and prompt. It got off to a good start - the bread was really delicious and the salad that came with my meal was really nice. I ordered the Fettucine Alfredo and was shocked when it was placed in front of me. It was a large serving of what looked like white slop. The pasta was overcooked and very sticky and the cheese sauce was curdled looking and white. The whole dish looked so unappetizing and like something out of an amateur cooks kitchen not a restaurant of any level. Getting past the appearance, it had no flavor at all. We had to ask for garlic powder and cheese and poured it on to flavor it up a bit with salt and pepper. I have to say that is the worst meal I have ever had at any Italian restaurant! I can cook that better myself at home! It resembled a child's attempt at easy mac. We had also ordered the calzone, it looked beautiful but lacked flavor also. Usually Italian means you'll taste some oregano to some level or basil type flavors but neither dish had any Italian flavor at all. I don't know if we got it on a bad night or what but I would never recommend this place or go back. To top it off when you go to pay your bill, they have mints there but you have to pay for them! Never seen that before and didn't give a great impression on leaving either. Better to have nothing at all. No idea how this place has so many high reviews!?!?!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Treenzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convient stop....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The salad was great. The eggplant parmesan was tasty, but the manicotti was bland and had no defined texture. Would probably try the pizza next time or ask the locals for a suggestion.....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJS3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ianucci's Pizzaria and Italian Restaurant also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ianucci's Pizzaria and Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing