We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class all inclusive resort”
Review of Xanadu Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xanadu Island
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“High class all inclusive resort”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights end Sept/beginning Oct. On arrival, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Sunset Suite, which was really good. The suite was excellent, large and beautifully decorated with upmarket furniture. The bathroom was equally good, very large and well fitted out, with a great shower. There were two sets of each of the toiletries and the cleanliness of the suite was first class. One of the best we have stayed in. Lovely view over the sea to Kos - the balcony was a good size and it was really nice to have a drink on the balcony watching the sunset.

The food in the restaurant was very varied and of good quality. I can't eat garlic and onions and generally spicy food, but was able to find something I could eat every day. Breakfast choice was excellent. The waiters were helpful and friendly. Sometimes the tables weren't set, but no problem, the waiters kept their eyes on the situation and quickly made up a table. The popular tables are the ones that people want to sit at, which means they get used a lot. Islam and Mustafa were very friendly and helpful waiters.

The all inclusive aspect was superb. Remy Martin, Jack Daniels - all the top brands were available, which is not the case in most all inclusive resorts. The wine was local and very drinkable. We enjoyed the 2 groups that were on whilst we were there, but felt that the 'Golden Oldies' was much too short - people were enjoying the music, but it only lasted 30 minutes! Not sure why.

The only minus was the lack of information re the resort, you had to find out what was happening for yourself. We had a hire car, so were able to go out and about, which was a plus. We tended to go down to the beach, which was not sandy (small stones), but there was a fridge with drinks in that was replenished regularly.

Can not recommend Xanado Island Resort highly enough. We had a brilliant time and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    159
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
226
371
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent two weeks at the end of September and had a brilliant holiday. On arrival we were upgraded to a Romance Suite with a large round bed and separate lounge area and bathroom . The maid service was excellent with toiletries refreshed daily and the suite kept spotless. One downside was the lack of WiFi in the room which was available in public areas including around the pools and bars for a nominal cost of around 80p per day. If you want a hotel that provides constant entertainment then look elsewhere - there was some day time activities and usually evening live music or competitions such as bowling or darts. There is a newsletter available which gives the events and activities over a two week period - copies on the reception desk. The watersports available next to the beach are not well advertised but go and chat with the guys and you may be able to negotiate a price reduction - we got extra time on the jet ski for a nominal cost. The swimming area is large going from the beach area to the wooden platforms - several hundred metres. If you like snorkelling then try around the wooden jetty on the beach and if you feed bread from the resturant you will attract 100s of fish. During the day there are numerous options for relaxing in the sun on the many sunbeds; by one of the pools, on a wooden platforms, on the man made shingle beach or on the grass areas - wherever you chose will not be crowded. If you want to get early morning sun then go to the beach or the main pool and the Archipelago pool for the late afternoon sun and a stunning sunset over the Greek island of Kos. On the beach and by the wooden platforms there are refrigerated drinks cabinets to keep you cool and in the afternoon fruit is brought around by the staff. There are two a la carte restaurants, one an Italian which is worth a visit and is no extra charge and a sea food one which had good food and service but costs €15 extra and was sadly mostly empty. The food in the main restaurant was buffet style with a large range to givevdifferent options over a two week holiday. The BBQ meat, fish and vegetables each day were very good and together with fresh fruit, salad and vegetables meant we weren't tempted to go the the a la carte restaurants more than once. We found the staff to be very courteous and when you get to know them there are some real characters who will do their best to make your stay a great experience. Whilst the hotel is on the edge of a small town / village the nearest place of signicant size is Turgutreis is only 15 minutes away. The hotel runs a shuttle of €10 return but it is easy, cheaper and more fun to get one of the little buses (dormus) that runs from from just outside the hotel complex.

Room Tip: Choose a south west facing room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get late afternoon sun and see the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Room was clean and great bathroom. Food was just right, fair variety. Deck beach (see photo) and main pool were great. Good located and quite silent (no loud music) which we realy appreciate. Lots of fish in the sea that was turcoise colour. Near you can visit Bodrum (40 min drive). Port area of Bodrum is lovely for a walk out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICK034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel staff is nice, helpfull. Rooms are beautifull! We stayed in Sunset Suite. On my birthday I got from hotel customer service a written letter (by hand) wich is rare thease days! Baloons on my bed and cake and sampagne! Realy nice surprise. Nice beach and water. Peacefull. I recommend this hotel for those who search nice and elegant ambience. Food was realy great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandoiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We really enjoyed of our stay in the hotel.The suits was well decorated and stiylish.We really love the bathroom,it was huge.Also love the bedroom,which can be separeted from the livingroom with door.I like 'your pillow choise' options,the bed was also 2mx2m and comfortable The beach area was usefull,not crowded.The sea was amazing,no waves,very clear and clean.The only problem on the beach was rocky beach,with no sand.Because of travelling with our 3 year old son,it was a bad surprise.The beach means sandcastles and playing all day with sand for the 3 year old. So I don't recomend it to family with children loving to play with sand.I like foods.The staff was so so,not bad but not very experianced,but helpfull most of time.İ liked lavazza coffee profesional maker,and also other soft drink options like turkish coffe,milkshakes,fresh orange juice all day.The view from rooms and resaurants was relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haticeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This property, while sitting on a peninsula rather than an island, still offers uninterrupted 360 views of the Island of Kos, the Bodrum bay and an uninhabited island in the Aegean Sea. Sitting on the balcony of a sunset suite, you gaze at the passing sailboats and flying sea gulls separating the wonderfully manicured hotel grounds from the rugged Greek island. It is often windy here, offering a respite from the summery heat. At night, lights twinkle from nearby villages and the moon and stars steal the show.

Owners have a godly urge for cleanliness and tidiness; even the slightest dirt marks are brushed away and colours shine in their own light. Rooms are furnished in azure and pastel colours, carrying that lightness of mood that you feel when staying there. Staff, being unobtrusive, seem shy in nature, as if they are constantly overwhelmed by how beautiful this place is. Families with young and older children, play along the many pools, all smiles and contented.

Xanadu is addictive, its creeks, its smells, the way the light shines and shadows whirling weeping willows.

Room Tip: Sunset suites offer the best sea views...unless you can opt for one of the royal villas :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Choucrallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Xanadu Island must not be confused with the Xanadu Resort which is a part of the same chain of hotels in Turkey. I was informed by one of the Hotel staff that Xanadu Island caters parents with young children and for those wanting a quiet relaxing time whereas Xanadu Resort has more dynamic, with activities for older children and teenagers. So it was that most of our week was spent lying around the pool and beach. Xanadu Island is a peninsula rather than a true island. The hotel is a good hour and fifteen minutes drive from the airport which can be a bit tiring.
Life revolves around the swimming pools and the shingle beach. There are plentiful sun loungers so there is absolutely no need whatsoever to turn up at 6 am to hog these items. Of the two pools; one is attached to a toddler pool which contains a rather impressive pirate ship themed climbing frame and slide. The second pool is on the other side of the peninsula and is a greater favourite for those without young children. For those who want to get away from it all, can use sun loungers dotted along a path that circumscribes the peninsula and from these you can dive into the sea… very nice.
Rooms are decorated in a contemporary style and beds are comfortable though the mattresses rather on the hard side for me. TV reception is not brilliant but I don’t think many people will come to this hotel to watch television.
There is very little in the way of evening entertainment – there is an amphitheatre where there are the occasional shows and some music but nothing very substantial. Things are also pretty quite in the daytime.
The sports bar was a hive of activity in the evenings with ten pin bowling lanes (curiously only two of the 3 lanes ever worked) table tennis, table foot ball and TVs.
Food is bland at best. There is a buffet restaurant where you are likely to have most of your meals. Although the appearance of the cooked food is good, the taste is somewhat a disappointment. The flavour of the main courses is just not intense enough or the baklava not quite nutty or sweet enough or the fruit not quite ripe or sugary enough. The highlight though is the outdoor barbecue which runs every evening. There are two themed restaurants. One Italian one which had reasonable but not spectacular food and the other seafood one which we did not try … and for that matter I never saw it populated with a single “customer” in the whole of the week we were there.
There are several bars where you can have drinks and cocktails and coffee. The curious thing about the coffee is that the machines they use are different from one place to another so if you like your espresso from beans you go to one place whereas the sports bar makes it using a pod in a machine and the main restaurant produces a horrible liquid out of an automatic apparatus.
Water sports are run by an independent outfit on the beach. This is outside of an all inclusive tariff and is chargeable in Euros. You can get the usual banana boat rides, jet skis etc. The prices are reasonable.
Internet access is not free but is not expensive at one Euro a day. Interestingly everything is priced in Euros so this is the currency to bring. If you come on an all inclusive package then you won’t spend much anyway.
My wife did not use the spa treatments because they appeared to be quite expensive. There is a small gym with Life Fitness equipment. There is an indoor pool and Jacuzzi but this is tied into the spa complex. We used the solitary tennis court most days. Racquets are provided but you might want to bring your own. There was a small all weather football pitch which was quite popular with teenage boys.
All the staff are helpful and courteous throughout.
In conclusion, if you want an undemanding holiday for a week where you can just chill out, then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
19.2 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
368 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 23 in Torba
1,789 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island

Property: Xanadu Island
Address: Akyarlar Mahallesi, Akyarlar Burnu Mevkii, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula, amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea. This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous views out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Xanadu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing