We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Shame about the All Inclusive”
Review of Sunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunhill Hotel
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Shame about the All Inclusive”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sunhill Hotel is set on a hill above the lively resort of Gumbet. Its location is great for panoramic views and escaping the noise of the night life (that continues till at least 4am). There are steps and slopes everywhere so not suited to anyone that isn't a fan of this or maybe has pushchairs and small children.

The hotel room was great, recently refurbished with a lovely bathroom and powerful air con. However the air con is only in the bedroom, so if your room is full to capacity and people are sleeping in the lounge it could be a tad uncomfortable. The room was cleaned everyday with towels replaced - you can't fault this! Because of it being all Inc, there were no glasses etc in the cupboards, which was a bit of a shame.

The all inclusive is where it fell down, maybe I expected too much. The main meals are all buffets, and are Turkish food. Unfortunately both my partner and I became ill while over there and I think the food was the reason as I've never been ill from travelling before. I worry that the meats etc sit out on the display for too long and cool and reheat throughout the night. There is always soup which was ok and bread too. I would worry that there wasn't anything for children. There aren't enough tables in the restaurant. You have to leave one of your party guarding the table because if you both get up to get your food you will come back to another family at your table. This is a shame because the restaurant views are beautiful and it could be so stunning.

The all inclusive drinks are beer, wine, vodka, gin and soft drinks. Again maybe I was expecting too much to have cocktails, rum or whiskey included? I think I also expected bottle water in the rooms, but this wasn't the case so I was still lugging large bottles of water i'd bought up the hill.

The entertainment staff are all very lovely - Sean, Alex and Christiano, although bless them, its the end of the season and I think they were knackered!

While we were at SunHill we did a number of trips, we went to Dalyan and Ephasis, both were phenomenal!

You should also try the local bus to get around the island. You flag it down (anywhere) and hop on, pay the driver while he's driving!! To get to Bodrum its a green bus and its only 3TL each - well worth it.

I went here with my boyfriend but to be honest this is one to go to with friends!! Gumbet is a party town!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    68
    33
    34
    50
See reviews for
114
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was here with my girlfriend and we had a very good time here. Made to feel very welcome by Sean, Cristiano and Alex who also does the entertainment. They spoke the best English out of the staff and we're very good to us, they took time out of their days to come sit next to us and see how we were doing everyday and just chilled with us.
The hotel has lots of steps but don't let that put you off, you get good views from the top rooms and from the pool too. The food is good, and you learn what stuff you like and don't like, but there is plenty of choice, although the same sort food eventually comes up regularly.
The rest of the staff were all very polite and once they got to recognize us were friendly as well. Worse bit was the locals to be honest as they don't seem to understand the concept of waiting their turn, but don't let it bother you as I let it me.
Good location close to bar street if you stay here you will have a very enjoyable holiday :)

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArranHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from Turkey.Ok, so incline and steps were like cycling Alpe D'Huez everyday and rooms were just ok.Food average(mostly Turkish) but thing we will remember most are staff and people in general were superb.They would go out of their way to help a person.Wifi only available in reception and poolside,not in rooms.Definetly not for person with mobility problems.No lifts in hotel,layout is not conducive for lifts.However a lift/lifts from reception to upper floors(restaurant,spa and pool) would be of great benefit.Close to beach and central enough without too much noise at night(we have twin 3 year old boys).Will never forget incline and steps.If only a cable car or light track system were put in place for access it would be close to perfection.Thank You everybody in SunHill.

Room Tip: With steep incline to hotel and then a series of steps to rooms better maybe to ask for lower tier r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 71Arsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Family of 4 with teenagers this cost us £2,500 for a week.

It's all inclusive but not what you would expect. One small restaurant that doesn't even have tables for everyone. Food is very very basic and after two days you will not look forward to your meals. Breakfast is the worse meal. Bread bread and bread oh and boiled eggs.

The rooms are large but empty, there is a kitchen area in the room but it has nothing in it. We got two glasses that's all theres ants and cockroaches in the room as well. There is aircon but its only in the bedroom so if your sleeping in the lounge be prepared to get hot.

It is set on a hill and there are lots and lots of steps and steep hills to and from the hotel there is no option unless you hire a car do not take this lightly it is as bad as I'm saying unless your super fit.

The only positive I can think of is the view as its so high up. There is no entertainment apart from a couple of cheesy guys for the young kids for half an hour and that's it Oh and the all inclusive bar shuts at 11:00pm.

I've never wrote a review before but felt the need to this time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlzoRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Best holiday ever this is the second time at this hotel and it gets better each time looking forward to coming back again this year! Hotel was lovely the staff were amazing especially alex and the animation team. Great shows every night and fun activities through the day. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Can't wait to come back see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielleeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend and I had a fantastic week staying at the Sun Hill. The hotel was so clean, the pool and sunbeds perfectly placed with a 360 view from the hill side, all the staff were friendly and helpful, and turkish baths were so relaxing; we truely felt like we were being treated like princess.
The entertainment staff put on a show every night and made a real effot to get everyone involved in the wide range of activities on offer. The hotel is an easy walking distance to the centre of town were extra activities can be found and bar street, which stays open till 8am.
The only faults we could find in the hotel was the many steps, which by the end of the week became hard work especially in the heat and when returning from a night on bar street.
I would greatly recomend this hotel for the wide variety of nationalities, the friendly staff and the views that are to die for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandOfTheLastStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely and clean hotel, food ok. Alex and the entertainment team were awesome, made to feel very welcome, I would stay here again defiantly! Only one thing was lots of steps to our room but helped burn off the extra calories!! only a ten minute walk to bar street, shops and beach, anybody giving a bad review is stupid!!! :D

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.8 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#8 of 100 in Gumbet
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Best Life Hotel
The Best Life Hotel
#19 of 100 in Gumbet
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#14 of 100 in Gumbet
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#10 of 100 in Gumbet
1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
#69 of 100 in Gumbet
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhill Hotel

Property: Sunhill Hotel
Address: Gumbet Mahallesi Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Caddesi No:28, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhill Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing