We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy holidays ! this hotel is 2 star at the most”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonstar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortakent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonstar Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy holidays ! this hotel is 2 star at the most”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Good-
The hotel has a nice size pool with lots of sun beds surrounding it, whatever time of day we never had a problem finding a bed. The drinks are ok, usual soft drinks you get anywhere with local beer and a choice of 4 spirits, not great but adequate. We were in rooms 600's which are ground floor overlooking the pool and outside dining area. Balcony was large and both beds had brand new matresses which was a relief after reading a review about mouldy ones ! Seemed to have relatively new furniture in there too. Only 2 plug sockets in the whole room so make sure everythng is charged before you go if you use things alot.
The Bad-
Apart from the manager who i only spoke to once the staff are rude, they speak very little or no english and take your plates away whilst you are still chewing. We asked for towels one day as they took them away for cleaning but didnt leave us any, a lady brought some said nothing to me, shoved them at me and slammed the door on me, you cant tell who actually works there as they do not wear any kind of uniform or badge.
The food is not good, breakfast is salad,melon,cheese slices and dry bread, they dont even have a toaster, if your going with the hope of a full english, think again.
Lunch and dinner were always the same, nothing at all is labelled, always plain rice and either chips or wedges, plenty of salad but everything is covered in finely cut green herbs which taste a little like perfume, all pasta is served in ketchup not a tomato pasta sauce ! Flies were everywhere, nothing is covered.
The cleanliness of the rooms is an issue, they just do not have the same standards as we do, i bought flash wipes in the aiport and had to clean the bathroom let alone use it.
The Ugly-
Dogs and cats were everywhere on the hotel grounds, 4 cats and 5 dogs as a minimum, they just wander everywhere and drink from the pool !
Im all up for repsecting religion but the mosque is 30 seconds walk away and every 4 hours they play a praying chant over the tannoy for about 5 minutes, its very loud and starts at 5am every morning, there is no way you would not hear it going off.

All in all we will not be going back,it has put me right off Turkey, the food was awful so we ate out most meals which defeats the all inclusive purpose, Low Cost holidays really need to reassess this as anything more than 2 star , feel more let down by them then the actual hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 600 block have definately had a little money spent on them recently and have good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    26
    32
    93
See reviews for
47
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at moonstar between 23/09/2013 and 03/10/2013, had a great time only payed 25 pound a night for both of us, which included food accomidation an unlimited drinks, great holiday great location, very peaceful.

Room was cleaned every night, staff were quick to sort out my tv which had a fault, other guests were really nice as well

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abdul Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I read the previous reviews and reallywas not looking forward to going on holiday but I went there with an open mind. Its certainly not a 4 star hotel which was how it is advertised, you are lucky if it is a 2 star. It's in the middle of nowhere, but, I have say, that you have bars and restaurants along the "beach" which is rocky and has pebbles, not much sand! The room was small and the cleaning was not roo bad, few issues with towels and on one day we did not have the room cleaned. There was mould in the corner of the shower and it is small. The general appearance of the place is very poor - shelves hanging on with plastic bags etc decore very dated and worn out, but the air con worked!! The staff were okay, alittle dower, but they dont speak much English so its difficult to communicate, they try to be helpful. You get woken up every morning with "call to Prayer" which was a plain - temple is right by hotel! The "all inclusive" is again poor! you can only have Breakfast at set times - not much choice unless you like salad and rubber eggs, bread was nice but sometimes the pack butter taste of garlic! No fruit juice until after breakfast! god knows why. You can have drinks all day, strong coffee, turkish tea or alcohol until 10.30pm. Lunch is 12.30 - 2.30 chicken rice and salad oh and melon, lots of melon! dinner 7.30 - 9.30 was chicken, rice, chips somethings, salad and melon. SOOOO BOOOORRRRIIIINNNNGG!! and the chef had the cheek to stand there with all his whites on looking on with pride! really! The waiters work hard and will clean you table quickly - sometime taking your unfinished - while you are eating plates away! Now the pool and surrounding areas were unkept and untidy. There are lots of wild dogs and cats - and people keep feeding them, at their tables while you are eating, really!!!! Why? im a dog lover, but I dont want dirty, ill looking dogs sitting by my feet waiting for food also people where picking up the "wild" cats and petting them - several people where scratched! if it had been me I would have run to nearest hospital, It put me off my food, also people chain smoking while you are eating in the food area - not good. Now the Pool! They pour lots of white power stuff into the pool everyday, which was scary! The music by the pool - now most of the people that were there, when we were there, were quite mature in fact I called in crinkley bottom! The "DJ's" played Crap, or sorry Rap music most of the time, very, very, very loud! several people complained, not only about the music, but about how loud it was - it would have been more appropriate for an 18-30 holiday, if you want to have a quiet day by the pool forget it! The bus route is good to Bodrum, which has fabulous shops and market. Food places were good along see front. Gumbet is not easy to get to, but has good night life! Enjoy you holiday - we did but we made the best of a bad job! My partner and I have lots of holidays - this was not the worse but it was pretty bad - but the sun was shining, it was hot - great shopping and it was cheap, what more can you ask for! Well for the travel agents to visit these places before they give it inappropriate star ratings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are small but clean, food is nice always something to
Pick! Soft drinks are nice and there is quite a few shorts to
Pick from
and larger is nice. Yes there are
Cats and dogs but they dont bother you. They are friendly.staff are really nice, the beach is lovely and clean. The resturant on the beach GUZEL is really nice! food
Is lovely and staff are really friendly really enjoyed our stay, dont listen to
All the bad comments!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarashahpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Moonstar often called (Monster) hotel needs a bit of renovation. It looks good on the outside and has a decent sized pool but there is so much lacking in the hotel and its service.

The rooms are pretty dated, but clean. We had booked a double but were given a twin room where the beds had been pushed together so during the night the gap would get bigger and bigger. We asked for another room but none were available even though we had made the reservation 2 months prior.

The hotel was fully booked so that meant that there wasn't enough space for everyone to get a table at meal times. There were no where near enough tables available and often people were sitting on the loungers by the pool waiting for people to finish their dinner before being able to get a seat. The could bring out more tables for meal times to cater for this. Not good organisation at all. Also they would run out of plates which would mean that not only were guests having to queue up to get to the buffet but they would then have to wait once getting to the front – for clean plates to arrive.

It was a similar situation for the sun beds. There were no where near enough for all guests. And to make matters worse. If you weren't up by 6am to put a towel on a sun bed you can forget about getting a sun bed that day. People would put there towels on the beds so early and after breakfast the beds would still have no one on them. They would make an appearance in the afternoon to claim their sun beds. The hotel staff seemed to not be able to do anything about this. The beach was the same. There were only about 30 sun beds available and they were also taken from very early in the morning. So we ended up going to other restaurants for sunbeds. It didn't make that much difference to us as the hotel’s “private beach” is actually owned by an outside restaurant. You weren't allowed to take drinks from the hotel to the beach because you had to buy your drinks from the restaurant on the beach. The website is a little deceiving making you think the hotel owned area is on the beach when it isn't. The beach is a short 3 minutes walk away from the hotel. They are completely separate.

So its just the same as going to another beach where you have to pay for your food and drinks. The others doesn't charge for sun beds either, you just pay for your food and drinks.

The good thing about this place is that the Animation Team really try to make every evening a fun night for everyone. They are a couple of young guys trying to arrange something for the guests every night from a belly dancer, bingo and dancing to darts competitions, pool games and club trips. They try their best with the facilities available to them. The waiters at the restaurant were also polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloatingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived at 1.30 am to be told no rooms 6 of us all adults, had to carry cases along the road to a hovel of a hostel, told to come back in morning for room, was 4pm when we got our rooms, filthy , mattress' s were stained and full of mildew, shower room terrible, leaking ceiling constantley dripping, toilet was black filth, shower cubicle dirty full of black mould, complained to the owner who said we would have to wait another 4 days for a room change, bought bleach, ciff, scourers to clean our rooms, food area which was near the toilets stunk of human waste, we couldnt even use them, food was terrible same thing day in day out, flies on the food, we all had the runs, had to eat out all the time, the bar shut at 10.30pm it ran out of vodka three nights, only gin or raki , wine or beer, thats fully inclusive! New rooms no cleaner than the last, staff rude, not helpfull, one thought it funny when he put us on a wrong bus, woken up at 6am with the prayers loud speaker blaring out at the back of hotel, cats drink from the pool, people falling over on the tiles around the pool, dining chairs were broken and people fell off of these, the beach is man made sand is like cement dust, not on the doorstep as stated, could never get a sun bed not enough for 200 people, parasoles were either broken or none existent. The rep who done the tours for the hotel ran off with the money he collected, stray dogs and cats everywhere tis pitiful, if you want to loose weight and are a tetotal and not that clean then go for this Monster hotel as it is called out there, total waste of hard earned money.

Room Tip: Paid extra £39 for a balcony , all rooms have balconies
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ortakent hotels

1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at this awful
Hotel the food was garbage we spent all our money eating out. How can they call it 4star more like 0 star. All they could offer to drink was wine vodka and lager god help you if you drink whisky. Also please don't go if you are an animal lover as myself and several other people watched a head waiter spitefully kick a 12 week old kitten with such force I thought it would die. The music is loud and over powering so to read by the pool impossible. The room some next to an overflowing sewer. A complete waste of money DO NOT GO

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Isis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 mi away
smartline Petunya Beach
smartline Petunya Beach
#3 of 29 in Ortakent
1,276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 29 in Ortakent
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ortakent
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sofabed Hotel
Sofabed Hotel
#5 of 18 in Ortakent
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ortakent
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kefi Beach & Suites
Kefi Beach & Suites
#6 of 18 in Ortakent
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstar Hotel

Property: Moonstar Hotel
Address: Deniz Cad. No:60, Ortakent 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE CONSEPTA FEW INFORMATİON İS PROVIDED ABOUT ALL INCLUSIVE CONCEPTS TO OUR VALUED GUESTS. C/IN TİME : 14:00C/OUT TİME : 12:00 AN EXTRA DAY WİLL BE CHARGED FOR THE LATE CHECK OUTS FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE REFER TO THE RECEPTİON DESK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing