We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Family Business in a quiet location”
Review of Yilmaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yilmaz Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Ortakent
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel in Family Business in a quiet location”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I spent my week there in 2008 and enjoyed my stay there. The room I stayed was comfortable enough, it also had air conditioning, in front there was also a swimming pool and few steps from the sea.

I liked the food very much, not quantity quality and i you like to taste Turkish cuisine its perfect, you certainly will find something youll like.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff, were very friendly especially the hotel manager Yasemin which were around all day always eager to help you if you needed something. She speaks good English, and will provide you with all necessary information for getting there. She also took me with other people to downtown Bodrum to show me the nightlife and bars. I liked her very much and it was nice to talk to her

If you want a relaxed time in a quiet location, valuing peace and silence and do not need the wasteful useless luxury then you are at the right place. Its not far away from the little town center Ortakent and other beach places. Bodrum is also not far away with short drving distance

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank h2oplanetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

stayed at Yilmaz hotel just 2 weeks ago for a short weekend and was very impressed. firstly, its close to everything, you walk 100metres and your where all the bars, restaurants and cafes are. it has its own beach with sunbeds and cushions etc. the staff are very friendly and the food is good. the room sare very clean with air con, the pool area is clean and has a lovely view. i would definately recommend it and would go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This was my first visit to Turkey and I could not have chosen a better location than Ortakent, nearby to Yashi. I found this small Hotel on Tripadvisor and felt the reviews were very positive. We arrived late in the afternoon and were duly greeted by Yasemin who gave us a very warm welcome.

A small Hotel that was spotlessly clean, pleasant staff and everyone was most helpful at all times. Yasemin daily baked a fresh cake and Mustafor the waiter each day would come to the beach or pool and ask if guest would like tea and cake? A nice personal touch I felt. All the staff have very good manners and their emphasis was for your holiday to be a memorable one.

I loved the hammock by the beach, there were also lots of comfortable outdoor sofas/cushions and garden furniture perfect for that quiet nap or good read of a book. The pool is a good size and very clean, (not suitable for the very young children due to depth,) however families used the very calm sea to bathe with their children, which has a small beach area. If you are looking for water sports within 3 minutes you will come across wind surfing, canoeing and other activities. Plus local transport are the Dolmus buses are quite safe and will stop and pick you up and drop you off wherever you wish to stop or get on.

Ortakent/Yashi is a small village and within 10 minutes of leaving the Yilmaz Hotel you would reach the various restaurants and bars. One restaurant I would highly recommend is Viras, super food and reasonably priced. We had 3 meals there and enjoyed every local dish we had. I particularly liked the spiced chicken, served on a bed of grated potato with mint yoghurt - delicious. Another restaurant to try is Jimmy's if you are looking for a selection of steaks.

The only small niggle I had was that the pillows were really uncomfortable, (and did mention it to Yasemin), so in time she may change them! Beds very comfortable, bright rooms that were furnished nicely.

I was very impressed with Turkey and plan to come back again next June.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jampes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Just returned from The Wonderful Yilmaz - a fantastic Location right on the beach with the added bonus of a swimming pool. The rooms are basic but extremly clean and comfortable and Yasmin and her staff cannot do enough to please and are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant serves Turkish cuisine to a very high standard. Air con is included in the price which is bonus. Comfy cushions, hammocks etc on sunbeds and on the beach. Tea and cakes served at 5.00 - A real little gem. The perfect getaway for a complete chillout. We shall return without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeshartDagenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had six fantastic holidays days two weeks ago in Yilmaz hotel. Rooms are pretty good; light, comfy beds, air conditioned (at no extra charge), private bathroom included, just in front of a great and clean swimming pool and few steps from the beach. Food is very good, especially if you like to taste Turkish cuisine. The hotel is a short walking distance from the centre of Ortakent, but far enough to avoid the late night noise and crowds of pubs and discos. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, which is very friendly and helpful during all day; they are always eager to help you if you need it and they do that with a genuine smile. The manager speaks fluent English, and will provide you with all necessary information for getting there. I strongly recommend this hotel to people looking for a relaxing time, family with small children, and all those who value peace, silence, and a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregdechile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maida Vale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

If you want to avoid the Summer madness of Bodrum - try this place about 30 minutes along the South coast beyond Ortakent.
The rooms overlooking the pool have a great view and you soon become part of Yasmin's extended family running the hotel.
You will have the beach to yourself during most of the day, most people disappear between 11 and 4pm.There is a hotel canoe and plenty of free sun beds. Treat of the day on the beach - the hotel staff bring out a cup of tea with a slice of freshly made cake.
Breakfast is black tea and boiled eggs and during the day a group of women spend hours preparing fresh vegetables and beans for a lunchtime vegetarian stew - they also do a fine fish and chips you can eat on the beach front.
Turn right along the front and you have a choice of seafood restaurants with chairs on the beach or you can stretch out on carpeted floors eating pancakes. Turn left along the beach and you end up at a small hill with a disused turkish bath - a good early morning walk with views over the bay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddingtonPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVE U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed at the Yilmaz for two weeks and Yasemine the owner/manager made us feel very welcome and took care of our every need. The rooms are clean and spacious and had lovely views over the pool to the sea. The restaurant served an excellent Turkish breakfast, and the lunch and evening food was traditional grilled meat and fish dishes - delicious and really cheap!

The staff are all really friendly and remembered us from the year before. Mr Yilmaz is often to be found playing backgammon with his friends in the afternoon shade or watering the plants in the garden.

The place has a lovely tranquil atmosphere, and we would happily recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful chilled holiday by the beach.

See you next year Yasemine!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank GETSID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 30 in Ortakent
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meltem Beach Hotel
Meltem Beach Hotel
#13 of 30 in Ortakent
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel
#15 of 30 in Ortakent
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eris Hotel
Eris Hotel
#14 of 30 in Ortakent
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#5 of 30 in Ortakent
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#9 of 30 in Ortakent
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yilmaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yilmaz Hotel

Property: Yilmaz Hotel
Address: Ortakent Yalisi, Ortakent 48420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yilmaz Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Yilmaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yilmaz Hotel Ortakent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing