We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent culinary excursion”

Erenler Sofrasi Day Cooking Classes
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Ortakent
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best way to learn about a new country is to try their food, even better way is to try and cook the dishes of that country. At Erenler Sofrasi we are giving you the opportunity to shop at the fresh fruit markets of Bodrum with our Chef and cook the ingredients for that night. At the end of the course you will taste what you have cooked and a glass of Turkis Wine will be our treat.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent culinary excursion”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a day with Asli as an excursion from a Windstar cruise. It was an amazing experience, from the morning visit to a local market to touring her beautifully set up apartments, helping to prep the ingredients, watching her and her assistant cook the food and, last but definitely not least, eating the results. Turkish markets offer a wealth of fresh fruit and vegetables as well as spices, dried fruits and nuts and freshly-made filo. Because Asli knows the vendors, we were able to sample all sorts of treats. The excursion is limited to a small group (there were six of us) so everyone was very much involved in the whole process. The food was delicious and included some exotic (to us) ingredients such as cranberry beans. One couple was celebrating their anniversary on the cruise so Asli even provided a cake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Cooking in Bodrum”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

if you are into food, this is a definite must while in Bodrum. The day started with Asli picking us up form our hotel and heading to the market to purchase ingredients for the day. There were 5 others in our group besides my husband and I. We got to the market and Asli guided us through as she purchased ingredients for her restaurant as well as our class. We also sampled some wonderful fresh phyllo at the market.

Then we headed back to her restaurant which is contained within the Yarbasan Holiday homes. These were absolutely gorgeous. They had all the modern amenities, but were designed to look like ancient stone houses. A little removed from town, but if you are able to rent a car, I would definitely stay here. It would be a great home base to explore the region.
The class lasted most of the day and we helped prep all of the dished while Asli and her sous chef did the majority of the actual cooking. While prepping Asli explained all the regions of Turkey and their different cuisines. We also got several restaurant recommendations from Asli for authentic, non-touristy cuisine and a great spice shop ( #51) recommendation in Istanbul. When we returned to Istanbul we went there and purchased all of our spices and teas to bring back. The woman there spoke wonderful English and allowed you to try all of their spices before buying. The market can be very overwhelming, so this was a great help.

Back to the cooking: after prepping we were escorted over to her restaurant where we were served a lovely lunch of the dishes we prepared ( Fresh Anchovy & rice pilav, roasted eggplant dip, olives stuffed with mandarin orange peel, green beans in tomato sauce, phyllo cigars stuffed with spinach and cheese and several others I don't recall the name of) All of the dishes were fantastic and we also received a glass of delicious Turkish wine with the meal. A lovely day and highly recommended!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful day cooking in Bodrum”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Asli is a great cook and has wonderful tips for cooking Turkish food. I took a private class with Asli. It was great spending the day in the kitchen with Asli. She has a very casual approach which makes it such a wonderful approach. Rather than it being a class, it is more cooking with her, in her kitchen. This makes it so much more fun and informative. We made a wide array of dishes and she gave me a whole bunch of tips. I can't wait to do it again.

Regards

Tushar

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and authentic cooking in Bodrum!”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

During a trip to Turkey, I had the opportunity to take a cooking class with Asli in Erenler-Sofrasi, Bodrum. As a chef, I am constantly trying to evolve, and Asli's greenmarket approach to Turkish cooking was refreshing. The kitchen is part of the restaurant she runs, and is set up really well for teaching. We made around 6 different dishes during the course of the class and feasted later with local wine. A truly memorable experience!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank alytej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cooking lesson at Erenler Sofrasi is not to be missed if visiting Bodrum”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Erenler Sofrasi offers a perfect spot to unwind and more to the point eat some of the best home-cooked foods inspired by Ege Mutfak – Aegean Cuisine. The creator and self –styled cook Aslihan Mutlu hails from Istanbul. Years of life in the capital’s fast lane was enough to convince her it was time to follow her passionate interest in great food. Relocating to Ortakent has given her the perfect platform to share her knowledge and skills. Cooking with Asli is simple and the dishes using fresh produce purchased straight from the local farmers markets are irresistibly good. The various zeytinyagli (cooked with olive oil) dishes which are the hallmark of great Aegean cuisine depend completely on seasonally fresh ingredients – celeriac, leeks, field greens added to this a personal twist which is individually Asli’s personal signature and trademark to otherwise well known dishes all Turkish girls learn by rote from their grandmothers. And Asli is no exception to this rule and spent many happy hours in the kitchen with her grandmother.
The day starts with a colourful visit to a farmers market full of freshly harvested produce, cheeses, olives and preserves. Whats great is having all the lesser known vegetables explained. The vendors are wonderfully friendly and offer you the chance to try their cheeses, olives and honey. Then it is back to Erenler Sofrasi set in the wonderful setting of Yarbasan Houses. Asli then gives a great demonstration of dishes using the vibrant seasonal vegetables purchased at the market. Meze (Turkish appetizers) are the key focus of a great Turkish meal and Asli has a wide repertoire of delicious and original dishes. Then there is a main course and dessert to round things off.
I fully recommend you put a day to one side to enjoy a traditional cooking lesson with a great and passionate cook who teaches the art of soulful food in this magical location on the Bodrum Peninsula.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank turkishgourmetXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erenler Sofrasi Day Cooking Classes also viewed

 

Been to Erenler Sofrasi Day Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing