We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not ready for prime time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #13 of 68 Restaurants in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Relatively new location....not ready for a Saturday night. "Friendly & courteous did not exist. Painfully slow, slow service on everything and...and...the food sucked. I am a semi-regular Olive Garden customer in a number of states and for years. Hell, after this experience the near-by McDonalds would have been better. Definitely the J&S Cafeteria right down the road. Plus this location has severe competition from other chains and I believe they are already in deep trouble in things do not change.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

For a chain restaurant, this Olive Garden is always excellent - food and service. We go there at least once a week. The salads are fresh and ample. Bread is always hot and fresh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcallan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good experience here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been there about five times since they opened. We have always received good service, have had enjoyable meals and felt that the price was reasonable. We've tried a number of their regular menu dishes and have not been disappointed. The food is hot, tasty and presented nicely. The salads are fresh and the bread sticks hot. Waiters have been attentive, but not invasive. I have been there for lunch and dinner and had good experiences both times. It is Americanized Italian food, but it is what people expect. Having traveled to Italy on occasions and eaten in many restaurants there, I did not expect such an experience at the Olive Garden.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AgJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and EXCELLENT service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to Olive Garden and the food was awesome and service was the best I have ever had. Our waiter Josh is highly recommended. He was very professional, helpful, and courteous. The food was extraordinary. So if you are in the area and are hungry go to Olive Garden and ask for Josh you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robncmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
681 reviews
569 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Lunch bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

You can't beat Olive Garden's soup/salad/breadsticks lunch. I'm not a big fan of salad, but Olive Garden's is really good. This time it had plenty of black olives, tomatoes, and croutons, which are my favorites. The pasta fagiole soup was excellent, although the minestrone was a bit bland by comparison. The service was good - Suzie Q is a lot of fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Fletcher, North Carolina Mountains
Fletcher, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing