We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ipek Garden Palace Residence(Yaliciftlik)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodrum Park Resort(Yaliciftlik)
$378
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$569
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Gokova(Akyaka)
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latanya Park Resort(Yaliciftlik)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
498
157
59
38
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
157
59
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla lucesilent beachprivate beachturkeysaigon restaurantbeautiful hoteloutdoor poolbodrum cityspecial thankskids clubnight lifeconciergespabarbarossaseahammamrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 764 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Barbaros Bay Hotel Kempinsky is a fabulous destination for a beautiful holiday. It has everything a 5 stars hotel is expected to have, just nicer! The furniture, interior design and every little detail does reflect the quality of a 5 stars chain, but it's its location that makes it unique. This hotel is on a small bay on the Aegean coast. There is no other resort near by and the sea cannot be more cristalline! It s of a nice light blue color and the surrounding flowers and plants, the clear blue sky and the starred nights do lift your spirit.:) The rooms are very comfortable, nicely furnished with very big bathrooms. The standard rooms still have a balcony but it is very small. The only problem with our room was that there was no mosquitoes screen so, as soon as we were opening the window, we had to start hunting! I am sure the management is thinking about something as also other people we met there complained about the same thing.
For people who haven't been to Bodrum, be aware of the water problem that there is in this area. In some hotels it is very hard to take a shower because of the water scarcity BUT you WONT have that problem here. At this resort there is plenty of water.
The Spa is a real bless from above, it s very relaxing and they offer a wonderful selection of treatments. Their indoor pool and outside pool are both spectacular even though the indoor one is quite small.
The beach is not too big but enough to accomodate all guests and is kept cleaned but, at the same time it still has a sense of wildness, which we liked because it makes it more exhotic!
The staff is friendly and very well mannered but waitresses are sometimes not familiar with what they serve so don t be surprised if you get something that you did not order or if there is something missing..but they always make up for it and honestly, it happens everywhere in this part of the world. The management is top notch, with the general manager always around making sure that everything is perfect and tring to help guests with any problem they may have. It has actually been out first time in a hotel where the general manager was somehow visible..
The people, the location and the structure itself create the perfect vacation..on the downside though the place is quite expensive especially food and beverages with a bottle of water beeing charged 16tl instead of 50 cents (in a supermarket). I understand that the place is maybe 15 km from the first big supermarket and 2 from the first small drugstore but i still find it a way overpriced....The hotel has 4 restaurants :
a fish restaurant by the beach
an Italian restaurant
an Asian restaurant and the main hotel restaurant where dinner is served Buffet. The 3 of them are all very expensive and the buffet one charges 100TL per person without drinks..expensive as well.. Beside this downside, if you do have money to spend on your vacation, spend it here! It is really a place to see, not too far from Europe and with all that you want on your perfect vacation and the staff is so nice to make your stay absolutely lovely!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaya41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback that will be shared among the team and will certainly have a great impact on our motivation.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed you stay and will spare no effort to continue improving our quality of service. Your constructive comments will help us in that respect.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in Bodrum.

Warm regards

William Latour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I would like to return to this terrific hotel for a longer stay next year, but unfortunately the booking is not yet open for next summer as the room pricing has not yet been finalised – I hope Kempinski head office can complete this soon as I am looking forward to returning.

The hotel might consider offering more “value” based pricing of its food and beverages (even if in just one of its 4 to 5 different restaurants) – but then again, I’m giving this hotel an excellent rating and top marks in nearly all categories and looking forward to making a return visit, so I guess the Turkish and international clientele are indeed prepared to pay the eye-wateringly high prices for wining and dining in this establishment. Certainly, the room service trolleys were doing a brisk trade rolling up and down the corridors.

I really like the free wifi throughout the property, the light and airy fitness centre and the very friendly front-desk staff. Kempinski and Six Senses Spa work seamlessly together and Kempinksi have done a great job of giving this property an individual identity, with a slight Turkish/Zen like feel. The very varied clientele (Turkish, Russian, Kazak, Iranian, German, French, Italian, British) give it a global feel. On the downside, although reviewers talk of a “20” minute journey to Bodrum, in my experience it is much closer to 30 minutes and on a jolly bumpy/poorly maintained road at that, making it a none too pleasant journey. Also, the in room air conditioning is relatively noisy (reminds me of being in an aeroplane) but in the summer months you will definitely need it on. Being built of concrete and with marble tiles, the noise does echo around and you can hear people walking up and down the corridors/using their showers/closing their doors/all those room service trolleys racing around with glasses clinking. A few mosquito bites indicates that the hotel could do more spraying/adopt mosquito deterrent measures and wicks. As another reviewer has commented, the beds are surprisingly hard (and this from someone who likes firm mattresses). And the pool water is a bit on the cool side for my liking and the pool itself is slightly oddly shaped (albeit big) and therefore vaguely disorienting. But now I am nit-picking – I really did enjoy my stay, many thanks to all the team at the hotel.

PS Kempinski may also want to consider enhancing their web site eg giving clear instructions for getting to the property from the airport, with a good map; airport transfer information and options; local weather forecasts; menus and pricing at the restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2010

Dear Guest,

I have just received your review and will share it immediately with the team here. Guest's feedback is essential to us and your are going to going to be discussed and actioned in details.

As far as your next stay with us is concerned, you may want to contact us directly so we can make an offer for next year. Though our rates have not been yet published, we should be able to secure a reservation for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Bodrum.

Warm regards

William Latour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed here June 17 through 19 with my children ages 18 and 20. First off the place is palacial. Marble everywhere and very tastefully decorated. The rooms are very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The room maids seem to make up the room everytime your leave. The balcony view of the Aegean Sea is very relaxing. Breakfast Buffet is tremendous and the best I have had in Turkey. The pool is huge and there are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. Staff is very helpful and many speak English. Swimming in the Aegean is nice but not as exciting as at the Marmara at Antalya which had a large inflatable to climb up on and a large rock in the sea area with a diving board. The internet room is spacious with four computers available and free of charge. There are some keyboard differences from the US which can trip you up but the staff is very helpful if needed. Saturday night is a free of charge hotel reception in the Blue Lounge. This is not to be missed with drinks, appetizers and pleasant company. I have two issues with this hotel. First, it is very isolated. There is no where to walk to outside of the hotel and believe me i am a walker. The Hotel needs to do a better job of helping guests understand the local transportation system to Bodrum. There are small buses that run once or twice an hour for a few Turkish Lira to and from Bodrum. A detailed information sheet should be written up and made available to all guests of the hotel on how to use this system along with a hotel help number. Second, the prices for drinks and seaside boating activities are off the richter scale. No one can enjoy a glass of coke for six dollars I do not care how rich you are. It is galling. Front load some of this into the cost of the room and make the prices of ordinary items reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2010

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the time you took sharing your recent experience in our hotel. We truly appreciate your constructive remarks as much as your positive comments. All of them will be discussed and presented to the team and encourage us to continue improving the level of service this property.

We look forward to welcoming you, again, in Bodrum.

Warm regards

William Latour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I enjoyed every minute at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay and have been very pleased from the service quality at the hotel. The kindness of the staff and their performance fullfilled all of my expectations.

We also enjoyed the quality, taste and the range of the food in the restaurants.

The cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of the rooms were beyond my expectations.

Thanks and congratulations to the head of the kempinski hotel barbaros bay and to all of the staff in the hotel.

Sincerely, Haluk Yılmaz Murtezaoğlu

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DETOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review. Your comments encourage us to continue delivering the best possible service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Warm regards

William Latour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Overall:
-----------
We stayed two weeks at the hotel. We would be booking the hotel again, as the holiday was very relaxing and totally what we were looking for, however, some downsides (read below).
If you are looking for a nice, relaxing and quiet holiday, the Kempinski could really be your choice.

Location:
--------------
The hotel is located at a very remote location, nowhere to walk to and no shops etc near by. The next village is about 10-15kms away. However, there is a Dolmus bus stop directly at the hotel. A trip to the village (nothing to see and do) cost about 1.50 TL, a trip to Bodrum (takes about 20 mins) costs 4.10 TL (approx. 2 Euro). If you don't have any TLs, you can also pay in Euro.
However, getting the information from the reception is a bit of a lottery. Some staff will tell you all possibilities (taxi about 50 TL to Bodrum, Dolmus etc.), other will only refer to the taxi. The hotel has maps of Bodrum available for its guests, again depending on the respective staff member whether you will receive one.
The trip to the airport takes about 30-45 mins and the hotel does also offer a pick-up service (price unknown).
The hotel is built on some hills and the beach is rather small and I assume built. In order to go to the various restaurants, pool, beach, you must use several elevators, cross halls etc. However, nothing to bother you.

Rooms:
-----------
We booked a delux room, however, I am not sure whether we have received the room we booked. But we were mostly satisfied with the room overall.
We had a king size bed, small flat screen TV (though not 16:9), offering a couple of English and German speaking channels, besides the Turkish ones. Bathroom had a bathtub with a rainforest shower, however, only one sink.
The closet is also quite small if you are staying ten days or more. Safe is built-in in the closet.
Minibar is far to expensive, I assume, no one will ever use it.
All rooms (according to the staff, but at least hours) have sea view and a small balcony with two chairs and small table.
The room had wifi internet connection free of charge.
Unfortunately, the walls are quite thin, specially if your neighbour is an early bird and uses the bathroom (specially shower). You will also hear people in the hallroom, expected a bit more from a hotel of this category and also based on experiences from other hotels.

Pool:
---------
The pool is actually very much larger than it looks on all pictures included here. Sunbeds are a bit too close for a hotel of that category, especially if everything is occupied, it lacks a lot of privacy and gets noisy.
A poolboy will organise your sunbed upon your arrival at the pool with towels, open the umbrella etc. They offer a cold towel service twice in the afternoon and will clean your sunclasses if you want. They guys are really helpful and provide a tremendous service.
The pool has also a free of charge wifi connection available.

Restaurants:
------------------
Breakfast is served at one restaurant (Olives) only and the selection is quite nice. They offer you freshly squeezed juices (orange served at the table, other juices like apple, carrot, melon etc at the buffet), a selection of tea, coffee, cappucino etc. So nothing to add or complain for breakfast.
We have booked half-board and you receive a voucher per dinner. You can use the voucher in every restaurant (there are in total 4, one buffet - Olives, one Italian - La Luce, one Thai incl Sushi - Saigon Club and one fish restaurant). The buffet is buffet and in the remaining restaurants you are entiteled to a three course menu. You can select from everything from the menu (even take Sushi at the Saigon Club). The level of service is very good, but special thanks to the staff at the La Luce (specially to the head waiter).
We dined in all restaurants but the fish one (we don't like fish, so that is the reason).
The food in La Luce is great, an excellent Italian chef, the level of services, it is really money well spent. The view of the La Luce is just stunning, having a marvelous view over the sea. My favourite dishes were the papadelle with mushroom ragu and the lamb as the main course - delicious
Saigon club offers also an excellent service, but is less occupied as the La Luce and the food is fine, but clearly one step below the La Luce. We got a bit bored after the second time.
The Olives restaurant offers a modern Turkish buffet, however, I can't tell any difference to a buffet in Greece, Spain or anywhere else in Europe. So not really something special. Overall, you will get bored easily, as the food is very repetitative. The selection of starter is good, the main course is most of the time cold as ice (although the casing is hot as hell). The dessert buffet is nothing special, but they have a nice selection of (homemade?) icecream and sometimes a chocolate fountain. However, the charge of close to 100 TL per person is way overpriced compared to the other restaurants. Wouldn't pay more than 50TL.
Selection of wine is nice and adequate, but again, extremely expensive (cheapest Turkish glass of wine 22 TL).
A bottle of still water costs 9 TL (for 0.75l). A bottle of still water at the pool costs also 9TL (but for 1.5l). Cappucino is 12 TL (if not ordered at breakfast), fresh orange juice 14 TL, a can of sprite or coke 9.50 TL. Overall, our drink and tip bill amounted to close to 1000 TL for 14 days. So keep that in mind when booking the hotel.
They also offer a kids restaurant (turtle restaurant) next to the Olives restaurant. It was opened on our last days and we haven't heard anything about it.
Of course, you can also have room service, which we didn't. But we heard from other guests that it is not one of the best experiences and you should better invest the time to go to one of the restaurants.

Service:
-----------
As already mentioned, the level of service is overall excellent. Sometimes, the lack of English or any other language is a bit annoying as you try to order something and the waiter does not understand you.
They also offer you a turndown service every night, which also includes a bottle of still water (0.5l) per person for free. Staff relating to the room is very helpful and friendly.
Besides the pool guys, the waiter at the pool bar are also extremely service oriented and helpful (though having a lot of trouble ordering things, which might end in receiving what you ordered in the third or fourth try).
There is also a kids club and the girls will also go bathing with the kids and so on. Can't really say much about it, as we don't have any kids.

Hotel shop:
---------------
The hotel has a small drugstore, where you can buy small items. However, it is for sure the biggest ripoff on the planet. We needed one toothbrush (10 Euro) and some make-up remover (25 Euro) as something got spilled on our way to the hotel. So the shop owner is really taking advantage of people's needs. The biggest margin must be sunscreen as it costs something around 50 Euro for a bottle you pay 5 Euro in a supermarket at home. So invest the time and money to take the Dolmus to Bodrum and buy some overpriced items there, you will save more than 50% at the end anyhow.
We did not understand how the hotel allows such a pricing policy and management should really do something against it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dergiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Dear Guest,

Your comments have been shared among the management team and we would like thank you for your report on our hotel.
We are glad for what you have enjoyed your stay and take good note of your constructive comments. They will help us to continue improving our service.

Best regards

William Latour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews