We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like noise and smoke...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Near High Point University
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Archdale
FREDERICK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like noise and smoke...”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I may have the perfect motel for you if you like noise and smoke. We stayed here 3 nights in mid-Sept 2008. Started out in a first-floor room and after going to bed the first night, heard talking and doors slamming. But wait, it gets better! At 3 am Sunday morning, we were awakened by loud stomping above us. And it sounded like someone dropped something very heavy several times (maybe the microwave or refrigerator). Just when we thought it was over, it started again. After 45 minutes of off and on again noise, I contacted the front desk. The staff said it would be taken care of and we heard nothing after that. The person must have left. That evening we heard the people above us walking (this is not a masonry building, floors are wooden). So we were moved to a second-floor room; actually we moved ourselves, they weren't about to help. No elevator either, only 17 steps to trudge up. A lot of construction workers stay at this Comfort Inn. You can tell by the number of construction trucks in their parking lot. And a lot of people that stay here smoke; the halls reeked of smoke. And when we checked in and checked out, 3 or 4 of the staff were just outside the front entrance smoking. A big ashtray greats you at the front door! Uck! I guess what I'm overlooking is that NC is about 10 years behind the rest of the country when it comes to restricting smoking.

  • Liked — price and location; buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — no elevator; noise at night; smoke-filled corridors; staff smoking just outside main entrance
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyBrame, Manager at Comfort Inn Near High Point University, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Comfort Inn, Archdale sincerely apologizes for your unpleasant stay. I know your stay was years ago yet I hope you do see our apologies and hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality. I looked back in the records for your date of stay and it looks like we had a ball team in the night that you stayed, hence the noise. That is not an excuse, but I am only explaining why there was probably more noise than a typical hotel stay, on that specific night. In regards to the smoking, we typically do not have this issue considering we only have a handful of smoking rooms at out property and they are located at the end of the hotel, on the 2nd floor. Once again, we apologize and hope you will give us another opportunity. If you are back in the Archdale/High Point area, please call me directly and I will see that you get 25% off your next stay. Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
5
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owings, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — No rollaway bed was available. I booked the rollaway bed in advance.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

6 families spent the night on a 2 day softball tourney. I found the rooms and was hyper sensitive about the quality of the accomodations and what the other families would think of my choice. Was very pleased that the postings on Trip Advisor were so accurate. Walking in the front lobby was quaint and welcoming. WiFi is available in the common area as well as a computer in the lobby if you did not bring your own laptop. The rooms were simple and clean. Very spacious with comfy beds and plenty of pillows, 4 per bed, 8 in all. The front desk staff was very courteous that night as well as the next morning. Bathrooms were well stocked. Great water pressure in the showers with plenty of hot water. Nice sized TV with clear picture as we checked out the local weather forecast. Wake up call service was right on time. Next day we ate quick, lite breakfast - just enough to fuel the team but not weigh them down. We had lots to choose from with make them yourself waffles, even microwavable sausage biscuits, bagels, cream cheese and cheese cubes, cereal, fresh fruit, lots of milk, OJ, Apple Juice and coffee. Overall my family was pleased and the comments and thanks from the other families confirmed that everyone else seemed just as happy and got a good night's rest for a 2nd day on the ball fields.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, very welcoming and accomodating
  • Disliked — coffepot was on the bathroom counter, but had coffee in the lobby anyway
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Softball_Travel_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights. The first night we put a do not disturb sign on the door. Slept in. Left room at 12:15 pm (we took down the "do not disturb sign" before we left) to do tourist stuff. We returned at 8:15 pm and the room had not been touched. Dirty towels in bathroom, bed unmade. In addition my wife didn't appreciate the 2 live spiders she found in the bathtub.

  • Liked — Exercise room
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yumpin_Yimminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Great place to stay. Clean Rooms (nice comfortable beds with PLENTY of Down Pillows) Very restful sleep. Definately Recommend. The staff and Manager went above and beyond to make certain our stay was great. Will stay everytime I am in that area.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JKB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

This Comfort Inn that is located right off the 85 is an excellent choice for travelers. Their discounted rooms from 60-85$ are simple, and pleasing. The breakfast was just about complete, with the absence of some sort of hot meal. The make your own waffles was a nice touch. The lobby was very clean, and had very welcoming.

They provided free WiFi Access, along with a computer in the lobby for guests without laptops. The front desk agent was pleasing, and talkative. They had knowledge of surrounding local eats, and places to go. The pool was nice, not too deep which is great for those with smaller children. However, 5 feet of water to please adults. The rooms were simple, but clean. The hot tub room was great for typically an extra 15$ a night.

All in all this was a great stay for the price. Nothing extravagant, but nothing on the bad side either!

  • Liked — The cleanlyness, unlike the roach inn across the street.
  • Disliked — simple rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Monterey_Hospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Room was clean but bathroom could have been cleaner. Good water pressure in the shower. Lots of cable channels to choose from and free Wifi worked well. Front dest staff was okay but not overly friendly. Walk across street to McDonalds or Biscuitville. Didn't eat breakfast there but looked like it had a good selection: waffles, fruit, cereal and pastries. Might look elsewhere next time we're in town but would stay again if price was right.

  • Liked — free WiFi
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archdale
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, High Point (Greensboro/Winston-Salem)
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites High Point South
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites High Point Archdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn High Point
Hampton Inn High Point
#1 of 6 in Archdale
444 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Asheboro
64 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Near High Point University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near High Point University

Property: Comfort Inn Near High Point University
Address: 10123 N Main St, Archdale, NC 27263-2905 (Formerly Comfort Inn Archdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Archdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Archdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Near High Point University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn® - Archdale, near High Point University - Newly Renovated 2013 - 2 Miles to High Point, 4 miles to High Point University* Free Hot Breakfast - Free WiFi - Micro-Fridge in all rooms - Outdoor Pool - Jacuzzi Rms. available* Whether you are traveling for Business or Leisure, we can offer you the best rates & service.....Clean rooms at an affordable rate!* Gold Award Winning Property!* Conveniently located off of I-85 - Exit 111 - Adjacent to McDonalds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Near High Point University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Archdale
Archdale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing