We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sehr gut, stellend zufrieden!!”
Review of Black Forest - MOVED

Black Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“sehr gut, stellend zufrieden!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good German food is few and far between and this place doesn't disappoint. Our last attempt at german was disappointing so we went here with that in our minds. We were happily surprised. The sides were tasty: sauerkraut, red cabbage, German potato salad and spaetzle. We found all the sides prepared and flavored to our liking. We shared the Rahm Schnitzle and found it very good and were delighted that we had room for Apple Strudel. We'll go again just for the Schnitzle!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHIguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    43
    19
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband, whose mother is German, requested we go here for Father's Day. It is about an hour away from our home, but the weather was lovely, so it was a nice day for a road trip. We went for lunch to save some $ because the dinner prices are a little steep. All four of us - including two kids - were able to find something on the menu that suited us, and our food was ample and delicious, all around - from a Philly wrap to bratwurst with German sides, a pork schnitzel burger with sweet potato fries and a cheeseburger. The main dining room has very high ceilings, and if you look up, there are windows overlooking the room, complete with window boxes containing red flowers - just like you'd see in Germany. It also features lovely wood and stone walls and a big picture window with a nice view of a mountain and Japanese maples. There are glass cases with trinkets from Europe, as well. The whole scene really transports you to the Black Forest of Germany and is lovely. The wait staff is very attentive and well-mannered. We will definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank newsgirlSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Saturday dinner at Black forest”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food was great we had our own room we were a party of 18. Service was great the two servers were helpful in explaining dishes and and bring our food quickly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Black Forest was dead”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We requested a private dining space for our team dinner, we walked through this huge restaurant that was practically empty (first red flag) on a Thursday night. Drinks order started the other red flags that never ended. No diet coke, no Dr Pepper...sprite was the only soda option. The food was not good. I see great reviews on this placed and am truly baffled. I literally wanted to call "Restaurant Impossible" about this place. Left the waitress a huge tip just out of pitty, she was sweet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Found this place by accident and were very glad we did. Lunch prices were very reasonable and food was very good. Service was a little slow but very friendly and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing