We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eken Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eken Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We arrived at the Eken Resport on 26th September 2009 and stayed for one week all in for £340pp. The transfer from the airport took about 30 mins. The hotel is quite old but our room was clearly recently refurbished, spacious, very clean and there was free working aircon, tellie and the bathroom had a proper bath and hairdryer. We stayed on the topfloor and only had a tiny balcony but as the hotel had a fab roof terrace we didn't really need it ;o)
The hotel offers free sauna and steamroom, there is a hairdresser too and you can pay for a massage etc. There is a pc in reception (we plugged our netbook in) with internet access at 5TL per hour. There is a small garden at either side which is well kept and has 3 cute bunnies living in it complete with enclosure and bunny house. The pool is nice and straight so you can swim lengths and there are plenty of sunbeds or big cushions to lounge on. Locationwide it's great, 2 mins walk to the beach and 5 mins into the main throng of the resort so you don't have to put up with the noise of the bars. There is a dolmus 3 mins walk away which runs every 10 minutes.
The restaurant is on the groundfloor adjoining to the pool area. Breakfast is plentiful: bread, rolls, cereal, greek yoghurt, choice of jams and dried fruit, meats and cheeses. boiled egg and either scrambled egg or omelette. Lunch and dinner were more or less the same: choice of 30 odd different salads, choice of two soups, 2 meat or fish dishes, rice or potato and one veg. The choice of hot meals was very limited (meatballs in different variations at every meal time, chicken or fish) but what's there is incredibly tasty so no complaints. The puddings were lush and there was always a great choice along with fresh fruit.
The resort itself is nice with plenty of restaurants and bars and a really nice beach. Most bars will have television and show football, rugby and other english shows. We ended up at the same bar each night as they put dancing on every single evening. Shopping wise you get the usual trinkets, jewellery shops, bags, shoes and clothes. Plenty of mini markets as well. You can book the usual excursions too but make sure you haggle.
Bodrum is a 15 mins ride in the dolmus (2.20TL), take the white and orange one as I was told it's the quickest).
The hotel is more like a 3* but we would defintely go back because of location, nice room, fabulous roof terrace and lovely food.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vescats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    82
    48
    34
    21
See reviews for
76
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

my husband and i have just returned from a great 10 days at the eken resort hotel in gumbet the service, rooms and overall holiday value was excellent. It is 100 metres from the beach and 200 metres from centre of gumbet where you get everything you need the food was plentiful and catered for all tastes. We arrived at 2am but our room was ready had cases taken straight away nothing was any trouble to staff all where good all round entertainers they waited on in dining room and served at roof top bar till early hours will be booking for next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

I cannot fault this hotel - great choice of food at all meal times, very friendly and helpful staff who would always have a chat with you and answer any query you have, large clean room and great value for money. The location is ideal - beach on doorstep and plenty of bars, restaurants etc round the corner - you cannot hear any of the noise from the bars in the hotel. Bar staff were lovely and always cheerful and helpful.

How anyone can complain about this hotel is a mystery - they must be people that just complain about everything and are generally miserable gits. I am seriously considering booking this again next year and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyandBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed in Eken Resort Hotel for a week from 23rd September. When we first arrived we were given a key to a room in the Family suite which is a seperate building to the main hotel. We walked in and it was a nightmare room. It was dark, damp, and the bathroom was full of mould. Also there was a door when opened, opened onto the main corridor of the building. I got my room changed straight away to the main hotel. If you are put into the family suite, change your room straight away.

I cannot grumble about our room that we had for the whole week, it was cleaned everyday, fresh bedding and towels.

The staff are very friendly, especially Eddy who works around the pool trying to get you to have a Turkish Bath, which I would recommend aswell.

The food is rather boring, it's mainly chicken and rice every day. The snacks are ok, the best one was the chicken kebabs on Friday.

The hotel has no nightly entertainment, only a belly dancer which was on the Sunday. The bar manager in the evening plays the same cd every night, and I think it is on repeat aswell, so we went out everynight to Gumbet, as the cd became rather annoying. And it wasn't easy listening music either.

The hotel is not on the beach like some reviews state, it is about 200m, and I would not recommend going in the sea as it was filthy, bottles and ciggarette ends every where.

If you are looking for a proper 4* then this isn't it! I would say this is a 2* possibly 3*. If you are on a budget then this is ideal as it is close to Bodrum and near enough in the centre of Gumbet to go out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdougWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid - Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

The first and most important thing you must have in mind when you are booking your hotel in Turkey is that the star system of their hotels has (most of the times) nothing to do with the international one. And that is pretty easy to guess by seeing the abysmal difference in prices for the same level hotel in the same location. There are few really high standard 4 and 5 star hotels that could compete with any high quality international chain but most are just OK and nothing exceptional. The service though is almost invariably excellent. So you must set your expectations to the reality in order to avoid premature disappointments.

I stayed at Eken Resort for a week at the end of last August with my mother and sister. It was not my first trip to Turkey so I knew what to expect. That said, the hotel is nice, clean and very well located close to Bodrum and the centre of Gümbet where you can find bars, night clubs, cafes and restaurants. It offers good service and the staff is helpful and kind although their English is on the poor side. The services and amenities provided are quite good with free sauna and Turkish bath (the massages and other services are charged). As far as I could see, all the rooms have balconies or small terraces (the ones on the ground floor) and the hotel keeps small but charming garden on the side of the road.

The food is a bit monotonous as in most All Inclusive hotels, but you can always find something to eat. The (quasi) vegetarians will be happy in this hotel since the variety of salads and non-meet dishes is overwhelming; that means though that if you are a big meat fan you may struggle to find varied enough meals especially if you are staying for a week or longer. There is plenty of food and beverages available at all time so there is no chance that you would get hungry while in Eken but shall you fancy some change, there are plenty of good restaurants in Gümbet, just 5 min walk from Eken.

The pool is big enough for the size of the hotel although some days you may have to drop your towel on the sun bed before going to eat your breakfast in order to ensure you have got one. The beach is very disappointing, not only because it’s small and there are no services provided there (there is no bar free or otherwise), but moreover because it’s located in the rocky and less clean part of the bay. I would very much recommend walking the beach street towards the opposite side of the bay and stopping at any of the beach cafes in the central part of the bay/beach where the sea is shallow, the beach is less rocky and the water is clean. The sun beds and umbrellas on the beach are free of charge and you would only need to order a drink.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for an unpretentious holiday and, given a chance, would definitively stay at Eken Resort again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

hello everyone!
this hotel is definitely the worst of all hotels i have ever been in. Rooms are not clean at all, dust all over the room. Stuff is to bussy with entertainment english and german guests, the rest is not exsist...
food is only think that is ok. See is dirty, so you will have to spend your time in pool, and you will listen the same music 50 times a day.
Conclusion: DISASTER!!!!!!! Not recommened at all...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milannnserbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Ok if this really is ranked the 19th best hotel in gumbet dont bother going here.

The hotel is basic but is not bad for money pool is small and sun lounger area is small

food is actually quite good

The staff are sleazy weird and genrally unpleasant

Location is ok as in the centre of gumbet but gumbet is not the nicest resort however the beaches are amazing.

my advise find somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_duggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Flora
Club Hotel Flora
#21 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gundem Resort Hotel
Gundem Resort Hotel
#19 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel
Dolce Bodrum Hotel
#33 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Nova Apart Hotel
Bodrum Nova Apart Hotel
#43 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eken Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eken Resort Hotel

Property: Eken Resort Hotel
Address: Osman Nuri Bilgin Cad.1510. Sok. No: 8, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eken Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Eken Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eken Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing