We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“misleading description” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temenos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temenos Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
dalyan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“misleading description”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our amakk party of three were looking forward to staying at this hotel having read the reviews, but even after paying up front in full my hosts decided this was not the hotel for us. Nowhere in any of the rviews or hotel's own descriptions was it stated that this hotel is totally unsuitable for peole with mobility problems (bad knees, hip replacements, back problems) or heart problems. This is because the hotel is built on the steep side of a hill, with uneven cobbled paths and dangerous stone steps with no hand-rails connecting the various levels and terraces.

So our rooms were at the bottom of the hill and it was a frightening journey down by foot, and and even worse journey up to reception to say we could not stay. Ok for youn g, fit people who do not mind daily climbs back and forth to the pool, restaurant and reception, but bad news for anyone with physical problems as above, or even people with young children in buggies.

I feel strongly that the hotel have not been honest in any of their literature or photographs. Fortunately, we were able to find another hotel, on the beach itself, a five* deluxe boutique hotel which was truly out of this world, and was cheaper than the Temenos, with its snooty unhelpful receptionist, who I believe was part of the owner's family.

Avoid unless you are 100% physically active!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chillilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

this hotel was a welcome find in a resort where good hotels are thin on the ground.
We stayed here for 1 week as my daughter who works in Ortakent was getting married.
The terraces were lovely with stunning views. The swimming pool was really lovely though a
bit cold and it was very clean.
We had 2 nights in a standard room which was fine but then moved to a suite which was much
bigger with a four poster bed. Rooms were very clean. Showers were excellent. I found the beds
a bit hard but the rest of our group found them ok.
The breakfasts were very good but the coffee was a bit hit and miss - sometimes good fresh coffee other times instant!
The beach and resort were a 10 min walk down hill, coming back was quite steep for a short
stretch but we didn't mind, we needed the exercise.
There was no hotel information in the rooms. No menus anywhere, so we were unsure if they
did lunch or dinner. Also there was a spa but no information anywhere.
Staff were friendly but only one receptionist spoke English well.
The hotel dog (Sheila) is gorgeous, wish l could have brought her home!
A good place to stay if you want a lovely setting that is quiet and slightly out of the bustle of
the resort.

Room Tip: go for a suite, they're lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel was only here for a few days but really enjoy the hotel. Pool was clean. Staff was pleasant. The rooms were lovley and to die for.
Maids always turned up daily to clean the rooms. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekwayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I chose this hotel for myself and two teenage boys because it had a fitness centre a pool and was close to the sea. Apart from the sea these essential requirements were not on offer in the first week of April as the hotel was not ready for business, and the management were in clear breach of contract. My boys were extremely disappointed by the lack a pool and instead of the relaxing holiday I had envisaged I had to devote my time to entertaining them away from the hotel. The receptionist worked extremely hard to make up for the appalling management decision to risk their reputation for just one guest's money, but it could not make up for abject management failure. I asked the manager Mr. Cetin Buyukberker why he had made such an unprofessional decision. He offered to take the boys to a friend's hotel for a swim and a reduction on a room if I chose to come back in the future: insult to injury! I asked him what percentage of my fee covered the amenities that were not provided so that that amount might be deducted but he declined to say or make a reduction. If you want and expect a professionally run hotel as I do then this is not the one for you. Letters of complaint are on there way to Mr. Ahmet Barut, chairman of the Turkish Hoteliers Federation, the Turkish Culture and Tourism Office and Expedia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked a package deal to Gumbet in September 2012. My friends followed and booked the Temenos Hotel and came four days later. They came to my hotel and insisted that I must stay at this hotel with them. I checked out and booked into the Temenous Hotel. Boy, am I glad I did. This Hotel is excellance, luxury and true Turkish Hospitality. I have holidayed in Turked on nine occasions and you can't equal this Hotel. From the moment you arrive you feel comfortable and like part of the family. Only 24 rooms all spotless and beautiful. God bless the head of catering Sebastian for his smiling face and amazing service. The owner of the Hotel was actually on holiday there with his friends and we visited his home 20 miles away at his invitation. I will be back sooner rather than later. I was afraid of writing a review on this hotel because everyone will want to go and they could spoil it. But I had to. Food, location, views, cleanliness, staff even the owner are all amazing. See you all soon. Ellie X

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliedavies2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Unprofessional staff and incredibly rude manager. One of our party complained about dirty bedlinen and was abruptly accused of dirtying it herself. I was so taken aback that I almost didn't know what to say. I asked to speak to the manager who immediately accused me of being condescending and not knowing what I was talking about. Bizarre. There are so many nice hotels in the area with great service that I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbeyIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

we had a little difficulty finding the hotel but we truly enjoyed our stay. everyone was extremely helpful and the pool is a sight to behold. you are away from the hussle and bussle of bodrum and with only 25 rooms in the hotel..it is a great getaway. we are going to stay there again;

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank timothy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortakent
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ortakent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eris Hotel
Eris Hotel
#22 of 29 in Ortakent
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Levent
Hotel Grand Levent
#12 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
smartline Petunya Beach
smartline Petunya Beach
#3 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zest Exclusive Hotel
Zest Exclusive Hotel
#3 of 18 in Ortakent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temenos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temenos Hotel

Property: Temenos Hotel
Address: Uzun Sok No. 12/A, Ortakent 48100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Temenos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the Bodrum peninsula of the Turkish Aegean. Our hotel is set on a hill 1500 feet from the sea at 150 feet high, resulting in a stunning panoramic view. All of our 24 rooms have sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Temenos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing