We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yaliciftlik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in late October - always a roll of the dice with the weather, but got a double 6, fantastic weather - its a lovely quiet site with private beach & the sea was lovely to swim in and a very quiet hotel that felt like a private palace

The design of the building and the detail are the best I've seen, a really beautiful hotel, from the outside it looks more like a collection of small villas, and by booking in advance we had a reasonable rate for our stay

The minor complaints I have, must be seen in the context of a 5 star hotel. Sometimes detail got lost in translation, so I ended with an omelette with every bacon type but nothing else. (I take responsibility for this, as I don't speak Turkish, but take your time and be clear as a guest). Sometimes service was a bit slow, usually for things that should be ready at hand, like wine coolers. And it would have been nice to make a coffee/tea in the room. (I know there is room service but at 7am it seems too much trouble). Also it is a £25 taxi ride to Bodrum so if you want to go into town often that might be a consideration.

But all in all if you are looking for a relaxing stay in the Bodrum area, the Kempinski would be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We were a group, so I can say rooms are all very similar. Those on the 4th floor near reception and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time in sharing your experience, which is highly appreciated and well received with your remarks on some points regarding the service quality. We would like to assure you that reviews like yours give us a chance to see our areas for improvement.

And we will always be happy to deliver your morning coffee, no matter what time :)

We wish to welcome you once more in the near future and exceed all your expectations.

Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 719 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Thanks to the wonderful folks at Luxury Link, I won an auction to spend 3 nights at the Kempinski Barbaros Bay, and it was a lovely experience - I wish I'd spent more time at the property!

PROS:
- It's a lovely hotel, with high ceilings in the lobby, a beautiful view of the bay and my room had a balcony which I could just watch the stars at night and the sea in the day from;
- Amazing sundeck, which my wife and I spent a whole day at;
- Excellent service with super friendly staff - I can't name all of them right now, but off the top of my head, Mesut Samit and Fatih were so friendly and made the trip memorable;
- Seclusion - I didn't see much of the other guests (besides at breakfast)

CONS:
- If you want to be close to a city, or a convenience store for the matter, Kempinski Barbaros is far from everything - but frankly, why would you want to leave? (and a shuttle service operates from the hotel every 30 minutes to Bodrum if you require)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

A belated congratulations on your prize and thank you very much for the time you have taken in sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you have had a memorable stay with us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully for a longer time :)

Warm regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Normally taking touring holidays, this time we wanted to stay in one place for 10 days and we chose this amazing resort (which has 150 more rooms than we normally choose in a hotel!). The staff were all very personable and particular mention must go to the two Mehmets at breakfast. We found that all staff were efficient, although when the hotel was busy with the wedding the previous reviewer was talking about, service at breakfast was painful with the two Mehmets obviously having a rare day off!

The food was always fresh and we found that the food was expensive, but having eaten in five star hotels before it's par for the course! Having said that, it was all delicious including room service. Our favourite restaurant was the Saigon Club, where we ate three times during our stay. Everything there was exceptional from the staff to the food.

The hotel grounds are spread out over a large area, but we managed to get around with no issue. Club cars were available to whisk you down to the beach, if you wished. We spent most of our relaxing time down at the Sundeck, which was an adult only area with steps down into the clear Aegean Sea. A safer swimming area has been roped off for guests at the hotel to use, avoiding the water sports which take place on the other side of the rope. Snacks were available at the Sundeck, but we only ever had bottled water.

The Spa was an oasis of calm. The indoor pool was great and the gym had everything you might need for a stay.

We spent little time in our deluxe room, which was very well appointed with a balcony facing the Aegean Sea. However, the balcony was ideal for an early morning read of a book or a post-sunbathing relax! Linen was crisp, the bathroom was full of everything we might need.

We are already planning a return trip to Turkey, which would have to include a few days at this stunning hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a good balcony overlooking the Aegean Sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

A big thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your experience that extensively. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed and appreciated every single part of your stay! Your appreciation to our Team and overall experience have already been shared with them, which has placed a smile on faces also...

We definitely hope to welcome you once more in our Hotel and in Bodrum in your next trip to Turkey!

Warm regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

There is no doubt that the setting of this establishment is magnificent, nestled on top of a cliff and with wonderful views of the bay. The architecture and aesthetics are also breathtaking, with clean lines, lots of glass and a minimalist finish. One could almost imagine being greeted in the marble lined entrance foyer by Ernst Stavro Blofeld stroking a white cat, and several within our party commented on the James Bond 'villain's lair' style that the hotel evokes. The rooms were well appointed and stylishly furnished, and even our standard room had a lovely sea view and private terrace.

We were visiting as part of a large wedding part of 300 guests, and decided to stay an extra night to recover from the inevitable alcoholic over indulgence of the wedding day itself. We managed to sample food and service for both large parties and also on a smaller scale.
Unfortunately, our over-riding opinion was that the marvellous aesthetics were not matched with a similar standard of service and food quality.

We sampled two of the hotel's restaurants and also a large banquet dinner on the wedding night itself. The two restaurants we tried were hugely over-priced for the quality of food on offer. A beef burger with foie gras and truffle fries cost the equivalent of £25 and was bland. We were dubious about the freshness of the foie gras so decided to take it out, and the truffle fries were tasteless. My wife waited nearly 30 minutes for a pineapple juice to arrive, and had to ask the staff twice to remind them. Our second meal was equally expensive and again we were left underwhelmed. although the service on this occasion was fast and efficient. One has no problem in paying these sorts of prices if it is matched by correspondingly high meal standards, but unfortunately it was not. In contrast, the huge banquet meal for 300 wedding guests was a culinary triumph, especially considering the number of people being catered for. 5 courses of wonderful and varied foods were offered and gratefully enjoyed by our table of 10.

On our second day, a few more gripes became apparent. Because the hotel is built into the side of a cliff, the facilities are spread over several levels and quite a long distance, the number and quality of signage is woefully insufficient. Many in our party got lost on several occasions, and because you are constantly climbing stairs it became a bit of a pain. A simple floor plan on a small piece of card that one can take with you around the hotel would certainly help. Consequently, I would not recommend this hotel for the crippled, as you will spend all day going up and down lifts. Breakfast required more waiting staff - several requests for orange juice went unanswered and this was especially irritating as you couldn't just get up and pour it yourself, as it was only available via the serving staff.

To conclude, it is in many respects a real shame that a hotel blessed with such a wonderful setting and aesthetics is let down by the important small details that are an essential element if a hotel is to be considered 5*. As it is, our over-riding conclusion is one of 'style over substance'. The good news however is that these small details can be dealt with and improved so that they can match the calibre of the setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've always been put off big hotels by the thought of over-crowded beaches, restaurants and public rooms. The Kempinski Hotel on Barbaros Bay is certainly big - 173 rooms and suites - but we've been there twice in 15 months and at no time was any of the beaches, restaurants or public rooms crowded, let alone over-crowded. The hotel extends along the cliff overlooking the magnificent Bay and every aspect of it is so beautifully designed and decorated that its size is welcoming rather than overpowering. There are three beaches: one for Adults Only, one for the Family, one for Watersports; a vast infinity swimming pool with two smaller pools for the kids; seven bars and restaurants including two speciality venues, The Saigon Club for Asian cuisine and La Luce for Italian: in all of them, as in all the other hotel facilities, you are looked after by a young, helpful and efficient staff. We enjoyed the Kempinski so much we never left it. Next time we really must do some sightseeing!

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite for our first visit in June 2012 and were up-graded to a one-bedroom suite...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your picturesque and nice review. We have been delighted to read that your stay was up to your expectations and we would like to thank you for your loyalty.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back again,
Regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wonderful resort, however you get what you pay for. We had booked a deluxe room, which I guess was very small, so for a little more we upgraded to their front suite. There were 3 of these, all incredible beautiful, large balconys overlooking pool & ocean. Great restaurants & beach. Quite a formal hotel, which I liked. Easy to get to Bodrum, where we found lots of great restaurants all located down the end near the yacht club.

Room Tip: Unfortunately you really need to pay top dollar for a good room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to read that your your holidays were up to your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be very much looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time in this hotel and find it very convenient for a good service, beautiful beach/sea, and a spa experience. Just the restaurant prices are respectively high but the quality is still good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Emre U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very glad to read that you have visited us once more and have been content with your overall experience. We would like to let you know that we try to set our prices in line with the prices of 5 star luxury hotels in general, however we will make sure that we review each of them thoroughly once we are working for the new season.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again,
Warm regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaliciftlik
10.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#3 of 19 in Golturkbuku
241 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
2.2 mi away
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden
#1 of 5 in Yaliciftlik
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
922 reviews
13.9 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 97 in Bodrum City
161 reviews
6.4 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay

Address: Kizilagac Koyu Gerenkuyu Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yaliciftlik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 Family Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yaliciftlik
Price Range: $287 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Resort Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay Turkey/Yaliciftlik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing