We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the price but could easily improve”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Turgutreis
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OK for the price but could easily improve”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We travelled as a couple after booking quite late and reserving a select room directly with the hotel

Overall the hotel is OK and reasonable value for money but is looking a bit tired and dated. However bearing in mind the cost of the holiday there is nothing much to worry about. If you want a much better Hotel the one next door the Hotel Blance looked of an excellent standard but much more expensive. Also they have to pay for water sports.

The rooms
All select room have a sea view a reasonable size balcony which you can watch the sunset
Kept very clean and towels (although low quality) were changed regularly. Not many plug points so take a 4 way extension lead.
Beds were comfortable and large enough but the quality of duvet and sixe was a little small – not a problem really. The air conditioning in our room did not work and despite reporting it still did not work. The showers were very cheap in terms of the mixers and so did not work well varying between too hot and too cold.
The wireless connection was very slow and often did not work at all but was free.

Restaurant and food
Nice enough and great views over the sea from the balcony. The balcony tables get used up quickly.
Wine was of a low standard and for some reason no hot milk was available to add to tea or coffee which was a touch strong from the machines.
Breakfast was Ok but always used the fresh eggs station for an omelette or fried eggs as scrambled was not good premade and often cold. No proper sausages or bacon but that’s not unusual abroad anyway
Lunch had plenty of salad and grilled chicken or other choices
Dinner choices were not bad.
They really excel on the desserts though

On the negative it seems the menu is set and not changed. They should make a note of what actually gets used by the guests and not just a set menu as they believe it should be. For instance potato salad got put out just once or twice in the week and was son gone. The same could be said of pasta salad.

However again for the price one could not complain too much.

Pool area and Beach
A wider area of beach than most other hotels in the area so at least you are not packed in.
This was always kept clean and tidy with enough beds for everyone so one did not have to go down the route of putting towels out early in the morning.
The jetty area are much cooler as there is a regular breeze but watch out to wear your flip-flops as a fair number of people got splinters from the wood.

Again I feel the hotel could simply cover the jetty in hard wearing felt to avoid this.

On the plus side you could have more than one beach towel which can be changed daily or more often if you want.

Most surprisingly the motorised water sports were free of charge. Most hotels charge extra for water skiing or ringo rides so this was excellent. You are allowed two goes at waterskiing or wakeboarding each per day which was great. Beach volleyball was organised twice a day which is good for meeting people.

Jet skiing is available next door for 30 euro or 80 TL.

Entertainments
They team worked hard and organised things for different tastes. We personally found them miming to songs a bit boring but most people seemed to attend the shows nightly. We preferred to walk into town which is only 15 minutes to have a coffee or drink. The marina at the far end has some very nice upmarket bars, restaurants and shops.

We did not do any excursions but did use the hotel bus to go into Bodrum one evening. OK it cost 40 euro but if we could have been bothered to get two more people it would only have been 10 euro per person. It was worthwhile to see something different and there is a much wider range of shops and some very nice restaurants.

TIPS
Download a few films before you go for the flight or if there is not much in way of evening entertainment.
Book the Select rooms directly with the hotel. Do not get a ground floor room as looked into by people walking past.
Take an 4 way extension lead or two
Get to dinner early before 7-30 for best choices of food and tables.
Wear flip-flops on the jetty to avoid splinters
Use waterskiing early 9-30 and then again before 12-30. Then go to lunch.
Save space for desserts as they are really good. You have to ask for ice cream with your dessert. Forget the diet you are on holiday.
Visit Bodrum early in the evening for a meal out as a break from the hotel.
Go to the market on Saturday just for the experience and bargain hard.
Get food for the return flight before hand as Bodrum airport is very very pricey. £18 for as pizza and a coke???

Overall
It was telling that they got a 4T rating form Thomsons in 2006, 2007 and 2009 but not since. The hotel seems to lack attention to details in maintenance and quality. It is not of platinum standard and is at best 3- 4 stars.

Everything was OK but not great but for the price paid was reasonable value for money. Free motorised water sports were a big surprise and a big plus.

Room Tip: use the select
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artofeffectiveliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    244
    124
    72
    44
See reviews for
324
322
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After reading other reviews, considered cancelling and booking another hotel. We stayed in a select (sea view) room in early October. After a mix up with our shuttle service, arrived late and tired. The initial view of the hotel is very nice and upscale. Further inside, it lacks a little. Posts covered in what looks like red duct tape; but large hallways with wicker furniture and nice decor, although the plastic poinsetias have to go. Once arrived at our room, I understood the comments on the star rating of the resort. The rooms are not 4 or 5 star. 2.5 to 3 rooms at best. Decor and furniture both dated, the bathroom large but plain, white tiles (some chipped) and not much storage space. The bed and bedding was comfortable. While the room is not a 5 star room, the resort itself is better than a 5 star resport. The sea views from numerous locations are breath-taking. There is a lot of outdoor seating, it never appeared as any seating area was filled, so you could have your pick. There are two wooden jetties (piers) with lounge chairs all along the sides; the beach has lounge chairs, a nice canopy for shade, a few tables and chairs; two pools with seating (one a smaller quiet pool outside the select rooms). The pool slides are actually behind the select rooms and not connected to either of the other pools and a good area for kids to enjoy the resort with a playground, restrooms and kid activities. The resort itself has numerous bars with plentiful seating and those same amazing views. Our first night we went to the bar on top of the select building. It's nice, small, not the reason I'd reserve a select room. The next night we hurried to the bar in the main building assuming all the seats would be filled for sunset. In total there were about 3 tables occupied. Your choice of drinks and a sunset view. Unfortunately we were only there for 3 nights but found the food plentiful and mostly good. We could always find something we enjoyed but not gourmet dining. We did not eat in the main restaurant for dinner, booked two of the dinner restaurants. The restaurant in front of the select rooms right on the water, nice furnishings, o.k. food. The Italian restuarant food was better but the location behind the pool bar was lacking. The main dining room for breakfast lunch, has a large outdoor seating area with the sea views that never disappointed. Walked one day into town, quick 15 minute walk along nice concrete walkway along sea. Town is nice, upscale. Shopping mall and nice outdoor bazaar. With our short time at the resort, unable to enjoy all the amenities but would highly recommend this resort, great staff, not all may speak English but they are friendly and helpful, the outdoor areas were well maintained and cleaned, decent food, comfortable, but dated rooms, plentiful outdoor seating, lots of activites, close to town and the most amazing, breathtaking views that make up for any of the small shortcomings the resort may have.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the select rooms that offer sea views. For us, it was worth the extra charge to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midwest25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

a superb location great sun bathing good staff very good food. I wouldn't say 5 star and a bit manic in main dining room at dinner so in the evenings we ate out (even though it was all inclusive) still felt we had value for money though. great for families i would say.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the second time that we have been to this resort - the first being three years ago. The location is fantastic and we had a good time.

However, although the staff are friendly, the food's good and some changes have been made, like the sunbeds, this resort is starting to look tired and in need of some serious refurbishment. In fairness, we went towards the end of the season, but even the entertainment team seemed tired and ready to go home for the winter.

We did encounter the problem of inconsiderate guests, who seemed intent on shouting goodnight to each other - from opposite ends of the hotel - at about 2:30 in the morning; which is something the resort can do little about. However, receiving a knock from the cleaners asking to clean the room, before we'd even gone down to breakfast became a little tiresome.

Even though we never expect a comparible four star rating when abroad, unless some fundamentals are sorted out in this one, it should be considered a 3*** resort, in Turkey's standards.

Overall, a good holiday. Would we go back there? Not sure... and only if it was refurbed.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to a room with a sea view. Well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wings712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and the wife have just had a weeks stay at this hotel,as with other people I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews, however you can only report what you find and what we found was very,very good.The hotel stands in lovely grounds with two private jetties and its own beach( a bit shingly but not as bad as it sounds). As it was the 1st of October when we arrived there was plenty of sunbeds and spaces to relax, we preferred the smaller jetty as the sea breeze was very welcome. First impression's were very good ,the reception staff were most helpful and had us checked in no time , we chose a select room and it was a good choice as the standard of furniture etc was impressive, the room was big with a large bathroom and big shower cubicle, also a smashing balcony which overlooked the bay. On arrival the air-con didnt work but within a couple of hours the hotel staff had fitted a new motor and we were up and running
The two things that matter to us on holiday are cleanliness, and helpful staff, here we got both in abundance, the staff were forever cleaning and they all had time to chat ,this may have been because it was towards the end of the season but it worked for us. the food was varied and well prepared and presented, I consider myself to be picky eater but I never went hungry, the waiters were very attentive and brought drinks to the table as a matter of course, I am unable to comment on the a la carte as we never got the chance to sample it, but listening to other people around the hotel everybody appeared very impressed.
All in all a really impressive holiday , in a good location (15minute stroll to the main town) with excellent staff, we are loking to go back next year as we would like to visit some of the area around here,(we did manage to visit Kos via the hydrofoil, well worth the price,16 english pounds return each , and also visited Bitez and Gumbet)

Its all down to personal choice but if you want a great value holiday in a lovely location you wont go far wrong ath Agean Dream Resort

Room Tip: If possible book into the select part of the complex, this gives you access to your own bar and opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmt47471015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i got very ill when i was staying at this hotel. the health staff are fantastic and will do anything to make you more comfortable. fantastic pools, dock area over the sea and other facillities.
only a 20 minute walk into the town for shopping etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from a weeks stay at the Aegean Dream. We were worried due to some of the reviews, but need not have. All the staff from reception to maids, waiters etc were very friendly and very helpful. The food was of a good standard for all inclusive and we always found plenty of choice. The a la carte restaurants are worth a go, especially the Turkish and Italian, both were excellent. We stayed in a Select room (702) which was spotlessly clean and towels changed daily. We had a stunning sea view and were in fact about 100 feet from the sea. Our balcony had 2 wooden chairs and a small wooden table, and it was nice to enjoy a nightcap there looking out to sea before going to bed. The one area the hotel could look at is the entertainment, which wasn't that great apart from the Turkish night complete with belly dancer.
We intend to go back again next year and stay for 10 nights. All in all this is a value for money hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Oh and do try the spa, we got a package of 5 massages each for £200.

Room Tip: We didn't see the standard rooms but I would recommend going for a select room, they are worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosmn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#7 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#5 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
11.5 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Property: Sundance Resort
Address: Turgutreis Mah:123 | Bahcelievler Cad. No:123, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey (Formerly Vera Aegean Dream Resort)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sundance Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Resort is located by the beach in Turgutreis, which is one of the most pleasant regions in the Bodrum peninsula. Established in a fascinating atmosphere within an area of 30.000 Square meters, the resort is composed of 2 buildings. Our hotel is located on the seaside in Turgutreis, one of Bodrum's most beautiful regions. The distance to the Bodrum airport is 51 km, Bodrum town center is 20 km and to the Turgutreis town center is 1 km. Sundance Resort has 251 rooms within two buildings. The resort has 4 restaurants and 4 bars offering various local and international cuisines and beverages. The resort has 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, 2 kiddie pools and a water slide located in a park and an entertainment area which offers a facility for children's activities. Sundance Resort provides an excellent service for those who must work on holiday by means of a conference hall, 2 meeting halls and one business center. Water sports activities, 3 tennis courts, 1 mini football field, beach volley area and outdoor gymnastic area meet all needs of those fond of sports while amphitheatre, Mini cinema and billiards table offer various means of entertainment for guests. Also both the outdoor and indoor car parks provide comfort to guests who have traveled by their own cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Dream Hotel Turgutreis
Aegean Dream Resort
Aegean Dream Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing