We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saganaki anyone?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South

Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Arden
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saganaki anyone?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

"opa" Start off with the Saganaki (flaming cheese with pita bread), a glass of red wine and order the Greek Pizza for a wonderful experience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have visited both Pomodoros restaurants many times. Most recently we dined at the one in Arden. We had a large pizza and bottle of Gabbiano Chianti, together with a Greek Salad. The salad dressing was the best wine/vinegar blend I've ever tasted. The pizza was perfectly done, nice crust, good toppings. And the bottle of Gabbiano was superb. It was very crowded when we arrived and we had to wait a little longer than usual, but the service was polite and attentive, and we had no complaints about the delay. The restaurant has some very excellent Greek dishes and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive but good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This Italian restaurant is about 20 minutes away from Asheville. Both of us aren't much for Italian food but this place was pretty good, pricey, but good! We had a sweet server who had a great sense of humor. We went for an early dinner so the place was pretty empty but really beautiful. You are served warm fresh bread first like most Italian places. We tried the the Solomos Me Lemoni ($17.65) and Bistecca Gorgonzola ( $18.95). The bistecca was amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheerstonovelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Food was good. Appetizers need to be vamped up a bit.
However, the hot dishes are better than the cold ones.
Waitress was very helpful. I'd go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
378 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Italian should be easy to do well...But they didn't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been to Pomodoros several times and tonight I took my entire family. The service was excellent and our waitress was fun and lively. I found the menu to be rather limited in the area where they should shine: Italian food aka Pasta! (I don't think this is a new menu - I just hadn't noticed this limited selection on previous visits.) Three of us had spaghetti bolognese (boring selections - but there was little to chose from, we all thought) and one had the grilled salmon. The bolognese was just average. Not bad really, but certainly nothing special. The person eating the salmon commented they'd never had "tough" salmon before as this piece of fish was flat, not flakey at all, and it had clearly been over-cooked. I was disappointed and will push Pomodoros well down my list of acceptable Italian restaurants. Maybe the smallish crowd on what was a busy restaurant night should have been my first clue that they've lost their way in the kitchen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing