We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and very friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortakent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarisk Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small and very friendly”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you want to get away from it all. We arrived 1st October '12. Our room was lovely, first floor with separate living area (which was extra sleeping area for families). Many of the local restaurants were winding down so we paid the £6 per head per day for evening meal, well worth it. Buffet starter and deserts with main course chosen from an extensive menu. I counted 30 choices so no need to get bored. Staff very friendly and good service. The pool and beach were very relaxing, the only negative would be the quality of the sand which was gritty. Man of the guests had stayed before and the ones that had not said they would come again. All in all, small, basic but a little gem.

The bus stop into Bodrum is a short walk away. But the drivers go out of their way, literally to help you. On the way to the stop one day a bus pulled over asked us where we were going. He told us to get on, then made a phone call. 5mins later we came across the bus we needed parked waiting for us to catch it up. We transferred and did not have to pay the first driver! Can you imagine that happening in England.

Visit Bodrum, the castle and museum are worth it. I think you'll be glad you are staying somewhere quieter though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

as soon as we arrived at tamarisk, we were greeted and made to feel very welcome. the sailing really made my holiday! everything was so clean and everyone was so happy! the food was also delicious. thank you tamarisk for making my summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Tamarisk Beach Hotel is simply perfect.

Nowhere better for a family holiday in the world.

Yes, its not a 5 star hotel, but the location, people and atmosphere more than make up for that.

Food is excellent and fresh daily from the local market.

Watersports facilities are top notch with excellent tuition from really experienced staff.

Now on my 11th year. Its where I learnt to sail, windsurf, waterski and have met so many friends over the years. Can see myself returning for a long time to come. Proud to be a 'Tamarisk child'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Obreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Came with a friend in June 2012 for a relaxing holiday and it was exactly that. The hotel itself is lovely, absolutely spotless with a beautiful garden and pool area. The staff couldn't be more friendly pleasant and helpful. I hope this doesn't come across the wrong way but the men working in the hotel are not like the Turkish men you meet on the street...they are lovely and absolutely respectful of women, which I have not found to be the case in other Turkish hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, fruit, bread, teas and eggs cooked to your liking, more than adequate. We only stayed for dinner one night as there is such a great selection in Bitez that we went there most nights, it's less than a five min taxi journey so is very cheap. Ortakent and Bitez are great for kayaking and wind surfing but the beaches aren't sandy so aren't really suitable for nice long walks or runs. The staff helping with the watersports in the Tamarisk are pretty unmotivated but are very knowledgeable about sailing and wind surfing if you persevere! The hotel organised yoga classes and massages for us, the practitioners for both were beyond excellent. They also organised a day diving which wasn't the most spectacular diving ever but the company were good. All the rooms seemed lovely, they have a little patio area outside and are surrounded by wonderful flowers. There is a fridge in the room and the air con and wifi worked perfectly. Overall I would recommend the Tamarisk once you're sure the area of Ortakent is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely family run hotel right on the beach. Ideal for water activities based holiday. Very quiet location. Lovely food at dinner and plenty snack options at lunch. Nowhere really to walk to close by but the local bus stops nearby taking around 20 minutes to Bodrum. Rooms basic but adequate. Great friendly staff. If you're looking for a clubbing holiday then don't come here unless you come with Spice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great friendly hotel for a week of chilling. The staff are hepful and friendly. Half board option is great with a selection of starters( mezze) and a choice off the menu for mains. The snack bar is open for lunch - yummy home made pizzas. Good selection of watersports-kayak down the coast or over to the island.
A little isolated but you can walk along the sea edge during the day to the main seaside bit of Ortakent. Easy to get a dolmus into Bodrum or a short taxi ride to Bitez for more shops restaurants.
Thanks for giving our group (Spice) a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We first came here in 2000, and again in 2002. This year we just wanted a week to chill-out somewhere and thought again of the Tamarisk. It was every bit as good as we remembered. We booked directly with the hotel, with seperate flights and car hire.

There are plenty of descriptions of the food and facilities already in the reviews. We would simply endorse the glowing reports. The combination of good food, large pool, beach and sailing facilities makes the Tamarisk an ideal spot for a relaxing holiday. The family and staff are all so friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable; fairly simple but this isn't a five star luxury hotel. The division of rooms into houses down a central walkway with lush planting is all part of the charm.

We are surprised at the one "poor" review. OK, maybe the burgers at the lunchtime snack bar aren't particularly great but everything else is! Oh, and we like the Turkish omlette - it just isn't like an English one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 mi away
Meltem Beach Hotel
Meltem Beach Hotel
#17 of 31 in Ortakent
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#4 of 31 in Ortakent
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 31 in Ortakent
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel
#21 of 31 in Ortakent
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#8 of 31 in Ortakent
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medisun Hotel
Medisun Hotel
#12 of 31 in Ortakent
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarisk Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarisk Beach Hotel

Property: Tamarisk Beach Hotel
Address: Ortakent Yalisi, Kabakum Caddesi Tersane Sokak No. 10, Ortakent 48420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ortakent
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarisk Hotel is a family run beach hotel right on the waterfront offering a little piece of paradise and fantastic water sports facilities. Still run by the family today, Faik, Sevilay, Gulsah and Murat are at the hotel throughout the summer season and welcome their guests personally with a unique warmth and hospitality. The family and their friendly staff are always on hand making sure guests have a relaxing, enjoyable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarisk Beach Ortakent
Hotel Tamarisk Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing