We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great church retreat getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bent Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bent Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Arden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wise, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great church retreat getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

10 couples from our church gathered for a marriage enrichment retreat. The rooms were attractive and the entire atmosphere was comfortable and inviting. We were able to meet as an entire group in the main area upstairs and had that same commons area to gather and visit at other times. Doug and Jodee were gracious hosts. I would enthusiastically recommend Bent Creek Lodge for groups, families and couples. Mike Winters

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
195
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to a B&B. I was surprised at how small the rooms were, but from what I've read on here that is pretty typical for a B&B. The place was very clean and the owners and staff very friendly. Loved the log-cabin rustic feel. Because it is all hard wood flooring inside, sound did carry and echo quite a bit. But all the guests seemed to respect each other. Breakfast was good, but a little too gourmet for my tastes. Just plain old eggs, bacon and pancakes would've suited me better. Thought it was a little pricey too, but again this was my first B&B experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent two nights at this B&B just outside Asheville, surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery. We had to drive along a narrow winding road up into the woods for a few minutes but the B&B is really well signposted.

We thought this was a very well run and well designed place- the owners Doug and Jodee had it built from scratch and Doug made the staircase and a lot of the furniture himself. There was a large living room upstairs and another one downstairs where our bedroom was, with a TV and drinks including a fridge full of soft drinks (sodas) which I thought was a nice touch. Doug and Jodee also provide two folders full of restaurant menus, and pre-printed directions to each restaurant, which is a massive help when you don't know the area and want to find somewhere to go for dinner.

Breakfast was excellent - there was someone working in the kitchen in the morning (no sign of Doug and Jodee or their dog) who made us a sort of quiche with some sausage, fried potatoes, something that ressembled a scone and some fruit. We had to leave early on the second day and miss breakfast, so Doug very kindly left out some travel cups so we could make tea or coffee and take with us. I was impressed overall at both the accommodation and the service and would definitely recommend staying here if you are ever in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileycat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
205 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The breakfast was okay. The room was small. There is a nice gathering area. Very nice hosts. I imagine this is paradise during the summer but for the off season this is probably not the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougSellers, Owner at Bent Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your stay and I am not sure how to take your concern about cost. You did know the price before you came and may have chosen us for the very fact that we are one of the most economically priced B&B's in the Asheville area. The price is more than some hotels in the area but most guest feel the unique atmosphere is worth it and that is why they choose to stay at B&B's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Unreal breakfast that changes up daily with nice fresh local fare. Very convenitent for exploring Asheville and the surrounding state parks/national forest/blue ridge parkway. Remote yet close to plenty of action. Hosts and staff were over-the-top accomodating and pleasant. Doug and Jodee never failed to take the time to ask what adventure was explored the day before and what the plans were for the day. Once they knew your plans, they provided educated, concise help that aided in your decision making plans for the day/stay. We were there in the fall and with the leaves changing, a fire roaring, and a comfortable chair everywhere you turned - the entire experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room at the end of the house there is leass noise although a relatively quite place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pleasant enough B & B. The room was nice sized (barn room) but for what I paid it should have been. The value I prefer wasn't quite there but I certainly can't complain about this place. I would head back if I had some sort of deal. The grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Bent Creek Lodge is a wonderful base from which to explore Western North Carolina. It's a charming lodge with beautiful grounds and a remote feel, but is quite convenient to Asheville, the nearby national forests, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Doug and Jodee Sellers and their staff do a superb job of making their guests feel at home. Amenities include great breakfasts, downstairs TV lounge, billiards, fireplace, homemade cookies, hot and cold drinks, and an abundance of porches. Great value for the money. Just a couple of comments/suggestions...if you want a king bed, choices are limited. Feather beds or more substantial pillow tops would be nice for those who aren't "firm" mattress folks; and, a couple of fans would make rocking on the downstairs porch much more enjoyable in the summertime. However, these are minor things. We've stayed at Bent Creek a number of times and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bimini Twist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arden
6.2 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
2.2 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.0 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bent Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Creek Lodge

Property: Bent Creek Lodge
Address: 10 Parkway Crescent, Arden, NC 28704
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Arden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bent Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the mountains you came to see in this elegantly, rustic lodge, only yards from the Blue Ridge Parkway and 10 miles from downtown Asheville. Enjoy the spectacular mountain views, the crackling fireplace, the scrumptious breakfast, hiking trails graced with waterfalls and rhododendron tunnels and most of all the gracious hospitality. You'll know you've found a truly special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bent Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing