We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Tobacco Trail run”

American Tobacco Trail
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Apex
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“American Tobacco Trail run”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

great for an offroad run. Please be prepared for the humidity, so bring water or/and electrolyte drinks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annec27523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a long bike ride”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The trail is open from Apex to Durham. We spent the day on a 50+ mile round trip bike ride. A perfect way to spend the day with my wife!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihaliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Heavy use, but enjoyable trail”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We came to the American Tobacco Trail on two occasions this past winter for walking/hiking. We had a group of six boys and on girl with us and we enjoyed hiking 20 miles of the trail The surface is in good condition with mixed surface (gravel and paved) on part of the trail and all paved on the other section. The bridges are well built and maintained. The quick access to some parks allow for restroom and water breaks. This is an enjoyable trail for hiking, running, biking, and horseback riding. We will be back with our bikes soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmaerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mr. M occasionally enjoys a little exercise”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We usually park at the Wimberly Road parking area. I ride the bike 8 - 10 miles while my wife walks. The Apex potion of the trail is very scenic and safe. Their is almost a northern aura about the trail as very few walkers, bikers or runners make eye contact.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wjm8309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great trail for jogging, and training”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The trail is well maintained and great for walking, jogging, or biking. If you start at the south end, it is a long gradual uphill grade. Very peaceful with lots of natural beauty. Busier on the weekend as would be expected.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Tobacco Trail also viewed

 

Been to American Tobacco Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing