We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Samara
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Torba
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We chose this hotel based on the previous TripAdvisor reviews....and we were NOT disappointed! :-) All reviews regarding this hotel on this site are pretty accurate, even the one entitled 'Horrible' (which apart from the unfortunate incident to the reviewers mother) mentions the lack of space around the pool and seashore. Yes, there was less space around the pool and private beach than I've been used to in previous 4*+ hotels that we've stayed at but it didn't feel like we were crammed in.

The food in the restaurants was vast in it's selection and was delicious. Tables were no closer than you'd expect in a busy restaurant. All of the staff were friendly and professional, without exception (very rare in my experience). The 'Animation team' (in charge of daytime and night-time activities) were superb! Although evening entertainment could have been more substansive (childrens shows for 45 minutes or so from 9pm followed by only 30-45 minutes of entertainment for the adults). It would have been more atmospheric to have music playing in some of the bars around the complex.

I agree with a previous reviewer that the selection of 'all inclusive drinks' was fairly limited, but we didn't choose this hotel for a week of drinking, simply for a week of total relaxation which we certainly had and in considerable comfort.

The hotel is located some way away from bodrum so is very peaceful. It share's a small cove/bay with another hotel, but the Samara enjoys it''s own private beach and quay side. The beach is very gently shelving and suitable for all ages. The water is so clear that swimming goggles/mask are a must to enjoy the thousands of fish swimming around you.

The majority of guests were French, Belgian and German with perhaps only 5% (max) being British, but we liked this. I've been on a number of holidays that have had 'incidents' involving a small number of Brits 'enjoying' far too much all inclusive alcohol.

In summary we had an amzing week here and will definitely be returning :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_A_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    302
    76
    26
    15
See reviews for
348
434
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The Samara Hotel is excellent, the rooms are very nice and clean and there is a maid service daily! The Food is good and theres lots a variety and something for everyone. The hotel is extremely clean as there are people cleaning constantly 24/7. The only let down is the lack of drinks that are included in the all inclusive. All the cocktails are either made with Vodka or Gin and are all ridiculously strong, the wine tastes awful and was practically undrinkable, which meant that i either had to stcik to nonalcoholic cocktails or soft drinks. The staff are extremely attentive and the animation team are excellent! Not just the activities that are put on for children but there is lots for adults to do too, such as games and entertainment on a evening. The swimming pool is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone but if you want a particular spot then you have to get up early to save them. The beach is very clean and the water sports included are good and the motorised water sports which are included in all inclusve are priced very reasonably. This hotel is also in a good position and it only takes about 10 minutes to get to the town of bodrum on a dolmus. Also there is a TV in your room but if your English then there is only 1 channel available, the rest are weither German or Turkish.
Over all me and my partner had a very good holiday, but I would suggest that if you like a wide variety of drinks on your holiday that you should go to a different part of Turkey such as Side where there is a local version of every type of alcohol available!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola_bichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I just returned recently from a trip to Bdorum where we stayed at Hotel Samara. It was by far one of the best vacations we had spent. Hotel Samara exceeded our expectations. Our room was spacious and extremely clean. You could smell the cleanliness as soon as you enter the hotel lobby. Food is to die for, wide variety that definitely pleases all tastes especially the picky ones. It was all inclusive, breakfast lunch and dinner even local drinks. They even offered free desert between lunch and dinner. The pool is big and clean, the beach has the blue flag which is granted by an international committee on a yearly basis to show that the beach is non-polluted. You can take a pedalo for free for the 1st half hour. The entertainers had something new to entertain us with everyday and at night. The hotel is perfect, you dont even need to leave the hotel. We would only go to the city center because shopping for clothes is great in Turkey and relatively cheap. You'd definitely have to bargain though. Location of the hotel is OK, you need to take bus (dolmus) and it takes about 10-15 mins to reach the city center.
I would like to thank the entire staff of hotel Samara for making our holiday a memorable one. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for leisure and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thegonnec france
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

From the moment we checked in we were relaxed as the staff dealt with us speedly and switched from their best french( i booked the holiday from France ) to English . It was plain sailing from there on in . The room was large clean and comfortable. Staying with the roomfor the present we found that every day the room was cleaned through out and clean towels provide every day along with a bottle of wter in the mini bar.
The rest of the hotel was as clean and well kept, with staff who were always available .
The food was fresh and the choice was very good.
The gardens were pristine and all public areas were clean and no empty cups or plates or glasses were left around for more than a minute
The downside of the hotel was perhaps the evening entertainment staff who tried hard and worked hard but it was (maybe) just me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manutdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I came to this hotel with very high hopes after having researched this hotel and read so many great reviews. In the entrance of the hotel, it is all black marble in front of the door. Standing right in front of it, you would never be able to even know there was a step there. Upon our arrival, my mom did not see this step and tripped and went flying onto the black marble flat on her chest. Not A SINGLE employee came to help her nor did the even acknowledge the fact that she was in severe pain. Not a single employee even asked her if she was ok or if she would like some ice.

This hotel is on limited grounds and it seems the hotel is trying to squeeze as many people on the grounds as possible. There's no room to even breathe and at dinner, everyone is on top of each other and there's no room to walk. All the tables are seated right next to each other and it almost impossible to get our of your seat to get food as all of other chairs are preventing you from doing so. The food is mediocre. Nothing is spectacular and for lunch and snacks the next day, they use the leftover food from dinner the previous night. The fruits are soggy and not fresh. We were told that is plenty of seating and the pool and the beach and there is no need to reserve seats. However, everybody reserves their seats by putting their towels down at 6 or 7 am. There is not nearly enough chairs for every guest. In the room, the safety deposit box is not even attached to anything, so there's no point in even having one because it is removable.

The employees here seem to have no knowledge of their own hotel. I had asked where the fitness center was and one employee pointed me in the direction of the game room. Another said they do not have a gym. Not a single employee has any idea when certain bars or pools open or close. Most are very unfriendly and do not want to help you with any questions.

Meanwhile, it is only our second day here and we could not be unhappier. My mom is laying in bed in pain and unable to enjoy herself. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank worldtravelerusa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Everything was perfect in this lovely hotel,we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy-35years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel between 7-14 of July. The hotel is very nice, clean and cozy. The location is amazing and the sea-water was crystal clear you could see and swim along with the fish. The depth of the water is not a problem because the sea entry is a smooth one. The swimming-pool is between 1.35-1.50 m, not crowded, and the water is warm. The hotel is a "green oasis" with many orange, olive, banana trees, palms and the grass is properly maintained. The food - you could die for. Congratulation to the chef! The food was for everyone taste, even for the most demanding. I really was impressed by the food and how tasty it was. This is the last problem you should be worry for.
Most tourists are from Belgium, France, Holland and of course other nationalities. The hotel staff is highly qualified, friendly, willing to help you no matter what. They are able to speak English, French, German, Russian, etc.
The only problem I have had during my stay is represented by the sun-beds. Every day, at 7 o'clock my husband went to occupy two sun-beds but it was difficult to find some available because most of them were already occupied. The mystery is that no one was there at 7 o'clock on the beach!!! I think this is a problem the hotel should take care and solve.
As a conclusion, the hotel is very good, clean, cozy and quite, an amazing location, delicious food, civilized tourists. I really was impressed and I enjoyed my stay. If you want to relax, to lounge, to forget about all your problems, to feel like a king for a period of time, Samara is a very good choice. Thank you Samara for a superb holiday and hope one day soon to come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogoberize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
0.9 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.4 mi away
Janna Bodrum Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#5 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Voyage Torba
Voyage Torba
#1 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Blue Dreams
Club Blue Dreams
#7 of 24 in Torba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara

Property: Hotel Samara
Address: Kaynar Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Torba 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#4 Spa Hotel in Torba
#5 Family Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Samara 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to live out your dream holiday at Hotel Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing