We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inexpensive Mexican”
Review of La Rancherita

La Rancherita
Ranked #6 of 137 Restaurants in Apex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Inexpensive Mexican”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

You can get the best Fajitas in Western Wake County here. Friendly and attentive staff. The location is a plus as well being in downtown Apex. The frozen margaritas are good also. Great for families and large groups too. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been to this restaurant dozens of times. The food has always been excellent. The service is very good.I bring my family and friends often. All of my experiences at this restaurant have been good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetinman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good, inexpensive Mexican”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the other reviewer that I had passes by La Rancherita countless times because I thought it was a generic Mexican place. Well, that all ended tonight. The wait for a table at Salem Street Pub was over 30 minutes, so with a hungry little kid, we bailed and made our way across the street. It's a relatively small place and it was bustling. Our server was efficient but seemed a bit rushed. I ordered the carnitas and our door came quickly. In the meantime we chowed down on crisp tortillas and I could taste the cilantro in the salsa - excellent. My carnitas came and they were braised so tenderly, they basically fell apart on my fork! Flavorful and not oily, it was complemented nicely by the rice (just the right amount of stickiness) and the "Mexican slaw" which was not soggy. Overall a great meal! Will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris Ria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Okay, it's easy to chalk up all Mexican restaurants as one and the same. I know I'm guilty. I avoided going to this place for the longest time because I figured it was no different than <insert Mexican restaurant here> in <pick a city, I'm sure there's one there>. Of course, it's right before we move away that we decide to give it a try.

The restaurant was pretty crowded, but its in downtown Apex, so it's a little expected. They have some daily beer specials, which was nice. A lot of variety on the menu, also as expected. I was more interested in whether the food was the same or if it was better. Long story short, it's better. Better cooking preparation, use of seasoning/spices, better flavors overall. Only complaint was that service wasn't all that great. I wanted to order some appetizers before the rest of the family showed up, but no one stopped by after we received our waters. I gave them a pass since it was busy, but I would expect better.

If you're ever in the mood for <insert Mexican restaurant here>, you should go ahead and reroute to La Rancherita, or Toreros, they're a notch better than the rest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow! I am pleasantly surprised :)”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have lived in Apex for years and have driven by this place many many times. After looking through TripAdvisor, we figured we should give it a shot. We both love Mexican food. Growing up in Texas, I am expecting a bit more than I usually can find around here.

I ordered the Chimichanga and the wife ordered the Carne Asada. When the plates were delivered, I was kind of off put by the fancy presentation. Most "good" Mexican restaurants that we frequented in Texas never had fancy plates :) My first bite was a mood changer for sure though. The beans and rice (which is what I always try first) were not the usual paste and dry mess that we have all gotten used to. The rice actually tasted good and the beans had a little substance to it. Then I broke into the Chimichanga to find that it was loaded with actual meat. Most Chimichangas around here are 90% tortilla and 10% of a meat like mix, not this one! The wife is much pickier than I am. As I was sitting there are really enjoying my meal, I was almost afraid to ask her. I was starting to love this place and I didn't want any bad news. I look over to find that she is devouring her Carne Asada. She was loving it as much I was with my meal. We exchanged bites and the Carne Asada was tender and full of flavor!

At this point, I think we have hit the jackpot. This place is busy for a good reason. If they continue to do business like this, I can see them getting busier and busier as times goes on. The biggest shock of the night was at the end of the meal. We were shocked to see how small the bill was. We are used to paying $40-$50 for a meal and our check was $25! All I can say is that we will be back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoutsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Rancherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing