We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viras Hotel - Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just got back from a very enjoyable 1 week stay at Vira's Hotel in Ortakent.
We requested beforehand a newly refurbished room directly with the hotel, which we got on arrival. Our room was at the rear of the complex (Room 258), and of very good quality, Clean, air con included , and safety dep box in room aswell as small fridge with excellent power shower.
One small issue was that our bed was very firm .
The staff were more than helpful throughout the holiday, majority of people staying here were Turkish, breakfast was turkish style with Feta / Meats / Bread / Salad each morning, although you could have omelettes cooked on request.
Discovered after a few days that the Vira's hotel food was one of the better quality and value for money, so ate in hotel restaurant most evenings. The Buffet option for 25 Lira pp was very good value and quality.
The resort of Ortakent is very relaxed and low key, more of a quieter resort than others in bodrum area. There is a Bus Station for "Dolmus" to go to Bodrum.
Beach is shingle would recommend taking beach footwear to be worn whilst swimming, very popular with local Turkish on weekends.Free Sunbeds with hotel plenty of shades if needed. Waiter service all day, Afternoon Turkish Tea & Cakes at 4pm.
Would definately recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing stay, standards are very good.
Could not fault our holiday other than the transfer ( A2b Transfers could not find the location of hotel ) Vicky at hotel said they could have organised transfers directly with them, which we would do next time.

Room Tip: Email hotel direct for any preferences, poolside rooms have smaller balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
47
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
turners beach tasmania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from staying at Viras and the staff are super friendly they speak ecellent english for us lazy Australian and the food was great. We were there in mid May and the weather was fantastic and not to many people, we were in Turkey for 5 weeks, 2 weeks on a Trafalgar tour which was great it helped us get our bearings understand a few tradisions get oriontated with a few phrases and the currency, then 3 weeks on our own at Feytia(is a great place as a base to catch local buses or get one day tours to a great number of sites,Olympus(dont go its crap),Bodrum(good to see dont stay more than 3 days).Then we went to Ortakent or Yasi beach and stayed at Viras at 100tlour room,breakfast and dinner it was great value .We hired a moped and explored the penisular.Neville Dobson Tasmania Australia.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear away from the beach they are newer and less noisy as in peak season t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neville d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely week away staying at this beautiful family run hotel. Everything was perfect about our stay the room was very clean, large walk in shower with maid service daily. They told us that they had made some renovations to the hotel during the winter, including reception, outdoor pool and hotel eating area. Everything was beautifully finished. The food was superb and all the staff made us feel very welcome. We had such an amazing time and even though it was very early on in the season the weather was very warm and i even managed to persuade my wife to have a dip in the pool

We will definately be re-visiting this hotel, maybe even towards the end of the season this year.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel will be quieter especially in the height of the season. Rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,155 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in a first floor room and this meant that the water pressure was not very good as it is a gravity tank fed system and the tank is only about 3 metres above you. The rooms are very spacious but the bathrooms need renovations.
All the public areas are very nice and the restaurant food is excellent.
The "Ënglish" breakfast is outstanding and the staff very friendly and helpful.

By taking a walk on the promenade, it looks as if this hotel is the best on the strip. This hotel is located outside Bodrum and therefore does not have the crowds in the town. This meant that parking was not a problem.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms will have a higher water pressure so if you want water at a higher pressure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I had a fantastic week away staying at Viras hotel in Yashi Ortakent one of the bays of the Bodrum Peninsula. Having stayed in both Turgutreis and Bitez before we knew what to expect of Turkey. But this holiday by far was the best, the hotel was very clean with maid service daily and even though they couldnt speak english they was always very polite and helpful. The hotel is situated on the beachfront what an amazing location! The beach is cleaned every evening and the sunbeds were wiped down daily, the waiters came up and down the beach during the day so we didnt even have to get up if we didnt want to. We ate most of our meals at Viras as the food was amazing with so much to choose from we was spoilt for choice. Every meal was as good as the last. I cant give a negative comment about this hotel everything and everyone was top class. A big thankyou to Mustafa, Victoria and all the staff for giving us such a memorable holiday and we hope to see you all next year.

We also went to Bodrum on market day even though it was very busy and hot it is such a nice place to walk around and grab a few bargains. Turkey is such a lovely place for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new rooms, quiet, roomy and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Vira's Otel and it was great. We stayed in the newer part and the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Mustafa, Victoria and the staff were helpful and very friendly. The location is perfect and going later in the year it was quiet and relaxing - a good week for real R&R. Yes, there are stray dogs and cats but this is Turkey and surprisingly we didn't notice any animal mess! We ate most nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent. We'd definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hippolyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Hotel Viras. Unfortunately, as the owners have commented on a previous review, both my husband & were both very ill with a bug/food poisoning for at least 5 days of our holiday. There was no information given in English & we struggled to find an open chemist for some help. We eventually found a pharmacist who helped us & we were confined to our room until we improved. There are no telephones & no room service is offered.
The staff were very friendly & the meals were very good. I feel that the reception needs to be improved to be friendlier & more informative (its basically an apartment room with a settee).
The shingly beach is very close to the hotel & is very pleasant. There is virtually no tide so the sea is very calm. The usual beach sports are offered further down the resort.
The hotel beach furniture could do with a good clean & the amount of "stray" dogs roaming around should be reduced. We often saw them weeing & defacating right next to where children were playing on the beach. These flea ridden dogs also sat next to you whilst you were eating your evening meal at night on the beach. This wasn't very nice.
The rooms are very pleasant & basic with lots of sockets (although the bathrooms are tiny). The cleaning staff came daily & were very helpful.
We couldn't sit outside our ground floor apartment due to the smell of a cesspit. I believe this was not on hotel property so they cannot be blamed. However we couldn't leave the doors open as it was a very strong, awful smell.
I recomend that you use the Dolmus & go to Bodrum. The castle is an absolute treat & the museum in it is well worth the money. The shops, market & restaurant are also very good. A walk around the harbour is a must for all.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday but would not return to this resort or hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeMcFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viras, Owner at Viras Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thankyou for your comment but i would like to mention that during the weeks that you stayed there was a bug going around which lasted 4/5 days seeming to go around from customer to customer with about 15 customers affected. Other hotels were having similar problems during that week and it seems it was due to the local water supply. We have had all our water supplys analised and have come back clear. Since that week we havent had any further problems. As for room service and local information i was in the office full-time during July/August and you could of come to me or asked any member of staff at any time during your stay and we could of organised room service for you. Unfortunately as we was so busy during the high season i didnt have time to spend out the front. This is something i am looking to change for the future.

I have talked to local authorities on a number of occasions about the stray dogs situation half the time i wonder if they really take notice but i am afraid this is out of our control. Our beach is cleaned every evening and sunbeds wiped down every morning. As for the smell which was coming from the next door hotel this has also been sorted out after a meeting with the owners and local counsil authorities. Some problems are out of our control but we try our best to give our customers 100% satisfaction. Its just a shame this has put you off coming back to us or the resort again as 98% of our customers return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 29 in Ortakent
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ortakent
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medisun Hotel
Medisun Hotel
#25 of 29 in Ortakent
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ortakent
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 29 in Ortakent
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eris Hotel
Eris Hotel
#21 of 29 in Ortakent
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viras Hotel - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viras Hotel - Restaurant

Property: Viras Hotel - Restaurant
Address: Ortakent Yahsi YalIsI No 72 | Bıtırak Sok, Yalı Cad, Ortakent Bodrum, Ortakent 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viras Hotel - Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viras Hotel is situated on the lovely beachfront of Ortakent Yahşi one of the 10 bays of the Bodrum Peninsula. Well known for its Blue Flag beach this unspoilt bay is ideal for families and couples alike that wish to get away from the hustle and bustle and truly relax. Viras Hotel consists of 80 rooms including family rooms. All rooms have en-suite, air-condition, mini-bar, TV, safe deposit box, hair dryer, mosquito nets and wi-fi access. Viras also has a large swimming pool with seperate childrens pool. We also have our own beach with sun-loungers, cushions, umbrellas, waiter service and well known a'la carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Viras Hotel - Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing