We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just Okay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Steakhouse

Lone Star Steakhouse
Ranked #44 of 68 Restaurants in Arden
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just Okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here when we came in to town to see Biltmore Estate just to try someplace we haven't been to and we were a little dissapointed. Service was good and friendly but the food wasn't anything special, my wife ordered her steak medium and it was medium well to well so the waiter took it back, we finished our meal and he came back by and asked how it was and I told him she never got it so he goes to check on it comes back and said they had it cooked but sliced it up for a salad so it had to be done again. Needless to say it was deducted from our bill but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    8
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Ribeye.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant is great. I normally get the Cajun ribeye . I always leave satisfied. I go with big group from work or small group . They always handle well. I wish we had one in Greenville SC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I went here one night just because we hadn't been in before. We both always order our steaks medium well and when the steaks came out the waitress stood there and asked me to cut the steak open right there in front of her to make sure it was cooked enough. I was a little taken aback to hear this request from the staff at a steakhouse. Shouldn't a steakhouse, if anywhere, be confident in how to cook a steak to medium well doneness? But I just kinda shrugged, cut the steak and saw it looked fine. I told her, she nodded and walked off. Part of my dish also included a cut of salmon which was beautifully cooked, and a side of mashed potatoes, which was cold. Tasting my steak I found it was actually pretty dry and hardly seasoned. So aside from the salmon,my meal was pretty meh. Not awful but not amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedRaven1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had lunch here today with my son. I had a cheeseburger with baked potato & it was great! My son had the kids pizza & also liked that. Our waitress Kayla was very nice & knew what she was doing. I read some of the reviews below. I was once here for lunch with a girlfriend & we had a waiter & he was terrible! He got the bills wrong along with order. Maybe that is the same guy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank beautyqueen416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
259 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have been to Lone Star a few times. Almost every time, we say that we'll not go back there. My friend was planning a party for her husband, and I Lone Star was the only place I could think of off the bat that had a private room. We had 2 waitresses...one was stellar, one was horrible. Throughout the evening, we heard complaining and rude remarks to the guests from the one waitress. She also told us there were no rolls for our party, she told one guest she couldn't have a Caesar salad because she (the waitress) would have to go cut a new head of lettuce while another guest be taken care of by the great waitress received a Caesar salad. This same guest who wasn't allowed the salad she ordered (by the way she ordered it, but the waitress brought out a house salad, then gave the lame excuse) also was given a styrofoam cup when she asked for the refill because the crazy waitress said there were no glasses in the restaurant. Interestingly enough, she had taken her glass to refill it, and everyone else in the restaurant had glasses...hmmmm...Also, we weren't there at closing time...we were there from 5:30-7:30 on a Saturday night! Hard to believe that the staff/kitchen wasn't prepared for business...no glasses, no lettuce, no bread...

I was embarrassed that I had suggested this restaurant then had such poor service for my friend and her husband. This time I mean it, we won't be going back there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse also viewed

Fletcher, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lone Star Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing