We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent resort on a great peninsula”
Review of Hotel Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Samara
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Torba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Samara for nine days at the end of October prior to returning to Australia. We have travelled previously to Turkey but not the Bodrum Peninsula. The hotel and the rooms are very good and spotlessly kept. As it was the end of the season the restaurant had closed leaving only the buffet. If you could not find something you liked at the buffet then you aren't trying.
The staff were excellent. All were polite and helpful even if some had limited English. The bar men did not stint on the included alcohol.
We used the hotel as a base and travelled to different towns by Dolmus every day. It is a great peninsula and travelling with locals only added flavour. Returning in the afternoon we could still get a late lunch at the bar near the pool.
Most guests were Dutch with some French and English. There were many multi generational families and this was a perfect resort for them. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves with most spending the day on lounges in the sun by the pool. We would return here.

Room Tip: We had a room in the hotel section and it was fine. No real view but we weren't often in the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Samara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent the first eleven nights of a three week holiday here.The hotel caters predominantly for Belgian, Dutch and French guests and, at one stage, we were the only two English people there but that doesn't worry us at all. The food choice, understandably, reflects the customer base but we found the food fine. The staff are generally excellent and our bungalow room was good even though the bed was a little hard for our taste

Only two things were slightly disappointing the first being the lack of dress code for dinner.I don,t think I have seen so many people in shorts and sandals at dinner before and I've certainly never seen so many towels and sunbeds before eight o' clock. I spoke to the manager about this and he is as mystified as I am as he has 700 sunbeds and a maximum of 500 guests.

The interesting town of Bodrum is easily reached by dolmus and is well worth a visit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Samara and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Travelled with three friends to Hotel Samara for a long weekend of sunshine!! We were literally wowed with the setting!!! The pool is enormous and is set right next to the private beach. You can place your sunbed right next to the sea and be ten strides from the pool. Its stunning!!! Food was really delicious every day. Bungalows in beautiful setting amongst the banana trees. 20 mins from airport cost £30. 10mins from Bodrum cost £15. Would have no hesitation in going to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Bungalow 108 and 208 means you are near to pool and sea for nipping back if u need anything during t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HC1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just came back from a week at this hotel where we had a nice time.

We were kindly greeted at our arrival and a porter took our suitcases to our room. It was a clean and spacious room, with a comfortable bed. The bathroom had a big bathtub which was very enjoyable.

The food served at the buffet area was good, always so much choice! Some of the same food was available everyday but they did change some items too so we could try something different at every meal. The "à la carte" restaurant was very nice too, and highly recommended if you get a little burned out on the "cafeteria" feel there is to a buffet restaurant. Plus the view from up there was very nice.

There was also a wide range of drinks to choose from the all-inclusive list. Soft drinks, yummy cocktails, wine - all this pretty much anywhere, anytime! The only negative thing about this hotel (of course, not the only one hotel in Turkey, but still unpleasant), was that the sink water was not drinkable. They do give you a 1.5 liter bottle of water every day, but for 2 people we thought it was not enough, especially if you stay outside in the sun all day long! We're so used to having our Nalgene with us that it took some adjustment :-)

Customer service was good. There are so many people that work there, it's amazing! They all speak English more or less, which was nice. I can't say much about the animation team as we did not see them. Maybe we were never at the right time and place to meet them (?!), but we never saw any activity done with them - except bocce balls around 3pm everyday, which was pretty much just a little "tournament" between French people only! Other than that, we don't know if any activities were offered throughout the day, so can't comment on that.

The music played around the pool area and other areas was really good, congrats to the DJ :-)

Snorkeling at the hotel beach was awesome! We were so glad we brought our snorkeling gear with us. The water was extremely clear and calm and fish & other sea creatures were plentiful, it was great!

Last but definitely not least, the spa was wonderful. We went there on our first day to take a little tour and were greeted by Tolga (spelling? sorry!) who was very friendly and showed us around a bit. Thanks to his very good (but not pushy at all, just perfect!) presentation, we signed up for the Turkish bath + massage package and it was wonderful. Sri and Debi (spelling? sorry again!) did an outstanding job. It was just perfect, and so we ended up signing for the 6-massage package (that you can split between your spouse and yourself). Usually these massages are 40-minute long, but they always exceeded an hour and were wonderful. Sri and Debi were very kind and friendly, always greeting us with a big smile, and truly had magical hands! Starting our day at the spa every day just made our vacation wonderful. We highly recommend the massages, and meeting Tolga & his team will make all the difference as they are such nice people! A big thank you to them again! :-)

Overall, it was a very nice vacation. We don't feel like we discovered Turkey much since we just stayed at the hotel, but Bodrum city was not described to us as very attractive to discover Turkish culture anyway (too many tourists!) and it was not the point of our vacation. Sun, food, massages, snorkeling and being lazy were on our to-do list, and were all achieved successfully!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoSo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I realized that compare to Italy, the degree of cleaning and attention to the customer it' s really high. The hotel is an authentic 5 star resort and everything it ' s perfect. The restaurant is the best place of the hotel , the food is fresh and pefectly cooked and assolutely clean. As an Italian traveller, I am used to good cuisine and I am quite demanding. The SPA and the gym were very clean and well kept. The only area I didn't like was the beach: too crowdy , with all the sunbeds and umbrellas too close to one another. The beach is too small and even if the hotel wasn't completely full, it s not enough for all the customers. However, my holiday was really nice and I thank my traveller agent to advise us this beautiful resort.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank ornitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just about everything at this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff are friendly and helpful , the food excellent given it is an all inclusive package and the drinks plentiful. The hotel is cleaner than a Swiss hotel and the rooms are more than adequate in size. Beach and pool are good and sun beds are always available. Drawbacks - don't try to get to sleep before the entertainment is finished - 10.30 - 11.30 pm- you won't be able to and be aware that the trips on ringos , jet skis etc (not run by hotel) are incredibly expensive .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent 8 fabulous days with my family in Samara (including child- 6 years old and grandparents).
We had a fabulous stay from day 1 to the last day.
The hotel is sparkling clean, no reproach can be made, I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel before: sheets sparkling white, table cloth sparkling white and changed after each client, bathroom very clean, pools- very clean, even alleys near the beach were cleaned of sand every 30 minutes, some employees cleaned the beach from algae all day long and the list can go on and on.
The service is great and all employees are extremely helpful and respectful, there was nothing we asked for than remained unsolved.
Food is diversified and delicious, for everybody 's taste, including vegans.
The vegetation, the whole scenery is great: palm trees, banana trees, pink bougainvillea around the bungallows, lemon trees, pomegranate, etc etc...I'd like to mention that even if it was middle July and thermometer showed 35-37 degrees in the sun, it was very refreshing outside, one could stay at the beach all day long because there are some trees on the beach that cast a refreshing shadow and the breeze is great.
The position of the hotel is very good, just 5-7 minutes walk up the hill from bus station, very easy to get to Bodrum, in only 10 minutes maximum by minibus for only 3 turkish lira (1.5 dollars). The bus leaves you near the main area with shops which leads to the harbor and the castle.
We traveled with Tez Tour operator and bought some excursions from them:
- 2 in 1 trip (castle and mausoleum visit + afternoon cruise and diving) for about 60 dolars each
which we really enjoyed
- transfer to Kos Island for 25 euro each and free time in Kos by ourselves- this was not very inspired because it was very hot in Kos and not so easy to bear the heat with a small child;
- Pamukkale trip which is about 70 dollars per person and was worth every cent, even if we had to get up at 4.30 am to leave reception at 05:00 am, it was well worth it because it seams that there are only two places like this in the world, the other one is in USA.
All in all, we were extremely happy with our vacation.
My parents got room 227 with was just in front of the main pool, looking towards the see and surrounded bu pink bougainvillea - it was heaven...

I absolutely recommend this hotel especially for families with children.

Room Tip: 227- best room view and position, although a little noisy in the afternoon (near the pool) boungall...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirelatoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
0.9 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.5 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Janna Bodrum Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
922 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Voyage Torba
Voyage Torba
#2 of 24 in Torba
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara

Address: Kaynar Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Torba 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#5 Spa Hotel in Torba
#5 Family Hotel in Torba
Price Range: $93 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Samara 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to live out your dream holiday at Hotel Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing