We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarisk Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Muskebi(Ortakent)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yilmaz Hotel(Ortakent)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Yakamoz Otel(Ortakent)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
76
25
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
25
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 104 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We booked in to the Tamarisk Murat Otel based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews and had one of the best holidays ever. This is the first year that the owners, Sevilay and Faik Muslu, are going alone from tour companies (previously Crystal Active and Simply Turkey) and will certainly be a success. Nothing was to much trouble for the owners - our 17 year old son's flight was delayed into the small hours and Faik got out of bed at 04h00 to drive me to Bodrum-Milas airport 30 minutes away to pick him up, well beyond the call of duty. The rooms are tidy and cleaned daily. The gardens are beautiful, the hotel has wi-fi. the pool area is great, lying under the Tamarisk tress on the beach a delightful alternative, the service attentive, the food delicious and dinner on the beach every night as the sun goes down added to the experience. There are enough windsurfers, Picos and Lasers with a couple of Darts for sailing which is likely to increase and the watersposrts are run efficienlty by David and Sean, for whom nothing is too much trouble (www.onboardbodrum.com). This hotel is a real jewel on Yahsi Beach and, rather selfishly, we hope that it stays that way so we can return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My wife and I returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Tamarisk Murat Hotel in the middle of June 2009. This was our first experience of Turkey and we were not disappointed. Although the hotel was particularly quiet (it was the beginning of their season) we had exactly what we were looking for, a relaxing break in a very well managed family hotel where nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is arranged around a long well tended garden with plenty of shade from palms and pine trees. The rooms and suites are divided into small 2 story blocks freshly painted white and blue, each with its own private terrace or balcony.. Our suite was spotlessly clean, air-conditioned, simply furnished, had its own fridge and, although the bed was on the hard side (we understand this is the Turkish style), wanted for nothing.

The well proportioned swimming pool was always clean while the sea is only a few metres further on through the tamarisk trees.

The beach, although quite narrow and more grit than sand, is attractive and partially shaded by tamarisk trees but probably a little crowded when the hotel is full. Entering the sea is now a less painful exercise as most of the rocks below the waterline have been removed. Dave and Sean manage the watersports on the beach for the hotel; they both give exactly the right amount of friendly encouragement and also have plenty of local knowledge that they are more than willing to share with you.

The food was unfailingly good and its presentation by the waiting staff always polite and cheerful.

Mr & Mrs Murat are running a delightful beach hotel that offers good friendly service in pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloren25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We have recently returned from a week at the Tamarisk Murat Hotel (www.tamariskmurathotel.com) which was recommended by a friend who had stayed when it was run by Simply Travel as the Tamarisk Beach Hotel (it was then briefly with Crystal Active). We had not been to Turkey before so didn't really know what to expect. We were delighted with what we found. It is probably the prettiest hotel I have ever stayed in with whitewashed walls and blue painted shutters covered with bourgenvillia, hibiscus and other colourful and scented flowers.
The rooms were basic and small but spotlessly clean and bright. The beds were a little hard, but we slept well. The pool is fantastic - a good size and again spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds and a separate children's area.
The staff were all wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and there was an real sense of one big happy family.
There is a watersport centre (www.onboardbodrum.com) on the beach where you can rent canoes, waterski, wakeboard, sail or windsurf. If needed Dave & Sean are on hand for one to one tuition which they make great fun. We had a go at sailing and kept promising to take a canoe across to the island, but in the end didn't manage to drag ourselves away from the sunbeds!
The beach is small with dark sand, but the sea is safe and easy to swim in and laying on the beach was cooler than by the pool thanks to the shade from the Tamarisk trees and a gentle sea breeze.
We took a bus into Bodrum which is easy and cheap and the 'Aqua cab' to Bitez - both places are much more lively with lots of shops and bars. It was lovely to return to the Oasis of calm that is the Tamarisk. It is a lovely place and we hope to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Just returned from a fantastic week away at the Tamarisk. I booked it independantly after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and was not dissapointed.

The Tamerisk was previously owned by Simply Turkey so I knew it would be a good location and traditional, which is what we were looking for. Later owned by Crystal Active which provided the perfect combination of a beautiful, unspoilt and authentic hotel with excellent watersport facilities, for those who can prise themselves from the gorgeous pool.

There's a fantastic range of sailing dinghies, canoes, windsurfs, waterskis and wakeboards etc and the equipment is relatively new and well maintained, which you don't often find in other resorts. The watersport centre is ran by an English guy David - www.onboardbodrum.com/onboardBodrum. For keen sailors and windsurfers the bay is open enough to get a great breeze up, normally in the afternoon.

We went half board and the food at the hotel was excellent and they are more than happy to make you anything you wish for, if you don't find it on the menu. You can choose to eat in the open air restaurant or on the beach, both beautiful settings. Once a week there's a BBQ on the beach with all the guests and owners.

I went with my 18 month old who was well catered for with cots, highchairs and lovely food and adored and entertained by all the staff. There is also a fantastic creche which opens when the demand is high enough.

All The staff, from the owners Faik and Sevilay to the cleaners were professional, courteous and overwhelmingly friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. I did get slightly worried when my son started calling the owner "Mama," but that's another story..

Ortakent is a quiet village but you have Bitez, Gumbet and Bodrum on your doorstep should you wish to venture out for a bit of nightlife or shopping.

I have been going to Turkey for 17 years and have found it increasingly difficult to find somewhere which still retains it's authentic charm, I am pleased to have my faith restored.

If you are looking to book the hotel is now called Tamarisk Murat hotel - www.tamariskmurathotel.com.

If you manage to go, I'm sure you will have a lovely time, we hope to return soon.

Thea from Surrey

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Last year I stayed at the tamarisk beach hotel on a Crystal active holiday....It was one of the best holidays that I have ever been on... mixing beautiful surrounding, chilled atmosphere, and adrenalin fueled holiday!....
I was very dissapointed to find out that Crystal will not be running this year so after a little research found that the hotel is up and running as usual with a different watersports company with some of the ex-Crystal staff doing the watersports!...
The web site is not quite finished yet but check it out www.onboardbodrum.com...or [-]...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph_r17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews