We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”
Review of Mio Bianco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mio Bianco Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked this hotel without reading any reviews, and after reading what most people had written we were a bit worried, but being totally honest we were very pleasantly surprised with the whole holiday. The main receptionist who greets you is so friendly and helpful, she is a real asset to the hotel. We found all other members of staff friendly and helpful at all times, I think sometimes the language barrier can be why people come across as rude, but we had no problems with anyone, they would always say hello and wave at you in passing. Most of the staff speak good English, there is also a gentleman who is fluent in English so if you had any problems he is around to help. The room we stayed in was very modern, with a fantastic powerful shower, decent sized flat screen tv with some channels in English (subtitled for Turkey) and good air conditioning which you can control yourself. Downsides to the room were that the beds were a bit hard, and the top blanket you had was the waffley type material you make tea towels out of, and also a bit small! We also found it to be quite noisy at night, we overlooked the road and somewhere played banging music till very late on a couple of nights, but other than that it was all good. The maid service you get is basic, one day we were left with half a loo roll, but we picked some up when we went to the local shop for only a few Lira so no big deal! There are plenty of chances to eat throughout the day, so you don’t have to worry about going hungry! The food was a little repetitive, however there were at least 6 hot options every day and excellent salad choices. My favourite part was the cake selection, there were lots of delicious cakes to choose from every day! I am a really fussy eater so was worried about the food, but I managed to eat well everyday, and even have a choice too. Its only a small hotel, so I think the selection was good based on how many people were eating. Whilst we were there we also took advantage of the Turkish bath they offer in the Spa, which included a full body massage for only £40 per person. The staff in the Spa were really nice, very professional, and it was a really enjoyable 2 hours. Another asset to the hotel is the beach/jetty area. It has a poolside bar, which although a little basic, does provide plenty of soft drinks, water etc. There is a ladder into the sea, which is lovely and clear, and the perfect way to cool down after sunbathing! The jetty area is perfect if you don’t like sand, the foam loungers are really comfy, and whilst we were there they were plentiful. The hotel is in a very quiet area, but if you don’t want to do much then its ideal! The buses go past regularly and its not far to Turgetreis, so as long as you don’t mind a bit of travelling you can get to some shops for souvenirs etc.
Overall we had a lovely break, go with an open mind, I appreciate this kind of holiday isn’t for everyone and if you check it out beforehand you won’t get any surprises!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlingpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    98
    75
    66
    96
See reviews for
259
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicester, england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 11 nights from 24th September and can honestly say that we found nothing to complain about. The rooms were lovely, the reception lady was amazing and so helpful.

The food was perfectly adequate and we are sure that even the fussiest eater will find something to eat! People need to remember that meat prices in Turkey are more expensive than in the uk and one cannot expect to have steak etc. Yes there was a lot of chicken, turkey and meatballs but the chicken was cooked in several ways and was always nice to eat.

The beach club is in a lovely situation and although you can only get soft drinks it was never a major problem.

The hotel is in an isolated place but if you do your homework, or get your travel agent to do it for you, you will be aware of this.

The dolmus stops outside the hotel and goes into Bodrum in about half an hour and into Turgutreis within 20 minutes.

We have stayed in many fully inclusive hotels in Turkey, ok in one of them the food was better, but the rooms were nowhere near as nice. In our opinion you get value for your money in this hotel and we somehow think that a lot of English guests do not appreciate this fact.

Go with an open mind and you should have a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if you really want one. We were overlooking the road but had no complaints about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I are frequent travellers to Turkey over 20 times in 18 years and this place is the worst holiday we have ever had. Everything bad that has been written is true. Where people get good holiday from amazes me - they obviously have no taste buds and as for people saying that the only people complaining are those that expect english food is rubbish - we never eat english especially and normally eat with turkish people in their small restaurants, but this place the food was awful and as bad as many poeple say it is and its true regarding cutlery, self service????????.
The staff, mainly very good until you get near the bar, they are the rude ones , ithey are ignorant and they prefer to ignore you rather than serve you - everything to do with the bar side of things was one of the main problems - ashtrays never emptied - tables never cleaned - pots by the umberellas never emptied.
The rooms are lovely if you are not on the road side, luckily got transferred to one of the suites after bitterly complaining - they are lovely - showsers not as good but otherwise great.
The layout of the hotel we thought was very good and looked great but agree regarding loungers(not enough) - the management need to look at these comments because this is the first one I have ever lodged because everywhere else in Turkey we have stayed has been great (this is first time to Bodrum Penin) usually we go to Fetihye region - but that shouldnt make any diff - this hotel could be very good but it needs new management ones that can kick botty when needed and boy does this place needs its staff kicked - its a pity but def 2star and def not 4 star that they claim .

Room Tip: the pictures you see are not the rooms you will get unless booking suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turgutreis hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

First, The Good. The location of the hotel was great. Short walk into small village centre complete with a selection of restaurants, short Dolmus ride intoTurgetreis with good restuarants and bars and a longer trip into Bodrum. Decent beach and bay.
The rooms were nice, but as other contributors have said spoiled by a lack of decent cleaning.
2 excellent members of staff, the girl on reception and Idris the barman.
The Bad. The hotel was dirty. I can supply photos to anyone who needs them.
The food was appalling and before anyone says "what do you expect", I have been travelling to and around Turkey for 20 years and and never have I been asked to accept the standard of food on offer. It was repetitive, at times undercooked ( bloody chicken), starters in the "Ala Carte" restaurant left out on the table for the cats to feed on and served on cockery that was also dirty. Cutlery was also in short supply. The shortages included, running out of beer, water and on our final day orange squash at breakfast. One excuse given for the food was that in a kitchen that normally had 20 staff, there was only 8 people working.
The management was the worst I have come across in ANY hotel, completely unconcerned with what was happening.
The staff were in the mostly taking their lead from the management and showed a complete disregard for their customers apart from the 2 people already mentioned.
When we went to complain to the hotel customers relations rep we were told to "take a ticket and wait in line, the book is as thick as a telephone directory"
The Ugly. As another contributor has mentioned, the Beach Club staff were in the habit of moving hotel guests from their spots so that non-resident Turkish families could have their spot of choice. I was the person that had the "spot of bother" with them. The beach club staff were physically trying to pull my wifes and daughters beds away to accomodate the Turkish families and it was only by threatening them that they stopped.
I am pleased that some reviewers found the hotel to be fine, everyone has different opinions and I am in no way saying that my opinion is the one that you should listen to. However, it is a honest account of my families experiences whilst at the hotel. So take it has you will.
In my OPINION the hotel rates 1 star and that is for location and weather only.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our first experience of Turkey & having researched Trip Advisor before booking a hotel, we were pleased with the feedback shown for this hotel & having just read the last 2-3 reviews - I would say there are mixed views and it depends on your expectations. This was our first experience of travelling towards the end of a summer season but in my view if the hotel is open it should have the same facilities throughout or inform its guests otherwise.

The hotel was about 40-50 mins drive from Bodrum airport and like many others we arrived in the early hours of Saturday morning having had a 3hr flight delay & mad taxi driver! We did not get a warm welcome or any offer of a drink or food, the male receptionist was miserable but we were quickly booked in and shown to our room on the first floor.

The room was clean to a basic standard but didn't stand close inspection - dead spiders/webs under cupboards. The bathroom was more modern with a great power shower to get you refreshed and good air conditioning to cool you down. The cleaners did not change the sheets more than twice a week from our observations. The room booked was for a balcony which we did get but only described as a 'juliette' balcony - which you could stand on but not fit any chairs to relax out on. The hotel refers to every room having a balcony which it did but size and options did vary. The room had a fridge and safe for use which came in handy.

The pool area was small and compact with around 20-30 beds to cater for all the residents. If you are a sun worshipper, you had to be up early as most beds had been reserved by 8am despite a sign saying no reserving before 9am. The water was freezing but helped cool you down from the heat although for the 2 weeks were we there, I did not see anyone clean or treat the pool.

The hotel has its own beach area with a jetty to get to the sea which is quite cold at first but very safe for swimming - again lots of reserving but we never struggled to get our choice. The staff did however reserve for their own guests often moving other people to accommodate them which did cause some issues. During our stay the availability of beds and options were reduced due to staff clearing away for end of the season.

Unfortunately our experience with the staff were that they were unhelpful and struggled to speak english to help and spent majority of their time walking round with scowls and glued to their mobile phones. One female employer asked us to wait before serving us drinks whilst she made a call on her phone! Again it depends on your expectations but mine would expect better from this level of rating of hotel irrespective of whether you've booked last minute or in advance. I did however have some sympathy given the long hours they worked!

The drink selection was similar to most AI with soft drinks being free & poured from branded bottles which were often left out of the fridge and not always cold unless you added ice. Very limited choice on spirits, just vodka & gin, not even a local white rum. Again a disappointing selection given the rating and my expectation. Towards the end of our second week, and due to the approaching closing season, variety became less and upon leaving all self serve drinks only water and coffee were left.

The food was the most disappointing and I am surprised reading the other views of the differences for the same period of holiday. I am a fussy eater but my husband isn't - on arrival we were told of 3 people suffering from stomach problems due to quality of food. Over our 14 days I fell ill for 1 day following having salad from the restaurant - however we ate out for 6 days for evening meals!

Breakfast was fresh bread - which was very tasty. Selection of jams / spreads which for the first week were left uncovered and constantly hounded by flies - any which fell in were fished out by the waiter! The second week cling film appeared on the bowls. There was one machine to toast with which either incinerated or dropped your bread down the back of the unit. Two trays with boiled eggs - the rest contacted various egg variations or pastries. Outside you had the choice of fried eggs, ready made and stored in a heated container or if you were lucky enough, you could maybe persuade the chef for an omelette but this was not a regular occurance. One day a week there were pancakes which were tasty if warm.

Lunch - the hotel advertised a pool snack bar - this consisted of three heated containers with either chips or potato croquettes / burger in a bun / pide (local Turkish pizza style snack). Inside the restaurant offered mixed salads and various sauces & dips.

Evening Meal - restaurant opened at 19:30 where there were several 'heated' (I say heated as the food was only ever luke-warm) containers with, in my honest view, below average selection and very repetitive, often with what it seemed like lunch left overs re-heated. Chips / Croquettes / Rice / Spiced Pasta were daily offerings with everyday having some form of meatball dish. Chicken and Turkey was often undercooked and fatty & limited servings available. Again as the holiday went on the selections reduced and options previously available weren't due to 'being the end of the season'. Fish was also cooked on one night but these were fiddly and quite bony but did taste nice if you could be bothered to 'fish out' the bones. If you like salads / vegetables and Mediterranean style food then you will like the food - you are in Turkey so home favourites are not likely to be around!

If you are a sweet lover - there is a good selection of cakes / mousse / dessert options with occasionally fresh fruit - the pears were lovely! No ice cream though if this is an expectation if you are taking children.

Entertainment - animation team left on day we arrived so no children's activities but that didn't impact us and the majority of guests were older couples. Again due to end of season the entertainment was winding down and did start quite late between 21:30-22:30 and lasted till 23:00 and sometimes longer - bendy man was fun and local band pretty good. The bar shut at 11pm but often people stayed behind till gone midnight - not the hotels issue but several residents paid no respect to others when returning to their rooms late at night.

The female receptionist was lovely and I'm sorry to be unable to quote her name as she deserves some credit - she did everything for us and helped us out with local places and restaurants.

Our holiday was a 2 week chill break to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary (which the hotel knew but didn't do anything) - all in all - great weather / good friends made but the hotel food & staff let this place down - in my opinion.

Room Tip: Several rooms have own beds and veranda but don't get much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stocky425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We came back on 10th October from a 12 day stay at the Mio Bianco.

We arrived at 9.30pm and the resturant had been kept open for us and we were guided in to get something to eat and drink. Our luggage was then taken to our room. We were lucky to get a ground floor family room with our own sun terrace with sun beds and private access to the pool...lovely.
The room was very tastefully decorated with a great bathroom and living room area but it did need a little TLC to freshen it up and the cleaners do need to clean a little better.

The localtion is out on a limb but there were regular dolumus into Turgetris and Bodrum and it was a short walk to Akylar with a few bars. Most AI hotels are out of town and those complaiing they were bored should remember that it was the end of the season and things do have to wind down. Go in full season if you want all singing and dancing. We travelled with a teenager and although he was a little bored he still had fun...you need to make the most of your holiday!!!

Food was fine, enough to eat, the soups and desserts were lovely every day. Plenty of salad and fresh fruit. Main meals were a little the same but there were lovely aubergine mousakas and chicken in creamy mushroom sauce. We heard all the rumours about food poisioning, i dont know how true they were as they seemed to get more elaborate with each telling...i am sorry if someone was ill but if it was on a big scale as rumours said they would have been shut down. We were all fine and did not meet anyone who had actually been ill.

The staff were lovely and maybe if people didnt treat them like servants they would find that out. Idris on the bar and the young lady on the bar and reception were lovley and so friendly, chatting, making sure we were ok. The rest of the staff smiled and loved our poor attempts to speak turkish. They also joined in the turkish dancing one night after working a 12 hour shift....it was lovely to watch them.

We would recommend the Spa and Turkish bath, very good and a great relaxing start to our holiday.

On the whole the Mio Bianco is a nice hotel, it does need some work to tidy it up in places. The beach area with the decking was lovely and the sea so clear.

I was ashamed to be British with some of the behaviour and I had to walk away from a loud conversation on the beach deck as they were being so racist againt the turkish way of life...so rude, you have choosen to visit their country, at least be respectful of their way of life.

Please dont be put off by the poor reviews as for what you pay this hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coventry1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have just returned on 7th October from a week’s stay at the Mio Bianco and I must say it’s the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This is definitely not 5 star.

As per many of the reviews below, the actual hotel wasn’t bad it was just the rude surly staff and the horrible lukewarm repetitive food (meatballs for every meal). On the last two days food choice was reduced even further to cover only the small central island in the restaurant), not to mention the ala CAT, (cats eating guest starters that had been put on the table before they arrived to eat). Not surprisingly several guests were hospitalised with food poisoning during our stay. There was a lack of cutlery, beach towels and bottled water, entertainment on only 3 of the 7 nights we were there, broken equipment in the gym, the list is endless.

We have no real complaints about the room which was on the 3rd floor on the main road side, which would have had a sea view if it wasn’t for the huge trees outside. The bathroom was modern with an excellent power shower . We had a modern flat screen TV that had several English channels. The bed was a bit on the hard side and we never got a top sheet, just a scratchy blanket that wasn’t big enough to cover both of us. The sheets and towels were changed every day, but I wouldn’t say the room was really cleaned. Since we spend as little time as possible in our room it was just about OK.

The beach bar area was very nice, but only served soft drinks when they hadn’t lost the key to the fridge which happened on at least two occasions. The guest toilets were not cleaned and were disgusting with no loo paper and were covered in dead insects for the whole of our stay.

On our last day, whilst trying to have a relaxing day on the decking area by the sea, workmen were banging and using power tools to dismantle the decking and steps adjacent to us and most of the sun beds and umbrellas were removed from the beach. At the hotel some of the restaurant tables were also removed. Whilst I appreciate that this hotel was closing on the 18th October, surely the time to do this would be when the guest had left not two weeks before when new guest were still arriving.

To sum up don’t waste your hard earned money, go somewhere else, this hotel really is the worst ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.8 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
3.9 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#5 of 54 in Turgutreis
310 reviews
5.4 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 54 in Turgutreis
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
#2 of 13 in Akyarlar
355 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#9 of 54 in Turgutreis
134 reviews
19.0 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mio Bianco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Bianco Resort

Property: Mio Bianco Resort
Address: Akyarlar Koyu Akcabuk Mevki Ataturk Cad. No:141, Turgutreis 48980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mio Bianco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mio Bianco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mio Bianco Hotel Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing