We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Mediterranean Cusine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South

Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in Arden
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Mediterranean Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ate Chicken Marsala and Spaghetti Bolognese for dinner at the South Asheville location on Long Shoals Road. Both meals were well prepared and well served. Service was attentive and friendly. Menu is not extensive, but appears to be food the owners would fix for themselves and to serve to their customers - meaning they are not trying to please everyone and likely have more authentic flavors than you might find in other similar type restaurants. Prices are reasonable. The wine and spirit selection is good. Asheville has an abundance of good restaurants - this one should stand up to most of the competition and give customers a good choice for Mediterranean fare. Special note: restrooms were clean and very well appointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food was sub par for upscale dining. On a slow night the service was on point as was the hostess. The food came out in a timely manor but that was about the end of the good. Portions were small, and not well cooked. The only highlight were the scallops (all 4 of them). Just left me wondering when the entree was coming. Not likely to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much A-do About Nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Over hyped.....just average food and not average prices.
They swore my Eggplant Parmesan (?) was FRIED and I simply do not believe it. Baked is much more like it. Restaurants should be forced by the Supreme Court of the United States of America to tell the truth about such IMPORTANT things as that. The only way I can prove to my self sometimes about "REAL" mashed potatoes is simply order a baked tater and squish it all up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy Greek and Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Pomodore's on Long Shoals Rd but it won't be my last! I had the lunch special Mousaka which was plentiful and delicious. My husband had the half portion of eggplant Parmesan which was also plentiful and good price. We had a Living Social coupon which is what enticed us in, but we would definitely go back. Wait staff and host were very nice and helpful in guiding you thru the menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saganaki anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

"opa" Start off with the Saganaki (flaming cheese with pita bread), a glass of red wine and order the Greek Pizza for a wonderful experience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing